Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Photo Chemistry
Photography

Wie kann man eine Dunkelkammer mit geringem Budget bauen

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Tatsiana Bochkareva (you can also view the original English article)

In diesen digitalen Tagen mag es mühsam erscheinen, eine eigene Dunkelkammer für die Entwicklung von Film und Papier zu bauen. Wenn Sie jedoch Zeit und Raum haben, kann dies eine lohnende Erfahrung sein, die Ihnen hilft, das Foto besser zu verstehen.

budgetdarkroom1_JA

Viele derjenigen, die in diesem digitalen Zeitalter geboren und aufgewachsen sind, haben die Magie der Dunkelkammer nicht erlebt, und in diesem Sinne kann das Bauen einer eigenen Erfahrung ein "Zurück zu den Wurzeln" - Erlebnis sein, das Ihnen einen soliden Hintergrund für die Techniken von gestern bietet, wenn es kommt zur Fotografie.

Es gibt keinen Grund, ein Medium gegen das andere zu verteidigen, beide haben ihre Vor- und Nachteile, aber die Vorbereitungen, eine eigene Dunkelkammer zu bauen, Filme zu entwickeln und Drucke zu erstellen, werden nicht nur ein Abenteuer in Bezug auf Wissen sein, sondern auch ein Abenteuer mit den Aktivitäten, die neue Horizonte in Ihrer eigenen Fotografie eröffnen können.

Lassen Sie uns eine Dunkelkammer mit kleinem Budget bauen!

Kodak published a leaflet with information and multiple ideas for darkroom layout
Kodak hat eine Broschüre mit Informationen und mehreren Vorschlägen für das Layout der Dunkelkammer

Den richtigen Raum wählen

Eine Dunkelkammer zu schaffen bedeutet, einen freien Raum im Haus zu haben, die Sie benutzen können. Die Präferenz ist ein permanenter Raum, aber es ist auch möglich, einen Raum vorübergehend für ein oder zwei Tage oder eine Arbeit umzubauen. Der permanente Raum muss nicht groß sein, ein 5x5 Fuß Schrank kann zum Arbeiten gebracht werden.

Es ist auch wichtig zu beachten, dass Sie keine Dunkelkammer benötigen, um Filme zu entwickeln. Zum Drucken ist jedoch eine Dunkelkammer erforderlich.

Als ich mit 15 anfing zu drucken, benutzte ich Badezimmer meiner Eltern, um Kontaktabdrücke zu machen. Es war mein erster Versuch in der Fotografie. Dann benutzte ich die Dunkelkammer eines Freundes, bis ich einen Vergrößerer kaufte und wieder zu Hause in einem Waschschrank anfing, selbst zu drucken.

Ein zweites Badezimmer oder ein Schrank kann ziemlich einfach in eine Dunkelkammer verwandelt werden. Fließendes Wasser ist eine große Hilfe, aber nicht erforderlich. Es muss abgedunkelt werden können, damit kein Licht eindringt. Als ich meine erste Wohnung bekam, schuf ich eine permanente Dunkelkammer in einem zweiten, ziemlich großen Waschschrank, den ich einige Jahre aufbewahrte.

Wie ich bereits erwähnte, benötigen Sie Wasser, zumindest in Eimern, Tabletts. Küchen sollten vermieden werden, da es keine gute Idee ist, die Chemikalien für die Dunkelkammerarbeit zu mischen, im Zimmer, wo Lebensmittel zubereitet werden. Es spielt keine Rolle, wie vorsichtig Sie sind, es ist eine schlechte Idee, Ihre Leidenschaft mit Ihrem Kochbereich zu mischen.

Sie benötigen außerdem mindestens eine Steckdose für Ihren Vergrößerer und andere verwendete Geräte.

Developing films at home is only part of the experience You need to buy developing tanks to properly develop your films
Das Entwickeln von Filmen zu Hause ist nur ein Teil der Erfahrung. Sie müssen Entwicklungstanks kaufen, um Ihre Filme richtig zu entwickeln

Machen Sie Ihre Dunkelkammer hell

Die nächtliche Entwicklung Ihrer Fotos scheint eine gute Idee zu sein, bis Sie feststellen, dass die Arbeit in der Dunkelkammer Stunden dauern kann und Sie möglicherweise nicht immer einen Zeitplan haben oder Lust haben, Nächte im Dunkeln ohne Bett zu verbringen! Aber wenn Ihr Zimmer ein Fenster hat, wird das Licht von der Straße immer noch Probleme verursachen.

Sie müssen den Raum lichtdicht machen. Aus diesem Grund lässt sich ein Raum in einem Keller oder mit einem kleinen Fenster leichter in eine Dunkelkammer verwandeln. Verwenden Sie schwarze Vorhänge und Verdunkelungsfolien oder Produkte wie Magic Blackout Blinds, um Licht fernzuhalten.

Also, Sie haben Ihr Zimmer eingerichtet, alle Lichter ausgeschaltet und einige Minuten gewartet, damit sich Ihre Augen anpassen. Es wird nicht schwer sein herauszufinden, ob Ihre Dunkelkammer lichtdicht ist. Selbst kleinste Undichtigkeiten können Probleme mit lichtempfindlichem Fotopapier verursachen.

A starter kit to develop films at home can look something like this As you progress you can start to get more equipment but start with the basics to understand if you really want to explore the darkroom experience further
Ein Starter-Kit für die Entwicklung von Filmen zu Hause kann ungefähr so aussehen. Wenn Sie Fortschritte machen, können Sie beginnen, mehr Ausrüstung zu erhalten, aber beginnen Sie mit den Grundlagen, um zu verstehen, ob Sie die Dunkelkammer-Erfahrung wirklich weiter erforschen möchten.

Sicherheit hat Priorität

Ihre Dunkelkammer benötigt eine Belüftung. Stundenlang mit den Dämpfen der Chemikalien in einem Raum zu bleiben, ist nicht gut für Ihre Gesundheit. Wenn Sie ein Badezimmer benutzen, sollte der Badventilator ausreichen. In einer permanenten Dunkelkammer sollten Sie am besten eine Art Absaugung für die Dämpfe installieren. Speziell für diesen Zweck sind kleine Lüfter erhältlich.

Denken Sie auch daran, Handschuhe bei der Arbeit von Chemikalien zu verwenden. Obwohl Sie sie hin und wieder dazu bringen können, etwas fallen zu lassen, schützen sie Ihre Haut. Das kontinuierliche Eintauchen Ihrer Hände in die verwendeten Chemikalien ist nicht gut für Ihre Gesundheit. Einige Menschen reagieren sofort auf die Chemikalien und brechen in einem Ausschlag aus.


Teilen Sie Ihre Dunkelkammer in feuchte und trockene Bereiche

Wenn Sie den richtigen Ort für Ihre Dunkelkammer gefunden haben, müssen Sie zwei Bereiche definieren: trocken und nass. Im trockenen Bereich, in der Nähe einer Steckdose, haben Sie den Vergrößerer, die Werkzeuge und das Papier. Auf der nassen Seite haben Sie die Entwicklungsschalen, Wasser, Filmentwicklungstanks und Chemikalien. Diese Trennung hält Chemikalien von Papier und Film fern, bis Sie sie dort haben möchten. Es hält auch Flüssigkeiten von jeglicher Elektronik fern, die mit dem Vergrößerungsgerät verbunden ist.

Denken Sie daran, immer ein Tablett oder Waschbecken mit Wasser zu haben, um Ihre Hände zu spülen, wenn Sie vom nassen zurück in den trockenen Bereich wechseln, und dieses Wasser häufig für lange Sitzungen zu wechseln. Handtücher, vorzugsweise Papier, sind ein Muss.

Wenn Sie der glückliche Besitzer einer permanenten Dunkelkammer sind, bewahren Sie Ihre Entwicklungsmaterialien in Ihrer Dunkelkammer auf. Legen Sie das Papier in den trockenen Bereich, in Regale über oder unter dem Arbeitstisch und die Chemikalien in den feuchten Bereich, normalerweise in einen Schrank unter dem Bereich, in dem sich die Entwicklungsschalen befinden.

Einige Leute haben genug Platz, um zwei unterschiedliche Bereiche mit einem Korridor in der Mitte zu schaffen. Wenn Sie diese Option haben, entscheiden Sie sich dafür. Wenn Sie dies nicht tun, versuchen Sie das Beste, was Sie können. Stellen Sie nur sicher, dass Sie beim Bewegen von nassem Papier und Fächern weder Ihren Vergrößerer noch Ihren Papiervorrat überqueren.

The Zenith enlarger can be packed inside its case which doubles as a baseboard
Der Zenith-Vergrößerer kann in seinem Gehäuse verstaut werden, das gleichzeitig als Fußleiste dient

Der Vergrößerer ist das Herz der Dunkelkammer

Investieren Sie in einen guten Vergrößerer, aber kaufen Sie nicht mehr, als Sie für nötig halten. Als ich anfing, kaufte ich einen tragbaren Vergrößerer, den russischen Zenith UPA-5M, der in den siebziger Jahren beliebt war, weil er überall in seinem Koffer mitgenommen werden konnte, der gleichzeitig als Fußleiste diente. Es war kein guter Vergrößerer, sondern eine intelligente Lösung, die von einigen Fotografen ausgewählt wurde, die unterwegs waren, um ihre Bilder beispielsweise in einem Hotelzimmer zu entwickeln.

Während ich in der Schule Fotografie studierte, hatte ich Durst-Vergrößerer zum Spielen und auch in einigen Labors, in denen ich arbeitete. Für meine eigenen Bedürfnisse zu Hause verwendete ich Meopta-Vergrößerer, eine Marke, die unter Fotografen in Europa bekannt war, und entschied mich schließlich für eine Meopta Opemus III, der mit 35-mm- und 6x6-Filmen umgehen kann.

Es ist ratsam, einen Vergrößerer zu kaufen, der Filmgrößen über 35 mm aufnehmen kann, nur für den Fall, dass Sie zu Mittelformatfilmen expandieren. Wenn Sie mit kleinem Budget kaufen, ist es nicht sinnvoll, einen Vergrößerer für darüber hinausgehende Formate wie 6 x 7 oder 6 x 9 cm zu kaufen, da Sie diese wahrscheinlich nie verwenden werden. Wenn Sie jedoch mit großformatigen 4x5-Negativen und dergleichen experimentieren möchten, finden Sie gebrauchte Geräte für so gut wie nichts. Ein Vergrößerer, der 1980 1000 US-Dollar kostete, könnte jetzt auf dem Gebrauchtmarkt nur noch 150 bis 200 US-Dollar kosten.

Denken Sie daran, dass Objektive für Vergrößerungsgeräte manchmal separat gekauft werden. Seien Sie also auf diese zusätzlichen Kosten vorbereitet.


Entwicklung von Filmen und Drucken zu Hause

Wenn Sie anfangen, ist Schwarzweiß die beste Option, um damit zu beginnen. Sie können jederzeit einen Vergrößerer kaufen, der für Farben bereit ist. Schwarzweiß ist jedoch einfacher zu steuern und bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, die wesentlichen Aspekte der Dunkelkammerarbeit zu verstehen.

Sie werden wahrscheinlich zu Hause Ihre eigenen Schwarz-Weiß-Filme entwickeln wollen, und ich rate Ihnen, dies zu tun. Sie müssen Panzer und ein paar andere Ausrüstungsgegenstände entwickeln, und während Sie nach gebrauchten Schnäppchen suchen können, ist es manchmal besser und schneller, ein Kit zu kaufen, das alles bietet, was Sie brauchen, um sofort loszulegen.

Wenn Sie Ihren Vergrößerer bereits gekauft haben und eine Ein-Paket-Lösung wünschen, enthält das Paterson Processing Kit alles, was Sie für Filme und Drucke benötigen, mit Ausnahme der Chemikalien. Das Kit enthält alles auf der folgenden Liste. Dies ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt, wenn Sie auch individuell einkaufen.

  • Ein universeller Entwicklungstank für 35 mm oder 120 mm Film
  • Zwei Filmrollen
  • Drei 8 x 10" Entwicklungsschalen
  • Ein Paterson-Sicherheitslicht
  • Ein 600 ml Messzylinder
  • Ein 300 ml Messzylinder
  • Ein 45 ml Messzylinder
  • Ein 9" Thermometer
  • Zwei Druckzangen
  • Filmclips
  • Eine Filmrakel
Nova BW 10x8 Slot Processor the most basic in the range presented as the ideal tool for those with small spaces
Der Nova B&W 10x8" - Slot-Prozessor, der einfachste im Sortiment, wird als ideales Werkzeug für Personen mit kleinen Räumen vorgestellt.

Das komplette Darkroom Kit

Wenn Sie die Zeit und Erfahrung haben, nach gebrauchten Optionen zu suchen, entscheiden Sie sich dafür. Wenn Sie sich in der Dunkelkammer versuchen möchten und dies jetzt tun möchten, ist eine der besten Optionen möglicherweise ein Verarbeitungs- und Vergrößerungskit.

Das Kit enthält die oben genannten Materialien, sowie einen Vergrößerer, einen Negativträger, eine Linse, Filter, einen Schalter und möglicherweise einen Timer. Auch hier ist das Auschecken dieser Kits eine gute Einkaufsliste, wenn Sie Dinge separat kaufen.

Der Vergrößerer selbst kann mit einer Basis geliefert werden oder ohne ihn. Solange Sie lernen, arbeiten Sie mit Grundkenntnisse. Das Nivellieren eines Vergrößerungsgeräts auf einer selbstgemachten Basis kann eine ziemliche Aufgabe sein. Das Objektiv ist normalerweise ein 50-mm-Objektiv, das zum Drucken von 35-mm-Filmen geeignet ist. Für Mittelformatfilme (überprüfen Sie, ob Ihr Vergrößerungsgerät damit umgehen kann) benötigen Sie ein 75-mm-Objektiv. Für 4x5-Filme benötigen Sie 135 mm.

Negative Träger sind wichtig, sie halten Ihren Film im Vergrößerer. Sie sind spezifisch für die Filmgröße. Sie können nicht dasselbe für das 35-mm- und Mittelformat verwenden.

Die häufigste Methode zum Drucken von Schwarzweiß ist die Verwendung von Papier mit variablem Kontrast. Um den Kontrast Ihres Drucks zu ändern, benötigen Sie eine Reihe von Filtern mit variabler Qualität. Diese werden oft mit Kits geliefert. Wenn Sie sie separat kaufen, müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass Sie diejenigen kaufen, die in den Filterträger Ihres Vergrößerungsgeräts passen.

Ganz am Ende benötigen Sie einen Schalter und einen Timer. Um die Belichtung Ihres Drucks zu steuern, müssen Sie die Zeitdauer steuern, in der das Bild auf das Papier projiziert wird, genau wie bei einer Kamera mit einer Verschlusszeit. Ein Schalter schaltet den Vergrößerer einfach ein und aus. Sie müssen einen externen Timer haben oder nur die Zeit erraten. Dies ist sehr schwer und nicht zu empfehlen. Sie benötigen einen Vergrößerungs-Timer. Dies hat Regler oder eine Digitalanzeige, mit der Sie die Zeit für die Belichtung auswählen können.

Wenn Sie aus zweiter Hand einkaufen, versuchen Sie, einen Vergrößerer zu finden, der mit den meisten dieser Dinge geliefert wird. Es kann schwierig sein, negative Ersatzträger zu finden. Das Finden von Objektiven ist einfach, kann aber teuer sein. Filter sind leicht zu finden, da sie alle paar Jahre ausgetauscht werden sollten. Timer sind bei eBay leicht zu finden und Sie müssen nicht immer dieselbe Marke wie Ihr Vergrößerer kaufen.

The complete kit from Paterson has everything you need to build your darkroom Just find the right place and youre set
Das komplette Kit von Paterson enthält alles, was Sie zum Bau Ihrer Dunkelkammer benötigen. Finden Sie einfach den richtigen Ort, um es einzurichten und loszulegen!

Chemikalien

Wenn Sie sich für eine Dunkelkammer entscheiden, müssen Sie zwei wichtige Aspekte berücksichtigen. Sie müssen weiterhin Chemikalien kaufen, um den Spaß aktiv zu halten, und das kann auf lange Sicht etwas teuer werden. Dies ist auch einer der Gründe, warum mehr Menschen eine Schwarz-Weiß-Dunkelkammer anstelle einer Farb-Dunkelkammer haben. Die Chemikalien für Schwarzweiß sind billiger und weniger temperatur- und lichtempfindlich.

Für die Schwarzweißverarbeitung benötigen Sie einen Filmentwickler, einen Papierentwickler und einen Fixierer, die in beiden Prozessen verwendet werden können. Ein Stoppbad ist beim Drucken hilfreich, aber nicht erforderlich. Ein Clearingmittel wie Photo Flo ist hilfreich bei der Entwicklung von Filmen, aber auch nicht erforderlich.

Die meisten Chemikalien halten bei ordnungsgemäßer Lagerung etwa sechs Monate, obwohl es Ausnahmen gibt. Einige dauern viel länger, andere viel kürzer.

Sie müssen auch überlegen, wie Sie die Chemikalien loswerden können, wenn sie erschöpft sind. Einige sind giftig und es kann illegal sein, den Abfluss hinunter zu gießen. Entsorgen Sie fotografische Verarbeitungschemikalien ordnungsgemäß gemäß den örtlichen Abwasserentsorgungsvorschriften. Sie können große Krüge mit einer Kapazität von 5 oder 10 Gallonen kaufen, um erschöpfte Chemikalien aufzunehmen, bis Sie einen Ausflug an einen geeigneten Ort unternehmen können, um sie loszuwerden.

Wenn Sie mehr über das Bauen von Dunkelkammern erfahren möchten, ist Kodaks Broschüre Dunkelkammer-Design für Amateurfotografen eine gute Informationsquelle.


Macht eine Dunkelkammer in einer digitalen Welt Sinn?

Ich habe sehr gute Erinnerungen an meine Dunkelkammerzeiten und erinnere mich an die Entwicklung der Fotos, die ich vor 23 Jahren von meinem ersten Sohn gemacht habe. Die ersten Bilder, die ich vor mehr als 30 Jahren an Zeitungen verkaufte, wurden zum ersten Mal im Licht meiner Dunkelkammer gesehen. Ich habe lange nicht darüber nachgedacht, eine Dunkelkammer einzurichten, aber ich muss zugeben, dass ich im letzten Jahr über die Idee nachgedacht habe.

Ich wurde eingeladen, eine Reihe von Fotokursen für 2014 vorzubereiten, um den Menschen zu helfen, die Fotografie besser zu verstehen. In der Institution, mit der ich zusammenarbeite, ist Platz für eine Dunkelkammer, und ich habe vorgeschlagen, dass eine Dunkelkammer ein interessantes Merkmal eines Kurses für digitale Fotografie sein könnte.

Es ist in der Tat etwas Magisches in der Art und Weise, wie sich ein Bild auf einem Blatt Papier bildet. Das ist eine entmutigende Aufgabe, eine eigene Dunkelkammer zu bauen, in der noch nie eine benutzt wurde. Ich schlage vor, nach einem örtlichen Kameraclub zu suchen oder eine Klasse an einer örtlichen Universität zu besuchen. Es wird nicht nur eine lohnende Erfahrung sein, sondern Ihnen auch helfen zu verstehen, wie die digitale Fotografie alles verändert hat. Wenn Sie einen Dunkelkammerfehler bekommen, müssen Sie diesen Kellerraum räumen und bauen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Hardware

How to Build a Low Budget Darkroom

by

Building your own darkroom to develop film and paper might seem tedious in these digital days. However, if you have the time and space, it can be a rewarding experience that will help you better understand photography.

budgetdarkroom1_JA

Many of those born and raised in this digital era haven't experience the magic of the darkroom, and in that sense, building your own can be a "going back to the roots" experience that will give you a solid background in yesterdays techniques when it comes to photography.

There's no reason to defend one medium against the other, both have their virtues and drawbacks, but the preparations to build your own darkroom and to develop your films and create prints will give not only be an adventure in terms of knowledge, it will be a rewarding and fun activity that may reveal new horizons in your own photography.

Let's build a darkroom on a budget!

Kodak published a leaflet with information and multiple ideas for darkroom layout
Kodak has a leaflet with information and multiple suggestions for darkroom layout

Choosing the Right Space

Creating a darkroom means having a spare room in the house that can be used. The preference is a permanent space, but it is also possible to convert a room temporarily for a day or two or work. The permanent space does not have to be large, a 5x5 foot closet can be made to work.

It's also important to note, that you don't actually need a darkroom to develop film. However, a darkroom is required for printing.

When I started printing, at 15, I used my parents wash closet to make contact prints. It was my first endeavour into photography. Then I used a friend's darkroom, until I bought an enlarger and started to do my own printing at home, again, in a wash closet.

A second bathroom or closet can be turned into a darkroom fairly easily. Running water is a huge help, but not required. It must be able to be darkened so no light enters. When I got my first apartment, I created a permanent darkroom in a second, rather large wash closet, which I kept for some years.

As I mentioned, you'll need water, at the very least in buckets, trays. Kitchens should be avoided, as it is not a good idea to mix the chemicals for the darkroom work with areas where food is prepared. It does not matter how careful you are, it is a bad idea to mix your passion with your cooking area.

You'll also need to have at least one electrical outlet for your enlarger and other equipment used.

Developing films at home is only part of the experience. You need  to buy developing tanks to properly develop your films
Developing films at home is only part of the experience. You need to buy developing tanks to properly develop your films

Making Your Darkroom Light Tight

Developing your photographs at night might seem like a good idea, until you discover that darkroom work can take hours, and you may not always have a time schedule or feel in the mood to spend nights in the dark out of bed! Not only that, but if your room has a window, light from the street will still cause problems.

You need to make the room light tight. For this reason a room in a basement, or with a small window is easier to transform into a darkroom. Use black curtains and blackout sheeting or products like Magic Blackout Blinds to keep light out.

Once you've set up your room, turn all lights off and wait for a few minutes so your eyes adjust. It won't be hard to find out if your darkroom is light tight. Even the slightest leaks can cause problems with light sensitive photo paper.

A starter kit to develop films at home can look something like this. As you progress you can start to get more equipment, but start with the basics to understand if you really want to explore the darkroom experience further
A starter kit to develop film at home can look something like this. As you progress you can start to get more equipment, but start with the basics to understand if you really want to explore the darkroom experience further.

Safety is a Priority

Your darkroom will need some form of ventilation. Staying in a room for hours with the fumes from the chemicals is not good for your health. If you are using a bathroom, the bathroom fan should be enough. In a permanent darkroom, you'll do best to install some form of exhausting for the fumes. Small fans specifically for this purpose are available.

Also, remember to use gloves to touch chemicals. Although they may make you drop something now and then, they protect your skin. Continuous immersion of your hands in the chemicals used is not good for your health. Some people have reactions to the chemicals immediately, breaking out in a rash.


Divide Your Darkroom into Wet and Dry Areas

Once you've found the right place for your darkroom, you need to define two areas: dry and wet. In the dry area, near an electric outlet, you'll have the enlarger, tools, and paper. On the wet side, you'll have the developing trays, water, film developing tanks and chemicals. This separation keeps chemicals off your paper and film until you want them there. It also keeps liquids away from any electronics associated with the enlarger.

Remember to always have a tray or sink with water to rinse your hands when moving from the wet back to the dry area, and to change this water frequently for long sessions. Hand towels, preferably paper, are a must.

If you're the happy owner of a permanent darkroom, keep your developing materials inside your darkroom. Place the paper in the dry area, on shelves above or below the working table, and the chemicals in the wet area, usually in a cabinet under the area where you've the developing trays.

Some people will have enough space to create two distinct areas, with a corridor in the middle. If you've that option, go for it. If you don't, try the best you can. Just be sure that while you're moving wet paper and trays around, you aren't crossing over your enlarger or paper supply.

The Zenith enlarger can be packed inside its case, which doubles as a baseboard
The Zenith enlarger can be packed inside its case, which doubles as a baseboard

The Enlarger is the Heart of the Darkroom

Invest in a good enlarger, but do not buy more than you think you'll need. When I started I bought a portable enlarger, the Russian Zenith UPA-5M, which was popular in the seventies, because it could be taken anywhere in its case, which doubled as a baseboard. It was not a good enlarger, but an intelligent solution picked by some photographers on the move that needed to develop their images in a hotel room, for example.

While studying photography at school I had Durst enlargers to play with, and also at some labs I worked in. For my own needs at home, I used Meopta enlargers, which was a brand well known among photographers in Europe, and finally settled for a Meopta Opemus III which could deal with 35mm and 6x6 films.

It is advisable to buy an enlarger that can accept film sizes above 35mm, just in case you get happen to expand into medium format film. If you're buying on a budget, it makes no sense to buy an enlarger for formats above that, like 6x7 or 6x9cm, as you'll probably never use them. However, if you do want to experiment with large format 4x5 negatives and the like, you can find used equipment for next to nothing. An enlarger that cost $1000 in 1980, might only cost $150-200 now on the used market.

Remember that lenses for enlargers are sometimes bought separately, so be prepared for that extra expense.


Developing Film and Prints at Home

If you're starting out, black and white is the best option to start with. You can always buy an enlarger that is ready for colour, but black & white will be easier to control and will give you the chance to understand the essential aspects of darkroom work.

You'll probably want to develop your own black & white films at home and I advise you to do so. You'll need developing tanks and a few other pieces of equipment, and while you can search for second-hand bargains, sometimes it is better, and faster, to buy a kit that will offer all you need to start right away.

If you already have bought your enlarger, and want a one packet solution, then the Paterson Processing kit contains everything you require for film and prints except the chemicals. The kit includes everything on the following list. This provides a good place to start if you're shopping for things individually, too.

  • A universal developing tank for 35mm or 120 film
  • Two film reels
  • Three 8 x 10" developing trays
  • A Paterson safelight
  • A 600ml graduated measuring cylinder
  • A 300ml graduated measuring cylinder
  • A 45ml graduated measuring cylinder
  • A 9" Thermometer
  • Two print tongs
  • Film clips
  • A film squeegee
Nova B&W 10x8" Slot Processor, the most basic in the range, presented as the ideal tool for those with small spaces,
Nova B&W 10x8" Slot Processor, the most basic in the range, presented as the ideal tool for those with small spaces,

The Complete Darkroom Kit

If you have the time and experience to look for second hand options, go for it. If you want to try your hand in the darkroom and want to do it now, then one of the best options might be a processing and enlarging kit.

The kit will include the materials mentioned above and an enlarger, negative carrier, lens, filters, switch and possibly a timer. Again, checking out these kits also makes a good shopping list if your buying things separately.

The enlarger itself may or may not come with a base. Unless you're handy, get one with a base. Leveling an enlarger on a homemade base can be quite a chore. The lens will usually be a 50mm suitable for printing 35mm film. For medium format film (check to be sure your enlarger can handle it), you'll need a 75mm lens. For 4x5 film, you'll need a 135mm.

Negative carriers are important, they hold your film in the enlarger. They are specific to the film size. You can't use the same one for 35mm and medium format.

The most common way to print black and white is to use variable contrast paper. In order to alter the contrast of your print, you'll need a set of variable grade filters. These often come with kits. If you're buying them separately, you'll need to make sure to buy ones the fit in the filter carrier of your enlarger.

The last thing you'll need a switch and timer. In order to control the exposure of your print, you need to control the amount of time the image is projected onto the paper, just like a shutter speed when using a camera. A switch simply turns the enlarger on and off. You'll have to have an external timer or just guess at the time. This is very hard and not recommended. You'll need an enlarger timer. This will have knobs or a digital display allowing you to choose the time for the exposure.

If you're shopping second hand, trying to get an enlarger that comes with most of these things. Finding replacement negative carriers can be hard. Finding lenses is easy, but can be expensive. Filters are easy to find as they should be replaced every few years. Timers are easy to find on eBay, and you don't always have to buy the same brand as your enlarger.

The complete kit from Paterson has everything you need to build your darkroom. Just find the right place and you're set!
The complete kit from Paterson has everything you need to build your darkroom. Just find the right place to set it up and get started!

Chemicals

When you decide to have a darkroom you've to think of two important aspects. You've to keep buying chemicals to keep the fun active, and that can get a little expensive in the long run. It is also one of the reasons why more people have a black & white instead of colour darkroom. The chemicals for black and white are cheaper and less sensitive to temperature and light.

For black and white processing, you'll need a film developer, a paper developer and a fixer that can be used in both processes. A stop bath is helpful when printing, but not required. A clearing agent like Photo Flo is helpful when developing film, but also not required.

Most chemicals last about six months if stored properly, though there are exceptions. Some last much longer, some much shorter.

You'll also need to think of ways to get rid of the chemicals once they're exhausted. Some are toxic and it can be illegal to pour down the drain. Properly dispose of photographic processing chemicals in accordance with local sewer discharge regulations. You can buy big five or ten gallon jugs to hold exhausted chemicals in until you can make a trip to a proper place to get rid of them.

If you want to know more about darkroom building, a good source of information is Kodak's Darkroom Design for Amateur Photographers Pamphlet.


Does a Darkroom Make Sense in a Digital World

I have very fond memories of my darkroom times, and remember developing the photos I made of my first son some 23 years ago. The first pictures I sold to newspapers, well over 30 years ago, were first seen under the light of my darkroom. I've not thought about setting up a darkroom for a long time, but I must admit this last year I have given the idea some thought.

I was invited to prepare a series of photography lessons for 2014 to help people get a better grasp of photography. There is some space for a darkroom at the institution I work with, and I've suggested that a darkroom could be an interesting feature of a digital photography course.

There is in fact some magic in the way an image forms on a sheet of paper. Building your own darkroom having never used one is a daunting proposition. I suggest searching for a local camera club or taking a class a local university. It will not only be a rewarding experience, it will help you to understand how digital photography has changed everything. If you get them darkroom bug, then you'll need to clear out that basement room and get building.

Related Posts
  • Photography
    Post-Processing
    Understanding Contrast Control in the DarkroomContrasttut ckprelg
    Film photography and darkroom printing are actually on the rise. The processes aren't nearly as popular as they were before the 1990s, and never will be again, but for the last five years the market has seen increases. There are dozens of tutorials about processing film, but we're going to look at more advanced topic crucial to printing in the darkroom.Read More…
  • Crafts & DIY
    Bookbinding
    Build a Custom-made Clamshell Box for Your Book400px preview
    Clamshell boxes are custom-fit cases made for a precious bound book or set of books. They provide a stylish and professional appearance, while offering the necessary protection against harmful light, dirt, and usual wear. Follow this tutorial to learn how to make your own cozy clamshell book box.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    Creating a Richard Avedon Inspired Portrait with FilmAvedon ck portrait prelg
    I think every modern portrait photographer owes something to Richard Avedon. In the second half of the 20th century, he dominated the field. With an eye catching style, he reached out of the field of fashion photography affecting the way we see art photography and documentary work forever. In this tutorial, we'll make photos inspired by his work using similar methods.Read More…
  • Photography
    Hardware
    The Definitive Guide to Pinhole Photography: Part 2Pinhole 32previewlg
    Welcome to the second installment of designing and building your own pinhole camera! In this part, we'll be looking at alternative camera shapes and how to digitize your photos without darkroom chemicals. The build requirements and theory were all in part one, so if you need a refresher, check that out!Read More…
  • Photography
    Hardware
    The Comprehensive Guide to Vintage Film and CamerasThumbnail
    So you've dug through your parents' basement, pulled out their vinyl album of Michael Jackson's Thriller and bought yourself an old record player. And for the last three weddings you've attended, you found the perfect outfit at that great vintage clothing shop downtown. Old is the new "new." These days you're just as likely to find the freshest fashion statement in your grandparents' closet as you are on the runways at Fashion Week in Paris. The same goes for your photography. Retro, vintage and old school chic are trying to revolutionize the digital revolution. Analogue gears are using their teeth to chop those chintzy computer chips to pieces. And this is your guide to it all... film that is. From what rolls to buy, what cameras to shoot with and what to do with it all when you're done.Read More…
  • Photography
    Post-Processing
    A Simple Guide to Setting Up Your Own Photographic DarkroomPreview
    Every two weeks, we revisit some of our reader favorite posts from throughout the history of Phototuts+. This tutorial was first published in November of 2009. It takes a lot of ambition, interest, and curiosity to have the drive to go back to the traditional roots of photography and get stuck into manual photographic printing and processing. For me, however, I find this to be an utterly rewarding process in my constant exploration of the medium. In this tutorial, I will go through the basics of what is needed to set up your very own black and white photographic darkroom.Read More…