Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Post-Processing

كيفية انشاء واطلاق النار على الصور المسحور في الغابة

Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Kaso Toluppa (you can also view the original English article)

مرتين في شهر نعيد النظر في بعض الوظائف المفضلة لدينا القارئ من طوال تاريخ فوتوتوتس +. هذا البرنامج التعليمي نشرت لأول مرة في أيلول/سبتمبر، 2009.

في هذا المقال سوف يأخذك ميغيل خلال عملية تصوير في الهواء الطلق مصورة على الميزانية. الأشياء الوحيدة التي تحتاجها لإعادة إنشاء هذه المجموعة من الصور هي نفسك ، صديق أو عميل ، كاميرا ذات عدسة رائعة في الهواء الطلق. سوف تظهر لك هذه المجموعة من النصائح التي لا تحتاج بإعداد تكلفة العدسات وعاكسات وأضواء لإنشاء صور مذهلة أن تفخر.


1-مقدمة

هذه السلسلة من اللوحات صورت مؤخرًا لعمل عميل محلي ليقوم بدور الطلقات الترويجية لمشروعه الموسيقي المنفرد. كان اختصاره لي أنه أراد أن تكون الصور الفوتوغرافية ليست بالضرورة مكانًا رئيسيًا للتركيز ، بل بالأحرى المحيط الجميل الذي يحيط به. أنه لا يريد الصور أن تكون مبتذلة أو رائع، وطالب بأن تكون طبيعية قدر الإمكان.

في الخطوات التالية ، آمل أن أريكم ما يتطلبه الأمر لالتقاط صور في الهواء الطلق بأقل قدر ممكن من المعدات ، وتغطية الصعوبات التي قد تواجهها ، ومشاركة العديد من النصائح القاتلة للعمل في هذا المجال - لا يقصد التورية! يمكنك التقاط مجموعة كاملة من هذه الصور على Flickr.


2. المعدات والدعائم المستخدمة

  • د 400 كانون SLR الرقميةenchanted woodland photo shoot الكاميرا مع طقم العدسة القياسي 18-55 مم. لهذا الغرض ، حاول استخدام DSLR للحصول على أفضل النتائج ، ولكن يمكن استخدام أي كاميرا رقمية طالما أن لديها بعض التحكم اليدوي في التعرض.
  • هذا الموضوع في نموذج مع تغيير إضافي من الملابس. سبب واحد الذكية جلب مجموعة إضافية من الملابس أنه إذا كان لديك واحد الزي القذرة خلال 15 دقيقة، لم يكن لديك لاستدعاء إيقاف بقية تبادل لإطلاق النار حيث يجب عليك تغيير الملابس في النسخ احتياطي. سبب آخر قد تفعل هذا هو بحتة للتنوع. تجعل الملابس المختلفة على الفور مجموعة من الصور متعددة الاستخدامات كحزمة ، وهذه مكافأة لكل من محفظتك والمواد الترويجية للعميل.
  • أدوبي فوتوشوب ، لمعالجة ما بعد الصور.

الخطوة 1

اختيار الوقت المناسب والظروف الجوية

صدق أو لا تصدق ، يوم مشمس هو ألم لالتقاط صور في أكثر الأحيان. ستحصل على نماذج تضيق في ضوء الشمس ، وتسليط الضوء على بشرتها السيئة بالإضافة إلى صعوبة شديدة في الحد من التعرض ؛ إما أن ينتهي بك الأمر إلى مناطق مظللة تكون فيها مناطق مظلمة جدًا أو مضاءة بشكلٍ مشرق للغاية. انه كابوس!

إضاءة باهتة قليلاً وغموضا يمكن أن يكون الأفضل لنشر الضوء بشكل متساو، وحتى إذا كانت الصور تبدو مملة في الكاميرا يمكنك دائماً إضافة لكمه اللازمة في وقت لاحق في Photoshop. تذكر أنه من المستحيل إعادة التفاصيل في صورة. وهذا ينطبق على الظلال المحذوفة وإبرازات التفريغ ، لذا ستحتاج إلى معلومات نغمية في طرفي الطيف الضوئي.

تموز، أفضل فترة من اليوم لإطلاق النار فقط بعد شروق الشمس، أو كسول، قبل غروب الشمس. هذه الفترة الزمنية تتخطى شمس الظهيرة الشديدة التي تخلق ظروف إضاءة قاسية ويمكن أن تخلق ظلالًا طويلة جميلة نظرًا لأن الشمس منخفضة جدًا في الأفق. ولكن تأكد من أنها ليست قريبة جداً من غروب الشمس أما كالضوء يهرب أسرع مما كنت أدرك. القاعدة الجيدة التي لديّ هي أن أخرج وأطلق النار على ما يقرب من ساعة ونصف إلى ساعتين قبل غروب الشمس. هذه المجموعة من الصور وقعت بين 17:30 و 19:30 خلال أوائل أغسطس في المملكة المتحدة.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 2

إعدادات الكاميرا

للغالبية العظمى من الصور الفوتوغرافية، أنا النار في وضع Av الذي يضبط سرعة مصراع تلقائياً لمعايرة ضد الفتحة المطلوبة. خلال هذا الوضع، أنت تريد أن يكون لديك فتحه على حوالي 5.6 للتأكد من كنت لا يزال الحصول على التركيز الحاد، لطيفة، على الرغم من أن يمكنك الذهاب مفتوحاً كما تسمح عدسة الخاص بك إذا يمكنك العثور على أبطأ سرعة مصراع من 1/30.

إذا كنت لا تزال تجد أنه مع أكبر فتحة يمكن أن تكون سرعة الغالق بطيئة للغاية ، فقد تحتاج إلى زيادة ISO على حساب بعض الحبوب في الصورة (وحبوب DSLR ليست النوع الجيد من الحبوب).

كثير أنصح باستخدام ترايبود، ولكن أنا شخصيا أشعر ديناميات القيام التقطت الصور طبيعية مع ترايبود أن تكون بطيئة ومرهقة. ومن الناحية المثالية، كنت بحاجة إلى التحرك باستمرار، وأن تكون خلاقة، الحصول على منخفضا ويصل ارتفاع من طلقة واحدة إلى التالية، التي لم يكن ممكناً مع ترايبود. تشعر أنها بالتأكيد أقل من العضوية، وكنت ترغب في الحفاظ على جو النهضة إيجابية، ويسير بخطى سريعة مع النموذج الخاص بك.

بعد قولي هذا ، لا يؤلم أن تكون مستعدًا إذا احتجت إلى التقاط لقطة واحدة تبدو وكأنها غير واضحة في كل مرة.

شيء آخر أود أن أذكر هو أن أجد القياس التلقائي (سواء كان ذلك مع مصراع الكاميرا، والفتحة أو تلقائي كامل) سوف يخرج مشرقة جداً. إذا كان لديك هذا الخيار ، فقم بتحريك مقياس التعريض لأسفل شقوقًا حتى تقوم الأوضاع التلقائية بإنشاء صورة ذات مستوى منخفض أكثر قليلاً. أميل إلى العثور على مناطق الظل أسهل لاستعادة تفاصيل الضوء من المناطق الزائدة بشكل مفرط.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوه 3

عندما تكون في الغابة في هذا النوع من الوقت ، يمكنك عادة العثور على برك من الضوء على الأرض التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة أشعة الشمس التي تتسرب من خلال الأشجار ، والتي تكسر الظلال التي يلقيها. يمكن دمج الظلال الطويلة المذكورة أعلاه والتي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة أشعة الشمس المنخفضة ضمن "مجموعات" الضوء هذه لإنشاء تركيبات إضاءة مثيرة للاهتمام.

تعيين عدسة الخاص بك في زاوية أوسع نطاق الإعداد والاقتراب من الكلمة سيركز على طول الظل – كما ترون في الصورة أدناه. عند جعل الضوء والظل الخاص بك المفهوم الرئيسي في صورة تشبه هذه، بعد وجهك الموضوع بعيداً عن الكاميرا وترك الشمس إنشاء حافة الضوء حول شخصية إضافة إلى سحر الصورة.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 4

لا تخف من الجانب المظلم

إنشاء تأثير حافة لطيفة خفيفة التي يمكن البوب في المناطق للقليل من الضوء قليلاً أكثر كثافة، لا يزال يمكنك وضع الموضوع الخاص بك لتكون أساسا مضيئة من وراء الشمس فيها أوراق الشجر، جزء من الموضوع الخاص بك من الخلفية في هذه الحالات خافت.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 5

حاول إضافة عمق إلى تكوينك

عندما تتكون صورة مثل هذا، هو إحدى الخطوات الأولى إميل إلى اتخاذ العثور مقدمة للمساعدة في إضافة عمق للصورة. ومن الجميل أن يكون دائماً المقدمة وأرضية وخلفية في صورة. إذا كنت تحصل على لطيفة ومنخفضة، يمكنك عادة العثور على أوراق الشجر الإطار الموضوع الخاص بك. إذا كان يمكنك دمج طبقة بين العدسة وهذا الموضوع، هذا الكمال. جرب!

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 6

أن تكون خلاقة مع التركيز الخاص بك

هذه الخطوة تسير جنبا إلى جنب مع السابقة. إذا جرّبت التركيز على المقدمة بدلاً من وسطك ، يمكنك أن تفاجأ بالنتائج. إضافة إلى بعض الصور الخاصة بك القيام بذلك سوف متنوعة والفائدة، وأعتقد أنكم ستوافقونني على أن مجرد أن النموذج ليس التركيز الرئيسي، هذه الصورة لا تزال مجرد جيدة مثل بقية.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 7

جرّب إمالة الكاميرا بشكل جانبي قليلاً. هذا يمكن أن يجعل على الفور من صورتك مختلفة جدا. يضيف حافة معينة يمكن أن تجعل اللقطة.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 8

ذكرت سابقا لا أخشى من الجانب المظلم. هذا ينطبق بالتساوي على الجانب المشرق. يمكنك وضع الموضوع الخاص بك بحيث يكون هو أو هي في مواجهة الشمس جانبيا ، ثم ضع نفسك أمامه وضبط زاوية الخاص بك حتى تحصل على مضيئة عدسة مضيئة. لا يوجد شيء خاطئ مع قليلاً من عدسة مضيئة، ولكن يرجى استخدام هذا ماما! عندما استخدمت بشكل جيد، فإنه يمكن إنشاء تأثير حالمة خمر ناصل لطيفة.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 9

يمكن أن تعمل الزاوية المنخفضة بشكل جيد عند محاولة التأكيد على الشكل

في هذا نقطة النار حاولت أن اجعل النموذج التركيز حتى أنه قال أنه يطالب بالاهتمام، والحصول على انخفاض منخفضة واستخدام جذع شجرة كرائد للجزء العلوي من الصورة ساعدني على تحقيق ذلك. عند إطلاق النار من أسفل كنت تميل إلى تجعل شخص يبدو الوعيد وموثوق بها، والمثل عندما يمكنك تصوير شخص من أعلى فإنها تميل إلى تقلص وجعله يبدو أقل أهمية.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 10

تعمل بعض الصور بشكل أفضل كصور سوداء وبيضاء

وفي هذه النار خاصة، يبدو الألوان الأصلية تمتص الحياة خارج الصورة. في Photoshop يمكنك التشبع صورة وثم إعطائها صبغة لون خفية. سيؤدي ذلك إلى تحويل صورتك إلى لقطة "أكثر إبداعًا". كما هو الحال في المثال أدناه ، فإنه يجعل الفرق بين binning تسديدة والاحتفاظ بها في المجموعة النهائية. عندما تعتقد أن الصورة لا تناسبك حقًا ، لكن هناك شيئًا يجعلك تتساءل عما يمكن فعله لإنقاذه ، أقترح محاولة إلغاء تشتته لرؤية كيف يعمل باللونين الأسود والأبيض.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 11-مرحلة ما بعد المعالجة

عبر الخطوات القليلة القادمة سوف تظهر لك كيفية تحرير عادة لقطات كهذه، والتقنيات التي اعتدت عندما تسعى لتحقيق ذلك جوهر غابة صيفي دافئ متوهجة في الحياة قبل تسليم اللقطات للعميل.

The first thing you do when you open an image in Photoshop is to crop the image if needed. Next, you may want to duplicate the original layer into a new layer so you can always strip it back to the original if needed at any point, even if you mainly use adjustment layers.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 12

قد تحتاج إلى ضبط التباين باستخدام طبقة ضبط Curves ، لكن تباين هذه الصورة متوازن جيدًا من الكاميرا كما هي. في هذه الحالة ، سوف تشرع في إنشاء طبقة ضبط جديدة لخريطة التدرج اللوني ، وللتناغم معها حتى تنتقل من برتقالة دافئة إلى نغمة أخف وزنا.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 13

أحضر درجة تعتيم طبقة الخريطة المتدرجة إلى حوالي 30٪ (أو أيًا كان أفضل مظهر لصورتك). يمكنك الآن البدء في رؤية نغمة أكثر كلاسيكية وغسامة.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 14

قم بإنشاء طبقة ضبط Curves جديدة وقم بضبطها وذلك لتغميق مساحات الظل في الصورة ، وتعيين وضع طبقة الضبط على Luminosity.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 15

إن طرفًا أنيقًا يساعد على جذب الانتباه في منتصف الصورة هو إنشاء طبقة فارغة جديدة وملئها باللون الأسود ، ثم الحصول على أداة الممحاة ذات الفرشاة المستديرة الناعمة على نحو تعتيم بنسبة 20٪ ، والبدء في المسح الرئيسي التركيز على الصورة لتغميق حواف الصورة. أنصح لك أن تفعل شيئا واحداً دائماً محو المناطق الخفيفة مثل مصادر الضوء (الشمس في حالتي)، خلاف ذلك سوف تبدو واضحة عندما يتم تطبيق المقالة القصيرة لهم.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 16

اسقط الطبقة السوداء إلى حوالي 15٪ ، لأن هذا التأثير يبدو أفضل عند استخدامه بمهارة. يجب أن تبدو لوحة الطبقات كما في الصورة أدناه.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

الخطوة 17

بمجرد حفظ نسخة .Psd الخاصة بك من الصورة ، يمكنك تسوية الطبقات ، وتغيير حجم الصورة لشبكة الويب - والتي يبلغ ارتفاعها 600 بكسل في هذه الحالة - ثم قم برفعها قليلاً بالانتقال إلى Filter -> Sharpen -> Sharpen. إذا كانت الصورة تبدو شديدة الوضوح ، يمكنك إخفاء التأثير المطبق الأخير عن طريق الضغط على Cmd + Shift + F ، وفي هذا المثال ، أقوم بالتغيير إلى 40٪.

هذا هو! ثم يمكنك حفظ الصور الخاصة بك. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت تقوم بتطبيق هذه النظرة على الكثير من الصور الفوتوغرافية ، يمكنك حفظ نسخة قالب كملف .Psd مباشرة في الخطوة قبل تطبيق المقالة القصيرة ، بحيث تظل جميع طبقات الضبط قابلة للتحرير. بمجرد فتح مستند آخر، يمكنك ببساطة سحب هذه الطبقات التكيف بصورة جديدة وتعديلها حسب الحاجة.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

3-تحميل الملف المصدر

وقد قدم ميغيل النموذج الذي استخدمه في معالجة سلسلة الصور الخاصة به. تنزيل Download .Psd (2.2mb)


4-خاتمة

هناك بعض النصائح الإضافية التي اعتقدت أنني يجب أن أذكرها قبل أن أختتم:

  • كن سعيدا. خذ معك بضعة غيغابايت من بطاقات الذاكرة ، لأنك لا تعرف أبدًا مدى جودة التقاط الصور. قد تجد نفسك تستهلك عشرات الصور التي تحاول أن تضع ظلالًا واحدة فقط.
  • Remember to have fun and to have a good relationship with your model. إذا لم تقوم بالاتصال، قد يبدأ النموذج الخاص بك الشعور بعدم الارتياح ونوعية التقطت الصور في نهاية المطاف ستعاني نتيجة لذلك.
  • Know your camera! ومن وراء المفيد معرفة كيف تعمل بشكل صحيح الكاميرا الخاصة بك وإطلاق النار وسائط لهذا العرض.
  • تعرف على أساسيات التصوير مثل ما يؤثر على التعرض وبعض المفاهيم التركيبية مثل قاعدة الثلث.
  • الامتناع عن استخدام التأثيرات في الكاميرا مثل البنى الداكن أو الأسود والأبيض. يمكنك دائماً القيام بذلك في فوتوشوب مع مائة-مرات المزيد من السيطرة، ولكن لا يمكنك الحصول على اللون مرة أخرى بمجرد تبادل لإطلاق النار دون ذلك.
  • إذا لم يكن لديك فوتوشوب ولكن تريد إعادة إنشاء نفس لينة دافئة اللون-لهجة المستخدمة في الصور أعلاه، قليل حيلة كبيرة يمكنك استخدامها أثناء إطلاق النار عقد العدسة لزوج من النظارات الشمسية التدرج براون أمام عدسة الكاميرا الخاصة بك ، كما يتضح في الصور هنا.

مرة أخرى، يمكنك مشاهدة مجموعة كاملة من الصور المقدمة للعميل على فليكر بتعيينها هنا.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Post-Processing

How to Set Up and Shoot an Enchanted Photoshoot in the Woods

by

Twice a month we revisit some of our reader favorite posts from throughout the history of Phototuts+. This tutorial was first published in September, 2009.

In this article Miguel will be taking you through the process of a portrait-based outdoor photoshoot on a budget. The only things you need to recreate this collection of images are yourself, a friend or client, a camera with a lens and the great outdoors. This set of tips will show you that you don't need an expensive setup of lenses, reflectors and lights to create stunning portraits to be proud of.


1. Introduction

This series of portraits was recently taken for a local client to serve as promotional shots for his solo musical project. His brief to me was that he wanted the photographs to not necessarily feature himself as the main focus, but rather of the beautiful surroundings with himself within them. He didn't want the photos to be cliché or cutesy, and he requested that they were to be as natural as possible.

In the following steps I hope to show you what it takes to nail an outdoor photoshoot with as little equipment as possible, cover the difficulties you might encounter, and share several killer tips for working in the field—no pun intended! You can catch the full collection of these images on Flickr.


2.Equipment and Props Used

  • Canon 400D Digital SLRenchanted woodland photo shoot camera with standard 18-55mm lens kit. For this purpose, try to use a DSLR for best results, but any digital camera can be used as long as it has some manual control of exposure.
  • Model/subject with an extra change of clothes. One reason it's smart to bring an extra set of clothes is that if you get one outfit dirty within 15 minutes, you don't have to call off the rest of the shoot since you'll have a backup change of clothes. Another reason you might do this is purely for variety. Different outfits instantly make your set of photos more versatile as a package, and this is a bonus for both your portfolio and the client's promotional material.
  • Adobe Photoshop, for post-processing the photographs.

Step 1

Choosing the right time and weather conditions

Believe it or not, a sunny day is a pain for taking portraits more often than not. You get models squinting in the sunlight, nasty blown-out skin highlights as well as incredibly difficult to tame exposure—you either end up with shaded areas that are too dark or brightly lit areas that are too bright. It's a nightmare!

Slightly duller and cloudier lighting can be the best to diffuse the light evenly, and even if the photos look dull in-camera you can always add the needed punch later in Photoshop. Remember—it's next to impossible to bring back detail in a photo. This applies to blacked-out shadows and blown-out highlights, so ideally you'll want tonal information in both ends of the light spectrum.

Time-wise, the best period of the day to shoot is just after sunrise, or for the lazy, just before sunset. This time period skips the intense afternoon sun that creates harsh lighting conditions and it can create lovely long shadows due to the sun being so low in the horizon. But make sure it isn't too close to sunset either, as light escapes quicker than you realize. A good rule of thumb I have is to go out and shoot approximately one-and-a-half to two-hours before sunset. This set of photos took place between 17:30 and 19:30 during early August in the UK.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 2

Camera settings

For the vast majority of the photographs, I shot in Av mode which adjusts the shutter speed automatically to calibrate against the desired aperture. During this mode, you'll want to have your aperture on about 5.6 to make sure you still get nice, sharp focus, though you can go as open as your lens allows if you find the shutter speed is slower than 1/30.

If you still find that with the widest aperture your shutter speed is still too slow, you may need to increase the ISO at the cost of some grain in the image (and DSLR grain is not the good type of grain).

Many would advise you to use a tripod, but I personally feel the dynamics of doing a natural photoshoot with a tripod to be too slow and cumbersome. Ideally, you need to constantly move around, be creative, get down low and up high from one shot to the next, which isn't possible with a tripod. It definitely feels less organic and you want to keep a fast paced, positive uplifting atmosphere with your model.

Having said that, it doesn't hurt to be prepared if you need to capture that one shot that seems to come out blurry every time.

Another thing I'd like to mention is that I find the automatic metering (be it with shutter, aperture or full automatic) will come out too bright. If you have the option, move the exposure metering down a couple of notches so the automatic modes create a slightly more low-key photograph. I tend to find the shadow areas are easier to recover light detail from than the overly bright areas.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 3

When you are in the woods at this sort of time, you can usually find pools of light on the floor created by the sunlight leaking through the trees, which breaks up the shadows they cast. The aforementioned long shadows created by a low sun can be integrated within these 'pools' of light to create interesting light compositions.

Setting your lens on its widest angle setting and getting close to the floor will emphasize the length of the shadow—as you can see in the image below. When making light and shadow your main concept in an image like this, having your subject face away from the camera and letting the sun create a rim of light around the figure can add to the charm of the image.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 4

Don't be afraid of the dark side

In areas of little light where the foliage is slightly denser, you can still position your subject to be mainly illuminated from behind by the sun, creating a nice rim light effect that can pop part of your subject from the background in these dim situations.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 5

Try to add depth to your composition

When composing a photograph like this, one of the first steps I tend to take is to find a foreground to help add depth to the photograph. It's nice to always have a foreground, middle ground and background in an image. If you get nice and low, you can usually find foliage to frame your subject. If you can incorporate a layer between the lens and the subject, that's perfect. Try it!

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 6

Be creative with your focus

This step goes hand-in-hand with the previous. If you experiment with focusing on the foreground rather than your middle ground, you can be pleasantly surprised with the results. Doing so will add variety and interest to some of your photos, and I think you'll agree that just because the model isn't the main focus, this image is still just as good as the rest.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 7

Experiment with tilting your camera sideways slightly. This can instantly make the feel of your image very different. It adds a certain edge that can make your shot.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 8

I previously mentioned not to be afraid of the dark side. This applies equally to the bright side. You can position your subject so that he or she is facing the sun sideways, then position yourself in front of him or her and adjust your angle until you get a slight lens flare. There is nothing wrong with a bit of lens flare, but please use this sparingly! When used well, it can create a nice washed-out vintage dreamy effect.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 9

A low angle can work well when trying to emphasize a figure

In this shot I tried to make the model the focus point so that he demands attention, and getting down low and using the tree trunk as a lead to the top of the image helped me achieve that. When shooting from below you tend to make a person seem menacing and authoritative, and similarly when you photograph someone from above they tend to be diminished and made to seem less important.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 10

Some photographs work better as black and white images

In this particular shot, the original colors seemed to suck the life out of the photo. In Photoshop you can desaturate an image and then give it a subtle color tint. This will turn your photo into a more 'artsy' shot. Like in the example below, it makes the difference between binning a shot and keeping it in the final collection. When you think a photo doesn't really work for you but there's something about it that makes you wonder what could be done to salvage it, I suggest trying to desaturate it to see how it works in black and white.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 11 - Post-Processing

Over the next few steps I'll show you how I normally edit shots such as these, and the techniques I used when trying to bring that glowing warm essence of a summery forest to life before handing the shots over to the client.

The first thing you do when you open an image in Photoshop is to crop the image if needed. Next, you may want to duplicate the original layer into a new layer so you can always strip it back to the original if needed at any point, even if you mainly use adjustment layers.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 12

You may need to adjust the contrast using a Curves adjustment layer, but the contrast of this image is pretty well balanced from the camera as it is. In that case, you would proceed to create a new Gradient Map adjustment layer, and tone it so that it goes from a warm orange to a lighter, yellower tone.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 13

Bring the opacity of the Gradient Map layer to about 30% (or whatever looks best with your image). You can now start to see a more vintage and washed out tone.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 14

Create a new Curves adjustment layer and adjust it so as to darken the shadow areas of the image, and set this adjustment layer's mode to Luminosity.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 15

A neat tip to help force attention on the middle of the photo is to create a new empty layer and fill it with Black, then get the Eraser tool with a soft round brush set to about 20% opacity, and start to erase into the main focus of the image so as to darken the edges of the photo. One thing I'd advise you to do is to always erase light areas such as light sources (the sun in my case), as otherwise they will look obvious when a vignette is applied to them.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 16

Drop the Black layer to around 15%, as this effect looks best when used subtly. The Layers palette should look something like the one below.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 17

Once you've saved your .Psd copy of the image you can flatten the layers, resize the image for web—which in this case is 600px high—and then slightly sharpen it by going to Filter -> Sharpen -> Sharpen. If the image looks overly sharp, you can fade the last applied effect by pressing Cmd+Shift+F, and in this example I set fade to 40%.

That's it! You can then save your image. However, if you're applying this look to a lot of photographs you could save a template version as a .Psd file right at the step before you applied the vignette, so that the adjustment layers are all still editable. Once you have another document open, you can simply drag these adjustment layers to the new image and adjust them as needed.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

3. Download Source File

Miguel has kindly provided the template he used to post-process his photo series. Download .Psd (2.2mb)


4. Conclusion

There are a few more tips that I thought I ought to mention before wrapping up:

  • Be trigger happy. Take along a few gigabytes worth of memory cards, because you never know just how well a photoshoot can go. You may find yourself using up dozens of photos trying to nail just one shot.
  • Remember to have fun and to have a good relationship with your model. If neither of you communicate, your model may start to feel uncomfortable and the quality of the photoshoot will ultimately suffer as a consequence.
  • Know your camera! It is beyond useful knowing how to properly operate your camera and the shooting modes it has to offer.
  • Know the basics of photography such as what affects exposure and some compositional concepts such as the rule of thirds.
  • Abstain from using in-camera effects such as sepia or black and white. You can always do this in Photoshop with a hundred-times more control, but you can't get color back once you shoot without it.
  • If you don't have Photoshop but want to recreate the same soft warm color-tone used in my photos above, a great little trick you can use while shooting is to hold the lens of a pair of brown gradient sunglasses in front of your camera's own lens, as seen in the photos here.

Once again, you can see the full collection of images submitted to the client at the Flickr set here.

Related Posts
  • Photography
    Video
    Shooting a Helicopter Search and Rescue Mission TeamPreview
    Behind the scenes look at how to work with a first responder team and their helicopter to create a promotion for a search and rescue team.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    Master the Toughest Parts of Shooting WeddingsWedding preview
    Wedding photography is an exciting and high pressure niché that photographers are quick to dive into, often without enough preparation. In this article, you'll learn from my experiences (and mistakes) about how to properly manage a wedding day.Read More…
  • Photography
    Interviews
    Behind the Scenes: Interview With Sarah SilverPreview
    A behind the scenes look and interview with Sarah Silver during her recent photo shoot with the Stephen Petronio Dance Company.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    Tackling Your First Fashion ShootFashion sb prenew
    Getting into the world of fashion photography can be a tricky business. In a market full of big-budget, high-concept shoots, it can be hard to find a way in and make your mark, but no one starts at the top. As a photographer, you’ll need to prove you can produce high quality imagery before someone gives you a chance. Having never ventured into the world of fashion photography, I wanted to give it a go for myself to see if I had what it took to produce some high quality imagery. Read More…
  • Photography
    Lighting
    Making Photos That Look Like They Were Shot at NightShootnightday ck tut fin pre
    Creating a photo that looks like it was shot at night can be difficult. In this tutorial, we’re going to take a look a creating some images that appear as they were made at night, but were actually shot outside during the day. The principles you learn here can be applied in the studio or even when shooting outside at night to make a more convincing, but still well lit, image.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    How to Create a Magical Photo Manipulation: The ShootFlying nf prelg
    Artists often work with a team of individuals to complete a project. This team could include a client, a creative director, an art director, a photographer, a retoucher, and a graphic designer. In this two-part tutorial, I teamed up with illustrator Thiago Storino to create a magical photo illustration that depicts a child interacting with toys that have come to life. In the process, we will show you how to not only shoot the photos that you need, but also, how to retouch them and combine them with stock photos to create artwork that closely resembles a sketch. Let's get started!Read More…