Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Post-Processing

Das Einrichten und das Aufnehmen eines verzauberten Fotoshootings im Wald

Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Zweimal im Monat besuchen wir einige unserer Lieblingsbeiträge unserer Leser aus der gesamten Geschichte von Phototuts+ erneut. Dieses Tutorial wurde erstmals im September 2009 veröffentlicht.

In diesem Artikel wird Miguel Sie durch den Prozess eines porträtbasierten Outdoor-Fotoshootings mit kleinem Budget führen. Die einzigen Dinge, die Sie benötigen, um diese Bildersammlung neu zu erstellen, sind Sie selbst, ein Freund oder Kunde, eine Kamera mit Objektiv und die Natur. Diese Tipps zeigen Ihnen, dass Sie keine teure Einrichtung von Linsen, Reflektoren und Lichtern benötigen, um atemberaubende Porträts zu erstellen, auf die Sie stolz sein können.


1. Einleitung

Diese Serie von Porträts wurde kürzlich für einen lokalen Kunden aufgenommen, um als Werbefotografie für sein Solo-Musikprojekt zu dienen. Sein Auftrag an mich war, dass er wollte, dass die Fotografien nicht unbedingt im Mittelpunkt stehen, sondern vielmehr die schöne Umgebung mit sich selbst in sich. Er wollte nicht, dass die Fotos klischeehaft oder niedlich waren, und er forderte, dass sie so natürlich wie möglich sein sollten.

In den folgenden Schritten möchte ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie ein Fotoshooting im Freien mit möglichst wenig Ausrüstung durchführen, die möglicherweise auftretenden Schwierigkeiten abdecken und einige Killer-Tipps für die Arbeit vor Ort geben können - kein Wortspiel beabsichtigt! Sie können die vollständige Sammlung dieser Bilder auf Flickr abrufen.


2.Ausrüstung und verwendete Requisiten

  • Canon 400D Digital SLRenchanted woodland photo shoot Kamera mit Standard 18-55 mm Objektivsatz. Versuchen Sie zu diesem Zweck, eine DSLR zu verwenden, um die besten Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Jede Digitalkamera kann jedoch verwendet werden, sofern die Belichtung manuell gesteuert wird.
  • Modell/Motiv mit zusätzlichem Kleidungswechsel. Ein Grund, warum es klug ist, ein zusätzliches Kleidungsstück mitzubringen, ist, dass Sie den Rest des Shootings nicht abbrechen müssen, wenn Sie ein Outfit innerhalb von 15 Minuten schmutzig machen, da Sie einen Ersatzwechsel der Kleidung haben. Ein weiterer Grund, warum Sie dies tun könnten, ist die Abwechslung. Verschiedene Outfits machen Ihre Fotos sofort als Paket vielseitiger. Dies ist ein Bonus sowohl für Ihr Portfolio als auch für das Werbematerial des Kunden.
  • Adobe Photoshop zur Nachbearbeitung der Fotos.

Schritt 1

Auswahl der richtigen Zeit und Wetterbedingungen

Ob Sie es glauben oder nicht, ein sonniger Tag ist ein Schmerz für das häufige Fotografieren. Sie erhalten Modelle, die im Sonnenlicht blinzeln, böse, ausgeblasene Hautlichter sowie eine unglaublich schwer zu zähmende Belichtung - entweder haben Sie schattige Bereiche, die zu dunkel sind, oder hell beleuchtete Bereiche, die zu hell sind. Es ist ein Albtraum!

Eine etwas trübe und wolkigere Beleuchtung kann das Licht am besten gleichmäßig streuen. Selbst wenn die Fotos in der Kamera langweilig aussehen, können Sie später in Photoshop jederzeit den erforderlichen Durchschlag hinzufügen. Denken Sie daran: Es ist nahezu unmöglich, Details auf einem Foto wiederherzustellen. Das gilt für verdunkelte Schatten und ausgeblasene Lichter. Idealerweise möchten Sie Toninformationen an beiden Enden des Lichtspektrums.

Zeitlich gesehen ist die beste Zeit des Tages zum Schießen kurz nach Sonnenaufgang oder für Faule kurz vor Sonnenuntergang. Diese Zeitspanne überspringt die intensive Nachmittagssonne, die raue Lichtverhältnisse schafft, und kann schöne lange Schatten erzeugen, da die Sonne so tief am Horizont steht. Aber stellen Sie sicher, dass es auch nicht zu nahe am Sonnenuntergang ist, da das Licht schneller entweicht, als Sie denken. Eine gute Faustregel ist, ungefähr eineinhalb bis zwei Stunden vor Sonnenuntergang zu fotografieren. Diese Fotoserie fand Anfang August zwischen 17:30 und 19:30 Uhr in Großbritannien statt.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 2

Kameraeinstellungen

Bei den meisten Fotos habe ich im Av-Modus aufgenommen, bei dem die Verschlusszeit automatisch angepasst wird, um sie auf die gewünschte Blende abzustimmen. In diesem Modus sollten Sie die Blende auf etwa 5,6 einstellen, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie immer noch einen schönen, scharfen Fokus erhalten. Sie können jedoch so weit öffnen, wie es Ihr Objektiv zulässt, wenn Sie feststellen, dass die Verschlusszeit länger als 1/30 ist.

Wenn Sie immer noch feststellen, dass Ihre Verschlusszeit bei der größten Blende immer noch zu langsam ist, müssen Sie möglicherweise den ISO-Wert auf Kosten einer Körnung im Bild erhöhen (und DSLR-Körnung ist nicht die gute Körnung).

Viele würden Ihnen raten, ein Stativ zu verwenden, aber ich persönlich empfinde die Dynamik eines natürlichen Fotoshootings mit einem Stativ als zu langsam und umständlich. Idealerweise müssen Sie sich ständig bewegen, kreativ sein, von einer Aufnahme zur nächsten tief und hoch gehen, was mit einem Stativ nicht möglich ist. Es fühlt sich definitiv weniger organisch an und Sie möchten mit Ihrem Modell eine schnelllebige, positive, erhebende Atmosphäre bewahren.

Trotzdem tut es nicht weh, vorbereitet zu sein, wenn Sie diesen einen Schuss aufnehmen müssen, der jedes Mal verschwommen zu sein scheint.

Eine andere Sache, die ich erwähnen möchte, ist, dass ich finde, dass die automatische Messung (sei es mit Verschluss, Blende oder Vollautomatik) zu hell herauskommt. Wenn Sie die Option haben, verschieben Sie die Belichtungsmessung um einige Stufen nach unten, damit die automatischen Modi ein etwas zurückhaltenderes Foto erzeugen. Ich finde, dass die Schattenbereiche leichter von Lichtdetails wiederhergestellt werden können als die übermäßig hellen Bereiche.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 3

Wenn Sie zu dieser Zeit im Wald sind, finden Sie normalerweise Lichtquellen auf dem Boden, die durch das Sonnenlicht entstehen, das durch die Bäume fällt und die Schatten aufbricht, die sie werfen. Die oben erwähnten langen Schatten, die von einer niedrigen Sonne erzeugt werden, können in diese "Lichtpools" integriert werden, um interessante Lichtkompositionen zu erzeugen.

Wenn Sie Ihr Objektiv auf den weitesten Winkel einstellen und sich dem Boden nähern, wird die Länge des Schattens herorgehoben - wie Sie im Bild unten sehen können. Wenn Sie Licht und Schatten zu Ihrem Hauptkonzept in einem Bild wie diesem machen, kann es den Charme des Bildes erhöhen, wenn Sie Ihr Motiv von der Kamera abwenden und die Sonne einen Lichtrand um die Figur erzeugen lassen.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 4

Haben Sie keine Angst vor der dunklen Seite

In Bereichen mit wenig Licht, in denen das Laub etwas dichter ist, können Sie Ihr Motiv immer noch so positionieren, dass es hauptsächlich von der Sonne von hinten beleuchtet wird. Dadurch entsteht ein schöner Randlichteffekt, der in diesen dunklen Situationen einen Teil Ihres Motivs aus dem Hintergrund entfernen kann.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 5

Versuchen Sie, Ihrer Komposition Tiefe zu verleihen

Wenn ich ein Foto wie dieses zusammenstelle, ist einer der ersten Schritte, die ich mache, einen Vordergrund zu finden, um dem Foto Tiefe zu verleihen. Es ist schön, immer einen Vordergrund, einen Mittelweg und einen Hintergrund in einem Bild zu haben. Wenn Sie nett und niedrig werden, finden Sie normalerweise Laub, um Ihr Motiv einzurahmen. Wenn Sie eine Ebene zwischen Objektiv und Motiv einfügen können, ist das perfekt. Versuchen Sie es!

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 6

Seien Sie kreativ mit Ihrem Fokus

Dieser Schritt geht Hand in Hand mit dem vorherigen. Wenn Sie experimentieren und sich eher auf den Vordergrund als auf Ihren Mittelweg konzentrieren, können Sie mit den Ergebnissen angenehm überrascht sein. Das verleiht einigen Ihrer Fotos Abwechslung und Interesse, und ich denke, Sie werden mir zustimmen, dass dieses Bild immer noch genauso gut ist wie die anderen, nur weil das Modell nicht im Mittelpunkt steht.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 7

Experimentieren Sie damit, Ihre Kamera leicht zur Seite zu neigen. Das kann das Gefühl Ihres Bildes sofort ganz anders machen. Es fügt eine bestimmte Kante hinzu, die Ihren Schuss machen kann.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 8

Ich habe bereits erwähnt, keine Angst vor der dunklen Seite zu haben. Das gilt auch für die helle Seite. Sie können Ihr Motiv so positionieren, dass es seitlich der Sonne zugewandt ist, sich dann vor ihm positionieren und Ihren Winkel anpassen, bis Sie einen leichten Linseneffekt erhalten. An ein bisschen Linseneffekt ist nichts auszusetzen, aber bitte sparsam damit umgehen! Wenn es gut verwendet wird, kann es einen schönen verwaschenen Vintage-Traumeffekt erzeugen.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 9

Ein niedriger Winkel kann gut funktionieren, wenn Sie versuchen, eine Figur hervorzuheben

In dieser Aufnahme habe ich versucht, das Modell zum Fokuspunkt zu machen, damit er Aufmerksamkeit fordert. Wenn ich mich nach unten bewege und den Baumstamm als Weg zum oberen Bildrand verwende, kann ich das erreichen. Wenn Sie von unten fotografieren, neigen Sie dazu, eine Person bedrohlich und maßgeblich erscheinen zu lassen, und wenn Sie jemanden von oben fotografieren, werden sie tendenziell verkleinert und weniger wichtig.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 10

Einige Fotos funktionieren besser als Schwarzweißbilder

In dieser speziellen Aufnahme schienen die Originalfarben das Leben aus dem Foto zu saugen. In Photoshop können Sie ein Bild entsättigen und ihm dann einen subtilen Farbton verleihen. Dadurch wird Ihr Foto zu einer künstlerischeren Aufnahme. Wie im folgenden Beispiel macht es den Unterschied zwischen dem Binning eines Schusses und dem Behalten in der endgültigen Sammlung. Wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass ein Foto für Sie nicht wirklich funktioniert, Sie sich jedoch fragen, wie Sie es retten können, sollten Sie versuchen, es zu entsättigen, um zu sehen, wie es in Schwarzweiß funktioniert.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 11 - Nachbearbeitung

In den nächsten Schritten werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie ich Aufnahmen wie diese normalerweise bearbeite und welche Techniken ich verwendet habe, um die strahlend warme Essenz eines sommerlichen Waldes zum Leben zu erwecken, bevor ich die Aufnahmen dem Kunden übergebe.

Das erste, was Sie tun, wenn Sie ein Bild in Photoshop öffnen, ist, das Bild bei Bedarf zuzuschneiden. Weiter möchten Sie die ursprüngliche Ebene in eine neue Ebene duplizieren, damit Sie sie bei Bedarf jederzeit wieder auf das Original zurückziehen können, auch wenn Sie Anpassungsebenen verwenden.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 12

Vielleicht müssen Sie den Kontrast mit einer Einstellungsebene für Kurven anpassen, aber der Kontrast dieses Bilds ist von der Kamera so wie sie ist ziemlich ausgewogen. In diesem Fall erstellen Sie eine neue Einstellungsebene für die Verlaufskarte und tönen sie so, dass sie von einem warmen Orange zu einem helleren, gelberen Ton wechselt.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 13

Erhöhen Sie die Deckkraft der Verlaufskartenebene auf etwa 30% (oder was auch immer mit Ihrem Bild am besten aussieht). Sie können jetzt einen Vintage- und verwaschenen Ton sehen.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 14

Erstellen Sie eine neue Einstellungsebene für Kurven und passen Sie sie an, um die Schattenbereiche des Bildes abzudunkeln, und stellen Sie den Modus dieser Einstellungsebene auf Helligkeit ein.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 15

Ein guter Tipp, um die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Mitte des Fotos zu lenken, besteht darin, eine neue leere Ebene zu erstellen und diese mit Schwarz zu füllen. Verwenden Sie dann das Radiergummi-Werkzeug mit einem weichen Rundpinsel, der auf etwa 20% Deckkraft eingestellt ist, und beginnen Sie mit dem Löschen in der Hauptschicht Fokus des Bildes, um die Ränder des Fotos abzudunkeln. Eine Sache, die ich Ihnen raten würde, ist, immer Lichtbereiche wie Lichtquellen (in meinem Fall die Sonne) zu löschen, da sie sonst offensichtlich aussehen, wenn eine Vignette auf sie angewendet wird.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 16

Verringern Sie die schwarze Ebene auf etwa 15%, da dieser Effekt bei subtiler Verwendung am besten aussieht. Die Ebenenpalette sollte ungefähr, so aussehen, wie hier.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

Schritt 17

Sobald Sie Ihre .Psd-Kopie des Bildes gespeichert haben, können Sie die Ebenen reduzieren, die Größe des Bilds für das Web ändern - in diesem Fall 600 Pixel hoch - und es dann leicht schärfen, indem Sie zu Filter -> Scharfzeichnen -> Scharfzeichnen gehen. Wenn das Bild zu scharf aussieht, können Sie den zuletzt angewendeten Effekt durch Drücken von Cmd + Umschalt + F ausblenden. In diesem Beispiel habe ich die Ausblendung auf 40% eingestellt.

Das ist es! Sie können dann Ihr Bild speichern. Wenn Sie diesen Look jedoch auf viele Fotos anwenden, können Sie eine Vorlagenversion direkt vor dem Anwenden der Vignette als .Psd-Datei speichern, sodass die Einstellungsebenen weiterhin bearbeitet werden können. Sobald Sie ein anderes Dokument geöffnet haben, können Sie diese Einstellungsebenen einfach auf das neue Bild ziehen und nach Bedarf anpassen.

enchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shootenchanted woodland photo shoot

3. Laden Sie die Quelldatei herunter

Miguel hat freundlicherweise die Vorlage zur Verfügung gestellt, mit der er seine Fotoserie nachbearbeitet hat. Laden Sie .Psd (2.2mb) herunter


4. Abschluss

Es gibt noch ein paar Tipps, die ich vor dem Abschluss erwähnen sollte:

  • Seien Sie glücklich. Nehmen Sie Speicherkarten im Wert von einigen Gigabyte mit, da Sie nie wissen, wie gut ein Fotoshooting funktionieren kann. Möglicherweise verbrauchen Sie Dutzende von Fotos, um nur eine Aufnahme zu machen.
  • Denken Sie daran, Spaß zu haben und eine gute Beziehung zu Ihrem Modell zu haben. Wenn keiner von Ihnen kommuniziert, fühlt sich Ihr Modell möglicherweise unwohl und die Qualität des Fotoshootings leidet letztendlich darunter.
  • Kennen Sie Ihre Kamera! Es ist nicht sinnvoll zu wissen, wie Sie Ihre Kamera richtig bedienen und welche Aufnahmemodi sie bietet.
  • Kennen Sie die Grundlagen der Fotografie wie die Auswirkungen auf die Belichtung und einige kompositorische Konzepte wie die Drittelregel.
  • Verwenden Sie keine Kameraeffekte wie Sepia oder Schwarzweiß. Sie können dies in Photoshop immer mit hundertmal mehr Kontrolle tun, aber Sie können keine Farbe zurückerhalten, wenn Sie ohne sie aufnehmen.
  • Wenn Sie nicht über Photoshop verfügen, aber den gleichen weichen, warmen Farbton wie in meinen Fotos oben wiedergeben möchten, können Sie beim Aufnehmen das Objektiv einer braunen Farbverlaufssonnenbrille vor die Kamera halten eigenes Objektiv, wie auf den Fotos hier zu sehen.

Hier können Sie erneut die vollständige Sammlung der Bilder sehen, die dem Kunden auf dem Flickr-Set übermittelt wurden.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Post-Processing

How to Set Up and Shoot an Enchanted Photoshoot in the Woods

by

Twice a month we revisit some of our reader favorite posts from throughout the history of Phototuts+. This tutorial was first published in September, 2009.

In this article Miguel will be taking you through the process of a portrait-based outdoor photoshoot on a budget. The only things you need to recreate this collection of images are yourself, a friend or client, a camera with a lens and the great outdoors. This set of tips will show you that you don't need an expensive setup of lenses, reflectors and lights to create stunning portraits to be proud of.


1. Introduction

This series of portraits was recently taken for a local client to serve as promotional shots for his solo musical project. His brief to me was that he wanted the photographs to not necessarily feature himself as the main focus, but rather of the beautiful surroundings with himself within them. He didn't want the photos to be cliché or cutesy, and he requested that they were to be as natural as possible.

In the following steps I hope to show you what it takes to nail an outdoor photoshoot with as little equipment as possible, cover the difficulties you might encounter, and share several killer tips for working in the field—no pun intended! You can catch the full collection of these images on Flickr.


2.Equipment and Props Used

  • Canon 400D Digital SLRenchanted woodland photo shoot camera with standard 18-55mm lens kit. For this purpose, try to use a DSLR for best results, but any digital camera can be used as long as it has some manual control of exposure.
  • Model/subject with an extra change of clothes. One reason it's smart to bring an extra set of clothes is that if you get one outfit dirty within 15 minutes, you don't have to call off the rest of the shoot since you'll have a backup change of clothes. Another reason you might do this is purely for variety. Different outfits instantly make your set of photos more versatile as a package, and this is a bonus for both your portfolio and the client's promotional material.
  • Adobe Photoshop, for post-processing the photographs.

Step 1

Choosing the right time and weather conditions

Believe it or not, a sunny day is a pain for taking portraits more often than not. You get models squinting in the sunlight, nasty blown-out skin highlights as well as incredibly difficult to tame exposure—you either end up with shaded areas that are too dark or brightly lit areas that are too bright. It's a nightmare!

Slightly duller and cloudier lighting can be the best to diffuse the light evenly, and even if the photos look dull in-camera you can always add the needed punch later in Photoshop. Remember—it's next to impossible to bring back detail in a photo. This applies to blacked-out shadows and blown-out highlights, so ideally you'll want tonal information in both ends of the light spectrum.

Time-wise, the best period of the day to shoot is just after sunrise, or for the lazy, just before sunset. This time period skips the intense afternoon sun that creates harsh lighting conditions and it can create lovely long shadows due to the sun being so low in the horizon. But make sure it isn't too close to sunset either, as light escapes quicker than you realize. A good rule of thumb I have is to go out and shoot approximately one-and-a-half to two-hours before sunset. This set of photos took place between 17:30 and 19:30 during early August in the UK.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 2

Camera settings

For the vast majority of the photographs, I shot in Av mode which adjusts the shutter speed automatically to calibrate against the desired aperture. During this mode, you'll want to have your aperture on about 5.6 to make sure you still get nice, sharp focus, though you can go as open as your lens allows if you find the shutter speed is slower than 1/30.

If you still find that with the widest aperture your shutter speed is still too slow, you may need to increase the ISO at the cost of some grain in the image (and DSLR grain is not the good type of grain).

Many would advise you to use a tripod, but I personally feel the dynamics of doing a natural photoshoot with a tripod to be too slow and cumbersome. Ideally, you need to constantly move around, be creative, get down low and up high from one shot to the next, which isn't possible with a tripod. It definitely feels less organic and you want to keep a fast paced, positive uplifting atmosphere with your model.

Having said that, it doesn't hurt to be prepared if you need to capture that one shot that seems to come out blurry every time.

Another thing I'd like to mention is that I find the automatic metering (be it with shutter, aperture or full automatic) will come out too bright. If you have the option, move the exposure metering down a couple of notches so the automatic modes create a slightly more low-key photograph. I tend to find the shadow areas are easier to recover light detail from than the overly bright areas.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 3

When you are in the woods at this sort of time, you can usually find pools of light on the floor created by the sunlight leaking through the trees, which breaks up the shadows they cast. The aforementioned long shadows created by a low sun can be integrated within these 'pools' of light to create interesting light compositions.

Setting your lens on its widest angle setting and getting close to the floor will emphasize the length of the shadow—as you can see in the image below. When making light and shadow your main concept in an image like this, having your subject face away from the camera and letting the sun create a rim of light around the figure can add to the charm of the image.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 4

Don't be afraid of the dark side

In areas of little light where the foliage is slightly denser, you can still position your subject to be mainly illuminated from behind by the sun, creating a nice rim light effect that can pop part of your subject from the background in these dim situations.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 5

Try to add depth to your composition

When composing a photograph like this, one of the first steps I tend to take is to find a foreground to help add depth to the photograph. It's nice to always have a foreground, middle ground and background in an image. If you get nice and low, you can usually find foliage to frame your subject. If you can incorporate a layer between the lens and the subject, that's perfect. Try it!

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 6

Be creative with your focus

This step goes hand-in-hand with the previous. If you experiment with focusing on the foreground rather than your middle ground, you can be pleasantly surprised with the results. Doing so will add variety and interest to some of your photos, and I think you'll agree that just because the model isn't the main focus, this image is still just as good as the rest.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 7

Experiment with tilting your camera sideways slightly. This can instantly make the feel of your image very different. It adds a certain edge that can make your shot.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 8

I previously mentioned not to be afraid of the dark side. This applies equally to the bright side. You can position your subject so that he or she is facing the sun sideways, then position yourself in front of him or her and adjust your angle until you get a slight lens flare. There is nothing wrong with a bit of lens flare, but please use this sparingly! When used well, it can create a nice washed-out vintage dreamy effect.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 9

A low angle can work well when trying to emphasize a figure

In this shot I tried to make the model the focus point so that he demands attention, and getting down low and using the tree trunk as a lead to the top of the image helped me achieve that. When shooting from below you tend to make a person seem menacing and authoritative, and similarly when you photograph someone from above they tend to be diminished and made to seem less important.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 10

Some photographs work better as black and white images

In this particular shot, the original colors seemed to suck the life out of the photo. In Photoshop you can desaturate an image and then give it a subtle color tint. This will turn your photo into a more 'artsy' shot. Like in the example below, it makes the difference between binning a shot and keeping it in the final collection. When you think a photo doesn't really work for you but there's something about it that makes you wonder what could be done to salvage it, I suggest trying to desaturate it to see how it works in black and white.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 11 - Post-Processing

Over the next few steps I'll show you how I normally edit shots such as these, and the techniques I used when trying to bring that glowing warm essence of a summery forest to life before handing the shots over to the client.

The first thing you do when you open an image in Photoshop is to crop the image if needed. Next, you may want to duplicate the original layer into a new layer so you can always strip it back to the original if needed at any point, even if you mainly use adjustment layers.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 12

You may need to adjust the contrast using a Curves adjustment layer, but the contrast of this image is pretty well balanced from the camera as it is. In that case, you would proceed to create a new Gradient Map adjustment layer, and tone it so that it goes from a warm orange to a lighter, yellower tone.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 13

Bring the opacity of the Gradient Map layer to about 30% (or whatever looks best with your image). You can now start to see a more vintage and washed out tone.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 14

Create a new Curves adjustment layer and adjust it so as to darken the shadow areas of the image, and set this adjustment layer's mode to Luminosity.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 15

A neat tip to help force attention on the middle of the photo is to create a new empty layer and fill it with Black, then get the Eraser tool with a soft round brush set to about 20% opacity, and start to erase into the main focus of the image so as to darken the edges of the photo. One thing I'd advise you to do is to always erase light areas such as light sources (the sun in my case), as otherwise they will look obvious when a vignette is applied to them.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 16

Drop the Black layer to around 15%, as this effect looks best when used subtly. The Layers palette should look something like the one below.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

Step 17

Once you've saved your .Psd copy of the image you can flatten the layers, resize the image for web—which in this case is 600px high—and then slightly sharpen it by going to Filter -> Sharpen -> Sharpen. If the image looks overly sharp, you can fade the last applied effect by pressing Cmd+Shift+F, and in this example I set fade to 40%.

That's it! You can then save your image. However, if you're applying this look to a lot of photographs you could save a template version as a .Psd file right at the step before you applied the vignette, so that the adjustment layers are all still editable. Once you have another document open, you can simply drag these adjustment layers to the new image and adjust them as needed.

enchanted woodland photo shoot

3. Download Source File

Miguel has kindly provided the template he used to post-process his photo series. Download .Psd (2.2mb)


4. Conclusion

There are a few more tips that I thought I ought to mention before wrapping up:

  • Be trigger happy. Take along a few gigabytes worth of memory cards, because you never know just how well a photoshoot can go. You may find yourself using up dozens of photos trying to nail just one shot.
  • Remember to have fun and to have a good relationship with your model. If neither of you communicate, your model may start to feel uncomfortable and the quality of the photoshoot will ultimately suffer as a consequence.
  • Know your camera! It is beyond useful knowing how to properly operate your camera and the shooting modes it has to offer.
  • Know the basics of photography such as what affects exposure and some compositional concepts such as the rule of thirds.
  • Abstain from using in-camera effects such as sepia or black and white. You can always do this in Photoshop with a hundred-times more control, but you can't get color back once you shoot without it.
  • If you don't have Photoshop but want to recreate the same soft warm color-tone used in my photos above, a great little trick you can use while shooting is to hold the lens of a pair of brown gradient sunglasses in front of your camera's own lens, as seen in the photos here.

Once again, you can see the full collection of images submitted to the client at the Flickr set here.

Related Posts
  • Photography
    Video
    Shooting a Helicopter Search and Rescue Mission TeamPreview
    Behind the scenes look at how to work with a first responder team and their helicopter to create a promotion for a search and rescue team.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    Master the Toughest Parts of Shooting WeddingsWedding preview
    Wedding photography is an exciting and high pressure niché that photographers are quick to dive into, often without enough preparation. In this article, you'll learn from my experiences (and mistakes) about how to properly manage a wedding day.Read More…
  • Photography
    Interviews
    Behind the Scenes: Interview With Sarah SilverPreview
    A behind the scenes look and interview with Sarah Silver during her recent photo shoot with the Stephen Petronio Dance Company.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    Tackling Your First Fashion ShootFashion sb prenew
    Getting into the world of fashion photography can be a tricky business. In a market full of big-budget, high-concept shoots, it can be hard to find a way in and make your mark, but no one starts at the top. As a photographer, you’ll need to prove you can produce high quality imagery before someone gives you a chance. Having never ventured into the world of fashion photography, I wanted to give it a go for myself to see if I had what it took to produce some high quality imagery. Read More…
  • Photography
    Lighting
    Making Photos That Look Like They Were Shot at NightShootnightday ck tut fin pre
    Creating a photo that looks like it was shot at night can be difficult. In this tutorial, we’re going to take a look a creating some images that appear as they were made at night, but were actually shot outside during the day. The principles you learn here can be applied in the studio or even when shooting outside at night to make a more convincing, but still well lit, image.Read More…
  • Photography
    Shooting
    How to Create a Magical Photo Manipulation: The ShootFlying nf prelg
    Artists often work with a team of individuals to complete a project. This team could include a client, a creative director, an art director, a photographer, a retoucher, and a graphic designer. In this two-part tutorial, I teamed up with illustrator Thiago Storino to create a magical photo illustration that depicts a child interacting with toys that have come to life. In the process, we will show you how to not only shoot the photos that you need, but also, how to retouch them and combine them with stock photos to create artwork that closely resembles a sketch. Let's get started!Read More…