Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Light Meter

Der vollständige Leitfaden für Handlichtmesser

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Ready, Set, Exposure.
Quick Tip: Should You Buy a Light Meter?
How to Use a Hand-Held Light Meter to Make Perfectly Exposed Photographs

German (Deutsch) translation by Valentina (you can also view the original English article)

In fast jeder modernen Kamera, die derzeit hergestellt wird, ist ein Belichtungsmesser eingebaut. Dieses Gerät misst die Belichtung und ermöglicht die genaue Einstellung von Verschlusszeit, Blendenöffnungen und ISO-Einstellungen. Möglicherweise verfügt Ihr Kamerahandy sogar über Lichtmessfunktionen.

Warum geben also Geld für ein Gerät aus, das dem Messen von Licht gewidmet ist? Es gibt viele Gründe, vor alem aber Genauigkeit und Geschwindigkeit. In diesem Tutorial werden wir uns mit Lichtmessern befassen, welche Arten es gibt und wozu sie fähig sind.


Lichtmesser „Typen“ oder Funktionen

Ich habe gezögert, diesen Abschnitt als Lichtmessgerätetypen zu bezeichnen, da die meisten Lichtmessgeräte mehrere Funktionen ausführen, die ursprünglich nicht in einem Messgerät zusammengefasst werden konnten. Jetzt können Sie Messgeräte kaufen, die alle oder nur wenige Funktionen erfüllen. Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über die wichtigsten Arten von Zählerfunktionen. Der Belichtungsmesser in Ihrer Kamera verfügt möglicherweise sogar über zwei oder drei dieser Funktionen.

Reflektierende Messung

Diese Funktion misst das Licht, das von einem Motiv reflektiert wird. Bei Verwendung der Reflexionseinstellung eines Messgeräts. Sie richten den Sensor auf das Motiv und er spuckt Ihre Messwerte aus. Wenn Ihre Kamera über einen Belichtungsmesser verfügt, handelt es sich um einen reflektierenden Belichtungsmesser. Das Problem bei diesem Zählertyp ist, dass er getäuscht werden kann. Wenn etwas tatsächlich eine dunkle Farbe hat, weiß das Messgerät nicht, dass die Szene dunkel ist. Dies kann zu einer Überbelichtung der Szene führen. Ein kleiner heller Bereich wie ein Gesicht in einer dunklen Umgebung kann das Messgerät auf die gleiche Weise täuschen. Moderne Kameras überwinden dies, indem sie eine ausgefeilte Software verwenden, die mehrere Teile der Szene misst und dann errät, was Sie belichten möchten.


Inzidenzmessung

Die Einfallsmessung misst das Licht, das auf das Motiv fällt. Es beseitigt das Problem des Tons oder der Farbe des Motivs, da Sie das Messgerät nicht auf das Motiv richten, sondern auf das Licht. Damit dies funktioniert, müssen Sie das Messgerät im selben Licht wie das Motiv platzieren. Dies erfordert oft, dass Sie sehr nah am Thema lesen. Die reflektierende Messung kann in einiger Entfernung erfolgen. Die meisten grundlegenden Lichtmesser verfügen über Einfalls- und Reflexionsfähigkeiten. Hierbei handelt es sich normalerweise um einen Lichtsensor, der auf das Motiv gerichtet oder mit einem weißen Stück Kunststoff abgedeckt werden kann. Nach dem Abdecken kann das Messgerät als reflektierendes Messgerät verwendet werden. Der Kunststoff hat eine bestimmte Dichte und streut das Licht, bevor es auf den Sensor trifft.


Blitzmessung

Wenn Sie die Qualität und die Kosten von Lichtmessgeräten verbessern, ist dies normalerweise die nächste Funktion, die nach den Grundfunktionen der Reflexions- und Einfallsmessung hinzugefügt wird. Die Blitzmessung dient zur Bestimmung der Belichtung bei Verwendung eines Blitzes oder eines Studioblitzes. Normale Lichtmesser, einschließlich der in Kameras, können nicht schnell genug reagieren, um die Belichtung von Sekundenbruchteilen eines Blitzes zu bestimmen. Daher musste ein spezieller Zähler erstellt werden.

Auch hier ist ein Blitzmessgerät nicht als eigenständiges Gerät erhältlich, sondern eine Funktion eines Messgeräts mit Reflexions- und Einfallsfähigkeit. Ich kenne nur eine Kamera mit integriertem Blitzmessgerät (eine Leica SLR), aber dies ist nicht zu verwechseln mit den TTL-Blitzfunktionen moderner Kameras. Dies ist ein anderer Prozess, bei dem Kamera und Blitz elektronisch kommunizieren müssen.


Spotmessung

Spotmessgeräte sind jetzt in Kameras integriert, können aber auch als eigenständige Einheiten oder als Zubehör für andere Messgerätetypen erworben werden. Ein Spotmeter ist ein spezieller Typ eines Reflexionsmessers, der das Licht aus einem sehr engen Bereich abtastet. Im Fall eines kleinen, hellen Motivs, das vor einem dunklen Hintergrund sitzt, könnte der Punktmesser auf das vom Objekt kommende Licht gerichtet sein und nur dieses messen. Diese Messgeräte können bei korrekter Verwendung sehr nützlich und genau sein.


Farbtemperaturmessung

Diese Art der Messung befasst sich nicht genau mit der Belichtung, aber einige High-End-Messgeräte können Ihnen die „Farbtemperatur“ des Lichts anzeigen, unter dem Sie aufnehmen. Die Farbtemperatur befasst sich mit dem Weißabgleich. Die meisten DSLRs haben einen Weißabgleich von K oder Kelvin, der von etwa 2800 K bis 8000 K eingestellt werden kann (der genaue Bereich hängt von der Kamera ab). Farbtemperaturmesser können Ihnen mit einem Klick mitteilen, in welche Nummer Sie sich einwählen müssen. 2800K ist ungefähr Wolfram- oder Innenbeleuchtung. 5000 bis 6000K sind Tageslicht und der Blitz ist normalerweise etwas höher als das Tageslicht.



Das moderne Multifunktionsmessgerät

Die gängigsten professionellen/semiprofessionellen Messgeräte sehen sehr ähnlich aus. Sie verfügen normalerweise über eine digitale Anzeige, die Ihre Blenden, Verschlusszeiten, ISO und verschiedene Modi anzeigt. Sie sind mit einem kleinen weißen Kuppeldiffusor ausgestattet (obwohl diese gegen flache Diffusoren zum Messen flacher Oberflächen ausgetauscht werden können). Sie verfügen über eine Taste zum Ablesen und ein Rad oder einen Satz Pfeiltasten, mit denen Sie mögliche Kombinationen aus Verschlusszeit und Blende durchlaufen können. Der Diffusor wird für Inzidenzmessungen verwendet und für reflektierende Messungen entfernt.



Wie funktionieren Lichtmesser?

Lichtmesser zentrieren ihre Belichtungswerte um einen Farbton, 18% Grau. Wenn sie reflektierende Messungen durchführen, gehen sie davon aus, dass das, was sie betrachten, 18% Grau ist, was eine hellgraue Farbe ist. Deshalb kann das reflektierende Messgerät getäuscht werden. Nicht alles ist 18% grau.

Wenn Sie ein schwarzes Hemd reflektieren, erkennt Ihr Messgerät es nicht schwarz. Der resultierende Messwert wird überbelichtet. Wenn die zu messende Oberfläche ein weißes Hemd ist, wird Ihr Bild unterbelichtet. Aus diesem Grund sind die Inzidenzwerte so viel genauer, dass sie sich auf die weiße Kuppel stützen, um den richtigen Schatten für die Belichtung bereitzustellen. Es ist nicht grau, aber es soll verhindern, dass gerade genug Licht durchkommt, um dies auszugleichen.


Old-School-Fotografen hatten eine graue Karte dabei und platzierten sie in dem Licht, mit dem sie arbeiteten, und zoomten sie mit ihrer Kamera hinein. Auf diese Weise könnte das reflektierende Messgerät in ihrer Kamera genauer verwendet werden.


Verwenden Ihres Lichtmessers

Eine Inzidenzmessung kann manchmal etwas schwierig sein. Entscheiden Sie zunächst, welchen Teil der Szene Sie perfekt belichten möchten (alle Szenen haben hellere und dunklere Bereiche). Stellen Sie dann Ihr Messgerät in diesen Bereich. Sie müssen entscheiden, in welche Richtung Ihr Messgerät zeigen soll.

Normalerweise möchten Sie, dass es zur Kamera zeigt. Hier erfahren Sie, wie viel Licht auf einen Bereich trifft, der das Licht zurück auf Ihre Kamera reflektiert. Wenn Sie jedoch versuchen, eine dramatische Seiten- oder Randbeleuchtung zu erzielen, sollten Sie das Messgerät gelegentlich auf die Lichtquelle richten. Diese Technik wird häufig in Multi-Light-Studio-Setups verwendet, in denen Sie wissen möchten, wie viel Licht eine Seite eines Gesichts im Verhältnis zur anderen Seite erhält.



Schatten und Lichter

Wie oben erwähnt, hat jede Szene dunklere und hellere Teile, Schatten und Lichter. Sie entscheiden, wofür Sie belichten möchten. Sie können sich dafür entscheiden, für die Glanzlichter zu belichten und die Schatten in Ihrem Bild schwarz werden zu lassen. Ebenso können Sie sich dafür entscheiden, für die Schatten zu belichten und die Glanzlichter in Ihrem Bild weiß werden zu lassen. Oder Sie könnten versuchen, für einen neutral beleuchteten Zwischenbereich zu belichten und sich auf den Dynamikbereich oder Ihre Kamera verlassen, damit die Schatten und Lichter Details anzeigen können.


Die Mittelung des Zonensystems/Messgeräts

Das von Ansel Adams entwickelte Zonensystem ist ein komplexes System zur Bestimmung der Exposition. Der Grund, warum es komplex ist und nicht mehr viel verwendet wird, ist, dass Sie den genauen Breitengrad oder Dynamikbereich Ihres Films oder digitalen Sensors kennen müssen. Sie müssen den Bereich kennen und wissen, wie der Bereich verteilt ist.

Sie wissen vielleicht, dass Ihre Kamera über 10 Stufen des Dynamikbereichs verfügt. Befinden sich jedoch 8 dieser Stufen unter Ihrer Belichtung für die Schatten und 2 über den Lichtern? Oder gibt es 5 Haltestellen oben und 5 unten? Ansel wusste, wie sein Film funktionierte und konnte den dunkelsten Punkt in seiner Szene und den hellsten Punkt verwenden, um herauszufinden, wo die Belichtung platziert werden sollte. Die moderne Art und Weise, wie Menschen dies tun, ist die Verwendung der Histogrammfunktion auf ihrer Kamera.


Instanzen, in denen Handmessgeräte Excel

In diesem Tutorial gehe ich davon aus, dass die Verwendung eines Belichtungsmessers schneller ist als eine Reihe von Testaufnahmen und die Überprüfung der Rückseite Ihrer Digitalkamera. Dies könnte diskutiert werden, aber für die Zwecke dieser Tipps gehe ich davon aus, dass es schneller ist. Sie haben also zwei Möglichkeiten, die Belichtung zu bestimmen: (a) eine Einfallsmessung mit einem Handlichtmesser oder (b) mit Ihrem Kamera-Messgerät. Die folgenden Situationen würden von der Verwendung eines Handmessgeräts stark profitieren.

Gleichmäßige Beleuchtungssituationen

Eine der besten Zeiten für die Verwendung eines Belichtungsmessers ist die Aufnahme in Situationen mit gleichmäßiger, relativ gleichmäßiger Beleuchtung. Die häufigste dieser Szenen, denen ich begegne, sind Hallensportarten wie Basketball oder Volleyball. Oft gibt es dunkle Hintergründe und helle Spieler. Diese können den reflektierenden Belichtungsmesser in Ihrer Kamera gelegentlich täuschen. Eine einfachere Möglichkeit wäre es, einen Zählerstand zu erfassen, die Kamera manuell einzustellen und die Belichtung für den Rest Ihrer Aufnahme nicht zu beachten.


Verwenden der Vintage-Kameras

Ich habe auf meiner Fotoreise festgestellt, dass es Menschen gibt, die Fotografie lieben, und es gibt Menschen, die Kameras lieben. Es gibt auch viele Leute, die beide lieben. Ich falle zufällig in die letzte Kategorie. Alte Vintage-Kameras nehmen einen besonderen Platz in meinem Herzen ein. Ich mag nicht nur die Handwerkskunst und die Vielfalt, sondern auch die Herausforderung, ohne die Hilfe moderner Technologie zu schießen. Natürlich haben viele dieser Kameras keine Lichtmesser. Mit meinem Handmessgerät kann ich also großartige Belichtungen erzielen.


Verwenden des Blitzes außerhalb der Kamera

Die Verwendung eines Blitzes außerhalb der Kamera bei Studioarbeiten oder anderen Beleuchtungskonfigurationen ist ohne Belichtungsmesser schwierig. Wie bereits erwähnt, kann fast jede Kamera den Blitz nicht genau messen, ohne teure dedizierte Blitzgeräte zu verwenden. Und die Top-End-Studio-Blitzgeräte ermöglichen normalerweise auch keine automatische Messung. Daher ist ein Belichtungsmesser oft die einzige Möglichkeit, Belichtungen festzunageln, ohne mit einem Digitalgerät zu raten, bis Sie richtig einsteigen.


Langzeitbelichtungen

Nachtaufnahmen mit Lichtern können mit einem Messgerät in der Kamera sehr schwierig zu belichten sein. Die typische Menge an Schwarzraum in einer solchen Szene führt dazu, dass die Kamera überbelichtet. Ein Handmessgerät kann sehr nahe am Motiv verwendet werden, um eine ordnungsgemäße Belichtung zu erzielen. Außerdem erlauben viele In-Camera-Messgeräte keine Verschlusszeiten über eine bestimmte Zeit hinaus. Sie können Ihren Belichtungsmesser und die Einstellung „Glühbirne“ verwenden, um Ihre Belichtung so lange wie nötig durchzuführen.



Beispiele zur Vermeidung der Verwendung der Handmessgeräten

Dieses Tutorial nimmt eine ziemlich starke Haltung als "Pro-Handheld-Belichtungsmesser" ein, aber als jemand, der viel mit und ohne Handheld-Gerät geschossen hat, weiß ich, dass es viele Situationen gibt, in denen Handheld-Messgeräte mehr Schmerzen als Vergnügen bereiten. Ich habe versucht, einige gebräuchliche unten aufzulisten.

Variable Lichtsituationen

Wenn Sie in Situationen fotografieren, in denen sich die Beleuchtung stark ändert, lassen Sie den Belichtungsmesser in Ihrer Tasche. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür könnte eine Bühnenshow sein - wie ein Theaterstück - bei der sich das Licht buchstäblich mit jeder Szene verschiebt.

Ein anderes Beispiel ist, wenn Sie sich bewegen, während Sie etwas fotografieren. Wenn Sie durch verschiedene Räume in einem Haus oder Gebäude gehen, durch gemischte Beleuchtung im Wald wandern oder während einer Party von innen nach außen gehen, ist es besser, sich nur auf Ihr In-Camera-Messgerät zu verlassen. Der Handheld ist mehr Arbeit als es wert ist.


Verwenden des Blitzes auf der Kamera

Kamerafirmen haben Millionen von Dollar infiziert, um spezielle Blitze zu entwickeln, die gute Belichtungen erzeugen. Vor speziellen Blitzen hatten wir Thyristoren (einen Sensor am Blitz, der das Licht maß). Diese Systeme funktionieren ziemlich gut. Der Versuch, mit Ihrem Blitz und Ihrem Messgerät umzugehen, ist zu viel. Während der Aufnahme ändert sich wahrscheinlich der Abstand zu Ihrem Motiv, was sich auf die Belichtung auswirkt. Auch die einfache Logistik, eine Lesung mit der Kamera durchzuführen, ist schwieriger als es wert ist!


Verwenden der Filter oder Telekonverter

Lassen Sie mich vorab sagen, dass Schutzfilter, UV-Filter, Trübungsfilter und die meisten Polarisationsfilter Ihre Belichtung nicht beeinflussen. Wenn Sie einen Filter auf der Vorderseite Ihres Objektivs haben, gilt dieser Rat nicht. Farbfilter und IR-Filter wirken sich jedoch drastisch auf die Belichtung aus, manchmal eine halbe Blende, manchmal mehrere Blenden.

Wenn Sie in diesem Fall einen Belichtungsmesser verwenden, müssen Sie wissen, wie sich der Filter auf die Belichtung auswirkt, und dies kompensieren können. Telekonverter haben den gleichen Effekt. Die Durchmessung durch das Objektiv (TTL) war ein großer Fortschritt in der Kameratechnologie. Machen Sie also das Beste daraus, wenn Sie Filter oder Telekonverter verwenden.



Gemeinsame Meter

Es gibt nicht mehr viele Marken, die Lichtmesser herstellen. Am häufigsten sind Gossen, Sekonic und Polaris, aber andere Marken, auf die Sie achten sollten, sind Quantum Instruments, Voigtländer, Wein und Spectra Cine. Konica Minolta hat einige großartige, sehr moderne Messgeräte hergestellt, diese jedoch nicht mehr hergestellt (obwohl Sie sie immer noch bei eBay finden).

Nadel-Match-Inzidenz/reflektierende Messgeräte

Viele ältere Zähler kamen in diesem Stil. Grundsätzlich bewegt sich eine Nadel, um die Lichtstärke anzuzeigen, und Sie passen eine andere Nadel mit einem Zifferblatt an diese an. Entlang der Außenseite des Zifferblatts finden Sie alle möglichen Kombinationen aus Verschlusszeit und Blende. Das Twin Mate-Messgerät von Sekonic (~ 110 USD) ist ein modernes Beispiel. Gossen produziert auch den Digisix (~ 135 USD), der die Zifferblätter pflegt, aber auch eine digitale Anzeige enthält.


Multifunktions-Digitalmessgeräte

High-End-Messgeräte sehen alle sehr ähnlich aus. Es gibt eine handflächengroße Box mit Bedienelementen und einer Digitalanzeige. Darüber befindet sich der Sensor, normalerweise mit einer weißen Diffusorkuppel. Ich besitze einen Minolta Flash V, der wie gesagt nicht mehr produziert wird. Gossen produziert DigiPro (~245 USD), DigiFlash (~190 USD) und andere. Sekonic hat seinen FlashMaster (~$290 USD) und DigitalMaster (~$570 USD) zusammen mit einigen anderen sehr teuren Messgeräten. Polaris verkauft auch einige Modelle in diesem Stil.


Die Entscheidung treffen

Einfache Reflexions-/Einfallsmesser können zwischen 100 und 200 USD kosten und sind billiger, wenn Sie gebrauchte kaufen. Ein Multifunktions-Blitzmesser kann zwischen 200 und 1000 USD kosten. Während die meisten Messgeräte billiger sind als ein gutes Objektiv, insbesondere wenn Sie ein gebrauchtes kaufen, ist es eine Entscheidung, über die Sie nachdenken sollten.

Versuchen Sie, ein Messgerät von einem Freund auszuleihen, um festzustellen, ob es zu Ihrem Aufnahmestil passt, und entscheiden Sie, ob es Ihre Belichtung verbessert oder Ihnen Zeit spart. Denken Sie auch daran, dass die meisten Messgeräte sehr langlebig und reparierbar sind, sodass sie eine lange, lange Lebensdauer haben sollten!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

The Complete Handheld Lightmeter Guide

by

Almost every modern camera currently being produced has a lightmeter built into it. It's the device that measures the exposure, and allows for accurate adjustments of shutter speed, apertures and ISO settings. Chances are your camera phone even has light measuring capabilities.

So why spend money on a device dedicated to measuring light? There are many reasons, but mainly accuracy and speed. In this tutorial, we'll dive into lightmeters, what kinds there are and what they are capable of.


Lightmeter “Types" or Functions

I hesitated to call this section lightmeter “types" because most lightmeters perform several functions, which originally couldn't be crammed into one meter. Now you can buy meters that do all of the different functions, or sometimes just a few. So here's a rundown of the main types of meter functions. The lightmeter in your camera may even have two or three of these functions.

Reflective Metering

This function measures the light bouncing off a subject. When using the reflective setting on a meter. You point the sensor at the subject and it will spit out your reading. If you camera has a lightmeter, it is a reflective meter. The problem with this type of meter is that it can be fooled. If something is actually a dark color, the meter will not know and will assume the scene is dark. This can result in overexposing the scene. A small bright area like a face in a dark environment can also fool the meter in the same way. Modern cameras overcome this by using sophisticated software that meter several parts of the scene and then make a guess as to what you're trying to expose.


Incidence Metering

The incidence reading measures the light falling on to the subject. It eliminates the problem of the subjects tone or color because you don't point the meter at the subject, you point it at the light. In order for this to work, you must place the meter in the same light as the subject. This often requires you to take reading very close to the subject. Reflective metering can be done at a distance. Most basic light meters have incidence and reflective capabilities. This usually involves a light sensor that can be pointed at the subject or covered with a white piece of plastic. Once covered, the meter can be used as a reflective meter. The plastic has a specific density and diffuses the light before it hits the sensor.


Flash Metering

As you progress up in quality and cost of lightmeters, this is usually the next function added after the basic functions of reflective and incidence metering. Flash metering is used for determining exposure when using a flash or studio strobe. Normal lightmeters including the ones in cameras, cannot react quickly enough to determine the exposure of split-second pop of a flash. Therefore, a special meter had to be created.

Again, a flash meter isn't something you would buy as a stand-alone unit, it would be a function of a meter with reflective and incidence capabilities as well. I only know of one camera that has a built-in flash meter (a Leica SLR), but this is not to be confused with TTL flash capabilities that modern cameras have. This is a different process in which the camera and flash must communicate electronically.


Spot Metering

Spot meters are now built into cameras, but they can also be purchased as stand-alone units or as attachments for other types of meters. A spot meter is a specific type of reflective meter that samples the light from a very narrow area. In the case of a small, bright subject sitting against a dark background, the spot meter could be aimed at and meter only the light coming from the subject. These meters can be very useful and accurate if used correctly.


Color Temperature Metering

This type of metering doesn't exactly deal with exposure, but some high-end meters have a the ability to tell you the “color temperature" of the light you're shooting under. Color temperature deals with white balance. Most DSLRs have a white-balance setting of K or Kelvin that can be adjusted from around 2800K to 8000K (the exact range depends on the camera). Color temperature meters can tell you what number to dial into with one click. 2800K is roughly tungsten or indoor lighting. 5000 to 6000K is daylight and flash is usually a bit higher than daylight.



The Modern Multi-Function Meter

The most common professional/semi-professional meters look very similar. They typically have a digital read out that will display your f/stops, shutter speeds, ISO and various modes. The are equipped with a small white dome diffuser (although these can be changed out for flat diffusers for metering flat surfaces). They have a button to take the reading, and a wheel or set of arrow buttons that will allow you to cycle through possible shutter speed and f/stop combinations. The diffuser is used for incidence readings, and is removed for reflective readings.



How Lightmeters Work

Lightmeters center their exposure readings around one shade, 18% grey. When doing reflective readings, they assume that what they are looking at is 18% grey, which is a light grey color. This is why reflective meter can be fooled. Not everything is 18% grey.

If you take a reflective reading of a black shirt, your meter will not know it black. The resulting reading will be overexposed. If the surface you're metering is a white shirt, your image will be underexposed. That's why incidence readings are so much more accurate, they rely on the white dome to provide the proper shade to expose from. It's not grey, but it's designed to block just enough light from coming through to compensate.


Old-school photographers carried a grey card with them and would place it in whatever light they were working with, and zoom in on it with their camera. That way the reflective meter in their camera could be used more accurately.


Using Your Lightmeter

Take an incidence reading can be a bit tricky at times. Start by deciding what part of the scene you want to be perfectly exposed (all scenes have brighter and darker areas). Then, place your meter in that area. You'll need to decide what direction to point your meter.

Typically you'll want it facing the camera. This will tell you how much light is hitting an area that will be bounce light back to your camera. But occasionally when attempting to achieve dramatic side lighting or rim lighting, you'll want to face the meter toward the light source. This technique is often used in multi-light studio set ups where you want to know how much light one side of a face is getting in relation to the other side.



Shadows and Highlights

As I mentioned above, every scene has darker parts and lighter parts, shadows and highlights, and deciding what to expose for is your choice. You may decide to expose for the highlights and let the shadows become black in your image. Equally, you may decide to expose for the shadows and let the highlights become white in your image. Or you could attempt to expose for a neutrally lit, in-between area, and rely on the dynamic range or your camera to allow the shadows and highlights to show detail.


The Zone System/Meter Averaging

The Zone System, developed by Ansel Adams, is a complex system of determining exposure. The reason it is complex and not used much anymore is that it requires you to know the exact latitude or dynamic range of your film or digital sensor. You need to know the range, and how the range is distributed.

For instance, you might know your camera has 10 stops of dynamic range, but are 8 of those stops below your exposure for the shadows and 2 above for the highlights? Or are there 5 stops above and 5 below? Ansel knew how his film worked and could use the darkest point in his scene and the lightest point to figure how where to place the exposure. The modern way people do this is by using the histogram function on their camera.


Instances Where Handheld Meters Excel

For this tutorial, I'm going to assume that using a lightmeter is faster than taking a series of test shots and checking the back of your digital camera. This could be debated, but for the purposes of these tips, I'm going to assume it's faster. So your two options for determining exposure are: (a) taking an incidence reading with handheld lightmeter, or (b) using your in-camera meter. The following situations would greatly benefit from the use of a handheld meter.

Steady Lighting Situations

One of the best times to use a lightmeter is when you're shooting in situations with consistent, relatively even lighting. The most common of these scenes that I encounter is indoor sports - like basketball or volleyball. Often there are dark backgrounds and bright players. These can fool the reflective lightmeter in your camera occasionally, so an easier prospect would be taking a meter reading, setting your camera on manual and not paying attention to exposure for the rest of your shoot.


Using Vintage Cameras

I've found in my photography journey that there are people who love photography and there are people who love cameras. There are also a lot of people who love both. I happen to fall in the last category. Old, vintage cameras hold a special place in my heart. Not only do I like the craftsmanship and the variety, but I also like the challenge of shooting without the aid of all the modern technology. Needless to say, a lot of these cameras don't have lightmeters. So my handheld meter lets me get great exposures.


Using Off-Camera Flash

Using off-camera flash during studio work or other lighting set-ups is tricky without a lightmeter. As I mentioned, almost every camera has no accurate way to meter for flash without using expensive dedicated flash units. And the top-end studio strobes don't typically allow for automatic metering either. So a lightmeter is often the only way to get exposures nailed down short of guessing with a digital until you get in right.


Long Exposures

Night exposures involving lights can be very tricky to expose for with an in-camera meter. The typical amount of black space in such scene tends to cause the camera to overexpose. A handheld meter could be used very close to the subject to achieve an proper exposure. Also, many in-camera meters don't allow shutter speeds beyond a certain time. You can use your lightmeter and the “bulb" setting to make your exposure as long as you need.



Instances To Avoid Using Handheld Meters

This tutorial takes a pretty strong "pro-handheld lightmeter" stance, but as someone who has shot a lot with and without a handheld unit, I know there are plenty of situations when handheld meters are more pain than a pleasure. I've attempted to list a few common ones below.

Variable Light Situations

If you're shooting in situations where the lighting is going to change a lot, then leave the lightmeter in your bag. A good example of this might be a stage show - like a play - where the light literally shifts with each scene.

Another example is when you're moving while photographing something. If you're walking through different rooms in a house or building, wandering in and out of mixed lighting in the woods, or going from inside to outside during a party, then it's better to just rely on your in-camera meter. The handheld will be more work than it's worth.


Using On-Camera Flash

Camera companies have infested millions of dollars to develop dedicated flashes that produce good exposures. Before dedicated flashes, we had thyristors (a sensor on the flash that measured the light). These systems work pretty well. Trying to handle your flash and your meter is too much. While you're shooting, the distance to your subject will probably change, which affects exposure. Also the simple logistics of taking a reading while holding your camera are more trouble than they're worth!


Using Filters or Teleconverters

Let me say upfront that protective filters, UV filters, haze filter and most polarizing filters do not affect your exposure. If you have a filter you keep on the front of your lens, this advice does not apply. But colored filters and IR filters drastically affect exposure, sometimes half a stop, sometime several stops.

Using a lightmeter in this case will mean that you have to know how the filter affects exposure, and be able to compensate for it. Teleconverters have the same affect. Through-the-lens metering (TTL) was a big advancement in camera technology, so make the most of it when using filters or teleconverters.



Common Meters

There aren't many brands producing lightmeters anymore. The most common are Gossen, Sekonic and Polaris, but other brands to look out for are Quantum Instruments, Voigtlander, Wein and Spectra Cine. Konica Minolta made some great, very modern meters, but have now stopped producing them (though you'll still find them on eBay).

Needle Match Incidence/Reflective Meters

A lot of older meters came in this style. Basically, a needle moves to indicate the light level, and you match another needle to that with a dial. Along the outside of the dial you'll find all your possible shutter speed and aperture combinations. Sekonic's Twin Mate (~$110 USD) meter is a modern example. Gossen also produces the Digisix (~$135 USD) that maintains the dials, but also incorporates a digital readout.


Multi-Function Digital Meters

Higher-end meters all look very similar. There is a palm-sized box with controls and a digital display, and on top of that there will be the sensor, typically with a white diffuser dome. I own a Minolta Flash V, which as I mentioned is no longer produced. Gossen produces the DigiPro (~$245 USD), DigiFlash (~$190 USD) and others. Sekonic has their FlashMaster (~$290 USD) and DigitalMaster (~$570 USD) along with some other very expensive meters. Polaris also sells a few models in this style.


Making The Decision

Simple reflective/incidence meters can be for between $100-200 USD, cheaper if you buy used. A multi-function flash meter can cost anywhere from $200-1000 USD. While most meters are cheaper than a good lens, especially if you buy used, it's a decision you'll want to think over.

Try borrowing a meter from a friend to see if it fits into your shooting style, and decide whether it improves your exposures or saves you time. Also keep in mind that most meters are very durable and repairable, so they should last you a long, long time!

Advertisement