7 days of unlimited video, AE, and Premiere Pro templates - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Post-Processing

دليل سوبر مبتدئ لفتحة أبل

Scroll to top
Read Time: 10 mins

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Aeni Amalia (you can also view the original English article)

عندما يتعلق الأمر بتحرير الصور على OS X ، فأنا متأكد من أنك ستوافقني على القول إن مستخدمي Mac مدللين تمامًا للاختيار. ليس لدينا فقط iPhoto ، محرر صور ممتاز (ومجاني تمامًا) ، ولكن هناك أيضًا Adobe Suite يقدم Lightroom و Photoshop.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ونحن ذاهبون إلى التركيز على الفتحة، محرر الصور أبل لتصميم نحو المستخدم أكثر مهنية. أو هل هو؟ نعم، وسعرها في نهاية السوق المهنية. ومن المؤكد سوف لا تريد الهواة أنفاق 80 دولار على بعض البرامج ببساطة على اتصال ومتابعة ما يستقر عطلة. من ناحية أخرى، الفتحة لا يجب أن تكون معقدة، والمبتدئين حتى يمكن استخدامه بسهولة.

يقدم الموقع الشقيق ، GraphicRiver ، الآن مجموعة متنوعة من إعدادات Aperture Presets للبيع. تحقق منها اليوم!

الشروع في العمل

بما يكفي من الفطنة ، فإن iPhoto مبني بشكل فعلي على الفتحة (Aperture) وهناك تكامل كامل تقريباً بينهما ، بحيث يمكنك فتح مكتبة iPhoto الخاصة بك في Aperture والعكس بالعكس. إذا لم تكن قد قمت بالفعل بتثبيت Aperture ، فقم بالمشاهدة من خلال Mac Store Store (ليس هناك نسخة تجريبية ، للأسف) واتركها تثبتها.

ستحتاج إلى حوالي 550 ميغابايت من مساحة القرص الحرة و Mac سريع إلى حد ما لتشغيله بسلاسة. أوصي على الأقل 4 غيغابايت من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. يرجى ملاحظة أن Aperture سوف يعمل فقط على أنظمة Intel ، مستخدم PowerPC آسف.

عند فتح التطبيق أولاً، قد تبدو واجهة للفتحة قليلاً الساحقة، إلا أنها بسيطة إلى حد كبير للالتفاف على راسك.

The default interface within Aperture.
الواجهة الافتراضية داخل الفتحة.

لمربع الموضح باللون الأزرق هو المفتش . هؤلاء منكم الذين استخدموا بالفعل iWork سيعرفون عن هذا. إنها المكان الذي يتم فيه حفظ جميع أدواتك. المربع الأحمر هو شريط الأدوات ويسمح لك بالانتقال بين طرق العرض المختلفة أو أقسام من Aperture ، ويعرض المربع الأصفر الصورة التي تعمل عليها حاليًا ، حيث يمكنك إجراء معظم التحرير.

كما ترون، لدى بالفعل بعض الصور داخل مكتبتي الفتحة من مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر. يمكنك استيراد الملفات إلى المكتبة الخاصة بك من الكاميرا الرقمية الخاصة بك (يمكن الكشف عن الفتحة عند إحدى بطاقات ذاكرة أو كاميرا متصلة وسوف يطلب منك ما إذا كانت ترغب في استيراد أي صور) أو من أي مكان آخر على ماك الخاص بك. للقيام بذلك ، ما عليك سوى النقر فوق الزر " استيراد" في شريط الأدوات العلوي وتوجيه نقطة إلى الدليل حيث توجد صورك.

Importing images from a directory on my Mac. You can also import images straight from your camera's memory card.
استيراد الصور من دليل على جهاز Mac. يمكنك أيضًا استيراد الصور مباشرةً من بطاقة الذاكرة الخاصة بالكاميرا

قبل البدء في الاستيراد ، هناك شيء واحد يستحق التنويه ، وهو المشاريع . فكر في مشروع داخل Aperture كمجلد. فهي تسهل تجميع صورك ، بحيث يمكنك تجميعها حسب الفئة (المناظر الطبيعية ، والصور الشخصية ، وما إلى ذلك) ، والتواريخ ، والمكان ، وما إلى ذلك.

ستقوم Aperture افتراضيًا باستيراد جميع الصور في مشروع جديد ، ولكن يمكنك أيضًا اختيار المشروعات الموجودة ، إذا كان لديك أي إعداد ، وذلك باستخدام مربع القائمة المنسدلة الوجهة (كما ترى في المربع الأخضر أعلاه). بمجرد أن تكون سعيدًا بكل شيء ، انقر على استيراد Checked .

الفتحة دعم ملفات RAW من مجموعة متنوعة من الكاميرات وتضاف التحديثات بشكل متكرر حتى تأكد من تحديث عن طريق المتجر ماك على أساس منتظم. الفتحة عند استيراد ملف RAW، سوف نقدم لكم مع خيار للعبث حول الإعدادات، مثل التشبع، توازن اللون الأبيض، والتعرض.


العمل مع البيانات الوصفية وإضافة علامات جغرافية

لبيانات الوصفية داخل Aperture بسيطة حقًا. في أي صورة ، إذا قمت بالنقر فوق " المفتش" ، فاختر علامة التبويب " معلومات" ، حيث يمكنك عرض البيانات التعريفية المرفقة بتلك الصورة المحددة بسهولة.

Your photo's metadata is displayed on the right-hand side.
يتم عرض البيانات الوصفية لصورتك على الجانب الأيمن.

يمكنك تعديل جوانب معينة من البيانات الوصفية لصورتك (مثل الاسم ، والتسمية التوضيحية ، وأي إشعارات حقوق نشر ذات صلة وعنوانها) بمجرد تحديد مربع النص ذي الصلة ، ثم كتابة ما تريد أن تكون قيمته. لا يمكن تخصيص بعض جوانب البيانات الوصفية (مثل بيانات الكاميرا والعدسة المستخدمة) من خلال Aperture ، على الرغم من أنه يمكنك مسح أي بيانات وصفية يتم إدخالها من خلال النقر على رمز الترس وتحديد Clear IPTC Metadata .

Clearing any saved metadata.
مسح أي بيانات التعريف المحفوظة.

نصيحة: للحصول على برنامج تعليمي مبتدئ أكثر تقدمًا ، تحقق من البرنامج التعليمي الممتاز لـ William Sharp حول إتقان البيانات الوصفية داخل Aperture.

طريقة سهلة حقاً آخر لتتبع الصور الخاصة بك لإضافة العلامات الجغرافية لهم بحيث يمكن رؤية جميع مواقع الصور الخاصة بك بسهولة على خارطة. إذا كانت الكاميرا الخاصة بك بالفعل هذا، ثم ليست هناك حاجة كما تنسق لتحديد المواقع سيتم ترميز في بيانات التعريف والاعتراف تلقائياً من الفتحة. ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم الكاميرات لا تتميز بهذه الوظيفة (مع نيكون D5100 ، وحدة GP-1 GPS ستعيدني 200 جنيه استرليني ، أو 305 دولار ، وهو السعر الذي لست مستعدًا لدفعه!) ، ولكن الحمد لله أنه من السهل حقًا داخل الفتحة.

انقر فوق القائمة Metadata داخل Aperture (كما هو موضح في لقطة الشاشة أعلاه) ثم حدد Assign Location… يمكنك أيضًا ضبط تاريخ ووقت صورتك بالإضافة إلى وجوه العلامات باستخدام خيارات Assign Date and Time… أو Assign Names على التوالي.

Adding a location to your photos.
إضافة موقع إلى الصور الخاصة بك.

يمكنك البحث عن موقع معين أو اسحب الخريطة إلى النقطة حيث التقطت الصورة الخاصة بك.

The Map view shows you easily where all your photos were taken.
عرض خريطة يظهر لك بسهولة حيث اتخذت جميع الصور الخاصة بك.

لآن ، إذا قمت بالنقر على أيقونة الخريطة ، كما يظهر السهم الأحمر ، ستقدم لك Aperture خريطة توضح دبابيس كل الأماكن التي التقطت الصور فيها. على الرغم من أنها تتطلب القليل من الجهد ، فإن الخريطة تجعلها من السهل حقا البقاء على رأس مجموعة الصور الخاصة بك بأكملها (وفي حالتي ، هي بالتأكيد طريقة أرخص بكثير لوضع علامات جغرافية على الصور من حل نيكون المقترح!).


تحرير الصور الخاصة بك

والآن ونحن حقاً على الحصول على الأشياء التفاصيل الجوهرية داخل الفتحة: تحرير الصور الخاصة بك. لهذا، انقر فوق علامة التبويب تعديلات داخل المفتش وأنت كنت ستقدم مع حمولة كاملة من الخيارات للعب حولها مع الصور الخاصة بك. يمكنك أما تحرير لهم استخدام التعديلات (والذي سيتم تغيير مظهر الصورة بأكملها) أو بشكل انتقائي على اتصال ومتابعة المجالات لكل صورة باستخدام الفرش (التي سوف نحصل على في دقيقة واحدة).

التعديلات

تساعد التعديلات على تحسين مظهر صورتك بأكملها. إذا قمت بالنقر فوق مربع القائمة المنسدلة إضافة ضبط ، فسترى جميع التعديلات المتاحة داخل Aperture. اختر واحدة لإظهار اللوحة المناسبة.

Making adjustments to your photos.
إجراء تعديلات على الصور الخاصة بك.

ما ترى في المربع الأزرق أعلاه ، يمكنك تغيير الصورة عن طريق سحب أشرطة التمرير إلى اليسار أو إلى اليمين ، أو بكتابة قيمة (أوصي باستخدام أشرطة التمرير ، مع ذلك) وسيتم تحديث صورتك على الجانب الأيمن. بعض التعديلات ميزة زر تلقائي مفيد (كما هو موضح في السهم الأخضر) الذي سيحدد أفضل قيمة (في هذه الحالة ، أفضل قيمة التعرض) على أساس تحليل للصورة.

هذا شيء عظيم إذا كانت تريد أن تلمس شيئا بسرعة ولكن مرة أخرى، فوتو لديه هذه القدرة، وكما نرى كنت قد أنفقت فقط 80 دولار على هذه القطعة من مجموعة، سترغب في الحصول على أكثر من ذلك، لن لك؟

إن علامة التبويب Adjustments ( التسويات) هي المكان الذي ستجد فيه الرسم البياني لصورتك ، والذي يعتبر بالنسبة لأولئك منكم الذين لم يستخدموه من قبل أحد أكثر الصور فائدة لصورتك. بشكل مبالغ فيه بشكل لا يصدق ، يوضح لك الرسم البياني ما إذا كانت الصورة ضعيفة أو غير معرّضة (أي خفيفة جدًا). يشير المدرج التكراري المنحرفة إلى اليسار (كما تظهر لقطة الشاشة أعلاه) إلى أن الصورة غير معرّضة للضوء وأن الصورة المنحرفة إلى اليمين - نعم ، على سبيل المثال ، تخبرك بأن الصورة تعرضها بشكل مفرط.

سيتم تجميع مخطط بياني مثالي حول المركز (أو ، بالنسبة إلى إحصاءات geeks هناك ، سيشبه توزيع احتمالي عادي ) ، وسيفاجأ تخيّل الإعدادات في Aperture بهذا.

إذا كنت قصيرة من الوقت، ثم النقر فوق عصا سحرية قليلاً إلى يمين مربع القائمة المنسدلة الآثار سوف اتصال ومتابعة الصور الخاصة بك تلقائياً، تحديد أفضل توازن الأبيض والتعرض (ضمن أمور أخرى) لجعل الصورة تبدو أنيق. وبطبيعة الحال، على الرغم من الفتحة سوف تسفر عن نتائج أفضل إذا كنت على اتصال ومتابعة الصور الخاصة بك يدوياً.

تحتوي لوحة Adjustments على حوالي 25 تعديلًا مختلفًا للصورة. بالنسبة للمبتدئين ، إنها في الحقيقة مسألة تجريبية وخطأ للعثور على مزيج يجعل صورتك تبدو جيدة. تم تصميم الفتحة للمهنيين الذين يريدون هذا المستوى من التحكم في صورهم ، لذا من المحتمل ألا يستخدم الهواة كل واحد.

في الوقت الذي تتعامل فيه مع البرنامج ، أوصيك بالتركيز على Exposure و White Balance و Highlights & Shadows و Enhancepanels. هذه هي الأربعة التي أستخدمها غالبًا عند تحرير الصور.

Undoing any changes to your photo.
التراجع عن أية تغييرات تطرأ على الصور الخاصة بك.

ربما من الجدير بالذكر نوع إجراءات التحرير التي تستخدمها Aperture ، وكيف يمكنك التراجع عن أي تغييرات إذا قمت بخطأ ما. باختصار ، يحتوي Aperture على ميزة معروفة باسم التحرير غير المدمر . هذا يعني أنه يمكنك دائمًا العودة إلى الإصدار الأصلي لصورتك (أي الصورة التي التقطتها الكاميرا) بسهولة.

نرى أن قليلاً من رمز مربع الأدوات في الصورة أعلاه، أبرزها السهم الأحمر؟ أن يقول لك أن قمت بإجراء بعض أشكال التعديل على صورتك داخل الفتحة. إذا كنت تريد التخلص من جميع التغييرات والبدء مرة أخرى من البداية ، فما عليك سوى النقر بزر الماوس الأيمن عليها وتحديد " الرجوع إلى النسخة الأصلية" . عندئذٍ ستعيد فتحة العدسة صورتك إلى الكيفية التي كانت عليها بها تمامًا.

قد تجد أيضا أنك تريد التخلص من بعض التغييرات التي قمت بها، ولكن ليس كل منهم. نعم ، يمكنك إعادة تدوير كل شيء باستخدام وظيفة التراجع ، ولكن ماذا يحدث إذا كنت تريد حذف التغيير بشكل انتقائي؟ انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على رمز صندوق الأدوات هذا مرة أخرى وحدد رفع التعديلات .

You can selectively delete any adjustments made using the "Lift Adjustments" box.
يمكنك بشكل انتقائي حذف أي تعديلات باستخدام مربع الحوار "رفع التعديلات".

كما يمكنك الآن رؤية في الصورة أعلاه، الفتحة يتتبع كل تسوية واحدة تقوم بإجرائها على الصور الخاصة بك وحتى يقول لك ما تم تعديله.

لحذف إجراء تغيير، تأكد من استبدال يظهر مربع القائمة المنسدلة في الزاوية اليسرى (حاليا، تظهر الألغام إضافة) ثم حدد التعديل الذي تريد التخلص من. ضرب مفتاح مسافة للخلف، ثم انقر فوق "الصور المحددة الطابع". سيتم تحديث الفتحة ثم الصورة، التخلص من التعديلات التي قمت بتحديدها.

فرش

قد تجد أيضًا أنك تريد التخلص من بعض التغييرات التي أجريتها ، ولكن ليس كلها. نعم ، يمكنك إعادة تدوير كل شيء باستخدام وظيفة التراجع ، ولكن ماذا يحدث إذا كنت تريد حذف التغيير بشكل انتقائي؟ انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على رمز صندوق الأدوات هذا مرة أخرى وحدد رفع التعديلات .

Brushes allow you to selectively touch up any area of your photo.
فرش تسمح لك بشكل انتقائي على اتصال ومتابعة أي منطقة من الصورة الخاصة بك.

سوف يطفو قليلاً مربع الذي يسمح لك باختيار حجم الفرشاة الخاصة بك والقوة كنت تريد التأثير أن يكون. ثم، ببساطة انقر فوق واضغط ثم اسحب الفرشاة عبر حيث كنت تريد لمسها. يجب أن تكون التغييرات مرئية على الفور.

The Dodge tool is great for brightening up particular areas of your photo.
أداة دودج عظيم لإشراق مساحات معينة من الصور الخاصة بك.

وكما ترون في الصورة أعلاه، أنا قد أشرقت المنطقة عبر الصدر التمثال (التي تحمل علامة خضراء). كانت المنطقة أظهرت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر ما يشبه قبل أكثر إشراقا من. وبطبيعة الحال، وهذا لا ينطبق فقط على إشراق. يمكن لك أيضا بشكل انتقائي تغميق المناطق من الصورة الخاصة بك أو حتى تشبع التباين و/أو اللون. مع فتحه، يمكنك دائماً الذهاب مرة أخرى إذا كنت تجعل من خطأ، حتى لا تخافوا على التجربة!


تقاسم إبداعاتك

الآن بعد أن جعلت صورك تبدو بأفضل ما يمكن ، فقد حان الوقت لمشاركتها مع أصدقائك وعائلتك! تصدير صورة فردية ، حددها ثم انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن عليها ومرر إلى قائمة التصدير . يمكنك إما تصدير الإصدار الأصلي لصورتك (بدون أي تغييرات) أو الإصدار المعدل. ثم يمكنك اختيار أين تريد أن تكون مخزنة والشكل. يمكن تصدير الفتحة إلى JPEG، TIFF، PNG، ومديرية الأمن العام الأشكال في مجموعة متنوعة من أحجام مختلفة.

Exporting your images from within Aperture.
تصدير الصور الخاصة بك من داخل الفتحة.

وبالطبع، يمكنك تصدير الصور متعددة والإجراء هو بالضبط نفس. فقط حدد الصور ترغب في تصدير ثم اتبع الإرشادات المذكورة أعلاه.

بإمكان الفتحة مشاركة صورك مع كل من Facebook و Flickr (لا يوجد تكامل للتويتر حتى الآن). ستحتاج إلى إعدادها. انتقل إلى القائمة الرئيسية Aperture ، وحدد Preferences (تفضيلات) وحدد علامة التبويب Web (الويب) لإضافة حساباتك المتنوعة

Linking your Facebook account to Aperture.
ربط حساب فيس بوك الخاص بك لفتحه.

عند التصدير إلى فيس بوك أو فليكر، تأكد من اختيار الاسم الصحيح للألبوم الخاص بك (بشكل افتراضي هو الاسم الألبوم الجديد)، وما إذا كان أو لا تريد الألبوم الخاص بك بحيث تكون مرئية أم لا. سيتم فتحه ثم تحويل الصور إلى شكل مناسب (الذي قد يستغرق بعض الوقت، اعتماداً على سرعة ماك الخاص بك، وكم عدد الصور التي تقوم بتحميل) قبل تحميلها.

Ordering professional prints through Apple.
طلبات طباعة المهنية عن طريق أبل.

يمكنك أيضًا طلب مطبوعات احترافية لصورك أو طباعتها بنفسك في المنزل. لإجراء ذلك ، انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على صورة أو مجموعة من الصور ، ثم مرر الماوس فوق المخرجات ... ثم حدد الخيار الذي تريده. طلب مطبوعات من خلال أبل يتطلب منك تسجيل الدخول باستخدام "معرف أبل" الخاص بك، وتختلف الأسعار تبعاً لمكان وجودك في العالم (أنا مقرها في المملكة المتحدة، ومن ثم أسعار الجنيه الاسترليني).


هذا هو!

تهانينا ، لقد وصلت إلى نهاية هذا البرنامج التعليمي! أتمنى أن تكون قد قدمت لك مقدمة بسيطة جدًا عن Aperture وجعلتك تدرك أنه على الرغم من أن التطبيق موجه نحو المحترفين ، حتى الهواة يمكنهم استخدامه لتحويل صورهم إلى بكسل خام إلى روائع مصقولة.

بالطبع ، Aperture هو برنامج متقدم ولقد خدشت فقط السطح في هذا البرنامج التعليمي. في بعض الأحيان تأتي أكثر النتائج نجاحًا بحتة ، لذلك لا تخف من اللعب مع Aperture لمعرفة ما يمكنك تحقيقه. تذكر أنه يمكنك دائمًا التراجع عن أي تغييرات تجريها!

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا البرنامج التعليمي ، أو كنت تشعر بأن هناك شيء يستحق المشاركة مع قرائنا ، فلا تتردد في نشره في قسم التعليقات أدناه!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Photo & Video tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement

The Super Beginner's Guide to Apple's Aperture

by

When it comes to editing photographs on OS X, I'm sure you'll agree with me in saying that Mac users are quite spoiled for choice. Not only do we have iPhoto, an excellent (and completely free) photo editor, but there's also the Adobe Suite offering Lightroom and Photoshop.

In this tutorial, we're going to be focusing on Aperture, Apple's own photo editor designed towards the more professional user. Or is it? Yes, it's priced towards the professional end of the market. Amateurs will certainly not want to spend $80 on some software simply to touch up their holiday snaps. On the other hand, Aperture doesn't have to be complicated, and even absolute beginners can use it with ease.

Our sister site, GraphicRiver, is now offering a variety of Aperture Presets for sale. Check them out today!

Getting Started

Funnily enough, iPhoto is actually based loosely on Aperture and there's (almost) complete integration between the two, so you can open up your iPhoto library in Aperture and vice-versa. If you haven't already installed Aperture, then go ahead and grab it from the Mac App Store (there's no demo version, unfortunately) and let it install.

You'll need about 550 MB of free disk space and a fairly fast Mac to run it smoothly. I recommend at least 4 GB of RAM. Please note that Aperture will only run on Intel systems, sorry PowerPC users.

Upon first opening the app, Aperture's interface may seem a little overwhelming, but it's fairly simple to get your head around.

The default interface within Aperture.
The default interface within Aperture.

The box highlighted in blue is the Inspector. Those of you who have already used iWork will know about this. It's where all your tools are kept. The red box is the toolbar and allows you to jump between various views or sections of Aperture and the yellow box shows the photo you are currently working on and it's where you'll do the bulk of your editing.

As you can see, I already have some images within my Aperture library from a variety of sources. You can import files into your library either from your digital camera (Aperture can detect when either a memory card or a camera is connected and will ask you whether or not you wish to import any images) or from elsewhere on your Mac. To do so, simply click on the Import button in the top toolbar and point Aperture to the directory where your images are located.

Importing images from a directory on my Mac. You can also import images straight from your camera's memory card.
Importing images from a directory on my Mac. You can also import images straight from your camera's memory card.

Before we start importing, there is one thing worth pointing out, and that is projects. Think of a project within Aperture as a folder. They make it easier to group your photos, so you could group them by category (landscapes, portraits, etc.), dates, location and so on.

Aperture will by default import all photos into a new project, but you can also choose existing projects, if you've got any set up, using the Destination drop-down box (as you can see in the green box above). Once you're happy with everything click on Import Checked.

Aperture does support RAW files from a variety of cameras and updates are added frequently, so make sure you update via the Mac App Store on a regular basis. When importing a RAW file, Aperture will present you with the option to tinker around with the settings, such as the saturation, white balance and exposure.


Working With Metadata and Adding Geotags

Metadata within Aperture is really simple. On any photo, if you click on Inspector then select the Info tab you can view the metadata attached to that particular photo easily.

Your photo's metadata is displayed on the right-hand side.
Your photo's metadata is displayed on the right-hand side.

You can edit certain aspects of your photo's metadata (such as its name, the caption, any relevant copyright notices and its title) by simply selecting the relevant text box then typing in what you'd like its value to be. Some aspects of the metadata (such as the camera data and lens used) cannot be customised through Aperture, though you can clear any metadata inserted by clicking on the cog icon and selecting Clear IPTC Metadata.

Clearing any saved metadata.
Clearing any saved metadata.

Tip: For a more advanced metadata tutorial, check out William Sharp's excellent tutorial on mastering metadata within Aperture.

Another really easy way to keep track of your photos is to add geotags to them so all your photo locations can be easily seen on a map. If your camera already does this, then there's no need as the GPS co-ordinates will be encoded into the metadata and automatically recognised by Aperture. However, most cameras don't feature this functionality (with my Nikon D5100, the GP-1 GPS unit would set me back £200, or $305, a price that I'm not prepared to pay!), but thankfully it's really easy within Aperture.

Click on the Metadata menu within Aperture (as shown in the screenshot above) then select Assign Location… You can also adjust the date and time of your photo as well as tag faces using either the Assign Date and Time… or Assign Names options respectively.

Adding a location to your photos.
Adding a location to your photos.

You can either search for a particular location or drag the map to the point where your photo was taken.

The Map view shows you easily where all your photos were taken.
The Map view shows you easily where all your photos were taken.

Now, if you click on the Map icon, as the red arrow shows, Aperture will present you with a map showing pins of all of the places you've taken photos in. Although it does require a bit of effort, the map makes it really easy to stay on top of your entire photo collection (and, in my case, is certainly a much cheaper method of geotagging my photos than Nikon's proposed solution!).


Editing Your Photos

Now we really get onto the nitty-gritty stuff within Aperture: editing your photos. For this, click on the Adjustments tab within the Inspector and you'll be presented with a whole load of options for playing around with your photos. You can either edit them using adjustments (which will change the look of the entire image) or selectively touch up areas of each photo using brushes (which we'll get onto in a minute).

Adjustments

Adjustments help improve the look of your entire image. If you click on the Add Adjustment drop-down box you will see all of the adjustments available within Aperture. Select one to bring up the appropriate panel.

Making adjustments to your photos.
Making adjustments to your photos.

As you can see in the blue box above, you can change the photo by dragging the sliders to the left or to the right, or by typing in a value (I recommend using the sliders, though) and your image will be updated on the right-hand side. Some adjustments feature a handy Auto button (as shown by the green arrow) which will select the best value (in this case, the best exposure value) based on an analysis of the image.

This is great if you want to touch something up quickly but then again, iPhoto has this ability and seeing as you've just spent $80 on this piece of kit, you'll want to get more out of it, won't you?

The Adjustments tab is where you'll also find the histogram for your image, which for those of you who haven't used it before is one of the most useful portrayals of your photo. Incredibly oversimplified, the histogram shows you whether or not your image is underexposed (i.e. too dark) or overexposed (i.e. too light). A histogram which is skewed to the left (as the screenshot above shows) indicates that an image is underexposed and one which is skewed to the right - yes, you guessed it - tells you that an image is overexposed.

An ideal histogram will be clustered around the centre (or, for the statistics geeks out there, will resemble a normal probability distribution) and fiddling with the settings in Aperture should get you this.

If you're short of time, then clicking on the little magic wand to the right of the drop-down Effects box will touch up your image automatically, selecting the best exposure and white balance (amongst other things) to make your photo look presentable. Naturally, though, Aperture will yield better results if you touch up your images manually.

The Adjustments panel features around 25 different image adjustments. For the beginner, it's really a matter of trial and error to find a combination that makes your picture look good. Aperture is meant for professionals who want this level of control over their photographs, so amateurs probably won't use every single one.

Whilst you're getting to grips with the software, I would recommend focusing on the Exposure, the White Balance, the Highlights & Shadows and the Enhance panels. These are the four that I use the most often when editing my pictures.

Undoing any changes to your photo.
Undoing any changes to your photo.

It's probably worth mentioning the kind of editing procedure Aperture uses, and how you can undo any changes if you make a mistake. In short, Aperture has a feature known as non-destructive editing. This means that you can always revert back to the original version of your photo (i.e. the one your camera took) really easily.

See that little toolbox icon in the screenshot above, highlighted by the red arrow? That tells you that you've made some form of alteration to your photo within Aperture. If you want to get rid of all your changes and start again from scratch, then simply right-click on it and select Revert to Original. Aperture will then restore your photo to exactly how it was when you made it.

You may also find that you want to get rid of some of the changes you've made, but not all of them. Yes, you could cycle back through everything using the Undo function, but what happens if you want to selectively delete a change? Right-click on that toolbox icon again and select Lift Adjustments.

You can selectively delete any adjustments made using the "Lift Adjustments" box.
You can selectively delete any adjustments made using the "Lift Adjustments" dialogue box.

As you can now see in the screenshot above, Aperture keeps track of every single adjustment you make to your photo and it even tells you what has been modified.

To delete a change, make sure the drop-down box in the left-hand corner is showing Replace (currently, mine shows Add) then select the adjustment you want to get rid of. Hit Backspace, then click Stamp Selected Images. Aperture will then update your image, getting rid of the adjustments you selected.

Brushes

Brushes are a really easy way to touch up areas of your image without having to change the entire image. Click on the Brushes menu on the bottom of the screen and select the brush you'd like to use. I'm going to use Dodge,which will selectively brighten up areas of my image.

Brushes allow you to selectively touch up any area of your photo.
Brushes allow you to selectively touch up any area of your photo.

A little box will pop up which allows you to choose the size of your brush and the strength you'd like the effect to be. Then, simply click and hold then drag the brush across where you would like to touch it up. The changes should be visible instantly.

The Dodge tool is great for brightening up particular areas of your photo.
The Dodge tool is great for brightening up particular areas of your photo.

As you can see in the screenshot above, I have brightened up the area across the statue's chest (marked with the green tick). The area shown by the red cross was what it looked like before I brightened it up. Of course, this doesn't just apply to brightening. You can also selectively darken areas of your image or up the contrast and/or colour saturation. With Aperture, you can always go back if you make a mistake, so don't be afraid to experiment!


Sharing Your Creations

Now that you've made your photos look the best they can be, it's time to share them with your friends and family! To export an individual photo, select it then right-click on it and hover to the Export menu. You can either export the original version of your photo (without any changes) or the modified version. You can then choose where you want it to be stored and the format. Aperture can export into JPEG, TIFF, PNG and PSD formats in a variety of different sizes.

Exporting your images from within Aperture.
Exporting your images from within Aperture.

Of course, you can export multiple photos and the procedure is exactly the same. Just select the photos you wish to export then follow the instructions above.

Aperture can share your photos to both Facebook and Flickr (there's no Twitter integration as of yet). You'll need to set these up. Go to the Aperture main menu, select Preferences and select the Web tab to add your various accounts.

Linking your Facebook account to Aperture.
Linking your Facebook account to Aperture.

When exporting to either Facebook or Flickr, make sure you choose the right name for your album (by default the name is New Album) and whether or not you want your album to be visible or not. Aperture will then convert your photos into a suitable format (which may take some time, depending on the speed of your Mac and how many photos you are uploading) before uploading them.

Ordering professional prints through Apple.
Ordering professional prints through Apple.

You can also order professional prints of your images or print them off yourself at home. To do so, right-click on an image or group of images, hover over Output… then select the option you'd like. Ordering prints through Apple requires you to sign in using your Apple ID and prices vary, depending on where you are in the world (I'm based in the UK, hence the prices in GBP).


That's It!

Congratulations, you've reached the end of this tutorial! I hope that I've given you a very simple introduction to Aperture and made you realise that although the application is geared towards professionals, even amateurs can use it to transform their images raw pixels to polished masterpieces.

Of course, Aperture is an advanced program and I've just scratched the surface in this tutorial. Sometimes the most successful results come purely by fluke so don't be afraid to have a play around with Aperture to see what you can achieve. Remember, you can always undo any changes you make!

If you've enjoyed this tutorial, or you feel like there's something worth sharing with our readers, then please feel free to post it in the Comments section below!

Advertisement