Cyber Monday Sale Save up to 40% off unlimited courses, tutorials and creative assets. Cyber Monday Sale! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Sharpening

كيفية حساب الفتحة أشد لأي عدسة

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Lenses.
Mastering Two Alternate Focus Techniques
Everything You Need to Know About Lens Quality

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Sittiana Ana (you can also view the original English article)

عندما نتحدث عن الحدة من عدسة ما فعلا ننظر فيه هو قدرته على حل التفاصيل. عندما عدسة التركيز قادر على استنساخ يمكن تمييزها أكثر من التفاصيل في صورة ونحن ندعو أن عدسة حادة. الحدة من عدسة ليست ثابتة؛ يتغير مع فتحه العدسة والبعد البؤري (إذا كان عدسة التكبير) والمسافة الموضوع.

تفاصيل حل يختلف عن القرار. وسيكون الخروج من تركيز صورة إطلاق النار مع DSLR حديثة قرارا كبيرا جداً ولكن لا توجد تفاصيل حل.

الحدة يقاس عادة في أزواج السطر الواحد ملليمتر (لبمم) أو الحجم للتمويه على جهاز استشعار في ميكرون. التفاصيل الدقيقة لهذه القياسات غير مهم لهذا البرنامج التعليمي، أعلم تماما أن هناك العلمية والوسائل لتحديد الحدة التي تنطوي على أكثر قليلاً من مجرد وييبالينج أنه يفهم جيدا!

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف نبحث في كيفية حساب الفتحة الأمثل لأي عدسة تحقيق أقصى قدر من التفاصيل تحل في صورة.

لماذا لا ينبغي أن تقلق حول الحدة

قبل الغوص، أريد أن أتحدث حول لماذا تسعى إلى أقصى قدر من الحدة ونادراً ما يهم كل ذلك بكثير.

في أي حالة، سيكون هناك مزيج حاد أقصى نقطة الفتحة والتركيز، يكون مع ذلك هناك عدد لا يحصى من مجموعات أخرى سوف يعود إلى نتائج مقبولة. فقط بواسطة التكبير غاية إغلاق و "بكسل مختلس النظر" فإنه يمكن تحديد الفرق بين أكبر صورة ممكنة وهي حادة بما يكفي.

هناك ما هو أكثر بكثير أن يذهب إلى صنع صورة كبيرة من مجرد ضمان أنها حادة. صورة يمكن أن تكون مثالية من الناحية الفنية ولديها على الإطلاق لا الجدارة الفنية – اختبار حادة جداً، والغاية الممل صور من جميع تلك المخططات – بينما صورة إبداعية مذهل قد تكاد تكون حادة على الإطلاق. هذا الموضوع والنغمات وكل الأشياء التي تجعل التصوير ذاتية رائعة حتى تلعب دوراً أكثر أهمية بكثير.

out of focus wheat field
حتى مجالات التركيز في هذه الصورة الحالمة لحقل القمح ليست حادة خاصة. حقل القمح. دانيلنانيسكو/فوتودوني.

وهناك حالات معينة حيث المسائل التركيز، وهو وكيل للحدة في معظم الطرق. في صور، على سبيل المثال، معظم الوقت الذي تريده العيون في هذا الموضوع على أن نقطة التركيز وبالتالي نقطة حادة في الصورة، ولكن، بوجه عام، طالما أن الصورة حادة بما فيه الكفاية أشياء أخرى أصبح من المهم أكثر بكثير.

حيث تتحمل كل هذا في الاعتبار أثناء القراءة من خلال هذا البرنامج التعليمي. معرفة كيفية حساب الفتحة الأمثل، والتركيز على صورة أقصى حل مفيد للمصورين – لا سيما المصورين المناظر الطبيعية والهندسة المعمارية – بل هو واحد فقط من العديد من الأجزاء التي تدخل في صنع صورة. لمعظم الحالات، سوف تكون القواعد من الإبهام سوف تغطي هنا كل ما يلزم للحصول على مقبول، بل الغاية، حادة الصورة، حتى إذا لم يكن واحد ممكن أشد.

قانون موازنة الحدة

هناك اثنين من الأشياء الرئيسية التي تؤثر على كيفية حل عدسة التفاصيل وطمس يزيل التباؤر وطمس الحيود. يحدث طمس يزيل التباؤر الأكثر في فتحات واسعة بينما طمس حيود يحدث أكثر في فتحات ضيقة. هو تحقيق التوازن بين هذين العاملين المتنافسة، فضلا عن عمق الحقل المطلوب، الظاهر الذي يؤدي إلى الفتحة الأمثل لمشهد معين.

الاستجماتيزم

العدسات الحديثة مذهلة، ولكن بسبب البصريات طريقة العمل، ومعظم العدسات لا تزال لديها على الأقل قليلاً من الاستجماتيزم. وهذا يعني المستوى البؤري ليست موحدة تماما الجدار غير مرئية ثنائي الأبعاد نود أن نتصور أن يكون. يمكنك أن ترى هذا مع فتحات كبيرة خاصة. فمن السهل لاختبار، جداً! إعداد الكاميرا متر أو اثنين من الطوب أو من الجص على الحائط وجعل سلسلة من الصور تتعرض بشكل صحيح مع اختلاف الفتحة. مع معظم العدسات كنت ستتمكن من أن نرى أن مركز الصورة أكثر وضوحاً بشكل ملحوظ من الحواف في فتحات واسعة.

على أية حال، طمس في العديد من أشكال التصوير فعلا تأثير إرضاء بدلاً من ذلك. خوخة ضبابية، خلفية مليئة غالباً ما مرغوب فيه جزء من صورة. وفي حالات أخرى، مثل إطلاق النار ليلا، طمس هو جزء التكلفة من استخدام فتحه واسعة للحصول على تعرض لائق، لكنه يعطي أيضا المشاهد فكرة بصرية مفيدة لنوع الحالة الإضاءة.

وهناك حالات حيث تحتاج صورة حادة جداً على الرغم من الزاوية للزاوية، الاستجماتيزم تكون اللعينة. وهذا ما هذا البرنامج التعليمي حول، لذلك دعونا مواصلة.

عمق الحقل: الدوائر من الارتباك

عند التقاط صورة، يمر الضوء من خلال عدسة الخاص بك، وعلى الطائرة الصورة، سواء كان ذلك الفيلم أو جهاز الاستشعار. تركز العدسة على ضوء ذلك أن تستنسخ الكائنات في الطائرة من التركيز في التركيز الشديد على متن الطائرة الصورة. النقاط لا على الطائرة من التركيز، أما أقرب أو زيادة بعيداً، ترد كنقاط أكبر قليلاً، أو "دوائر من الارتباك".

تقليل حجم الفتحة يقلل من حجم النقاط خارج نطاق التركيز. إذا قمت بتقليل حجم فتحه العدسة ما فيه الكفاية، يمكن الحصول على النقاط صغيرة بما يكفي أن الدوائر الأبعاد من الناحية التقنية من الارتباك تصبح صغيرة جداً لدرجة أنها لا يمكن تمييزها عن حقاً في التركيز على النقاط. التأثير مجال زيادة تركيز واضح في فتحات أصغر: عمق الميدان.

الحدة وعمق الميدان

مفتوح على نطاق أوسع الفتحة، أقل المشهد الذي يمكن أن تقع في عمق المجال. فتح إلى f/1.4، يمكنك التركيز على اللانهاية لكن أي شيء أقرب من فقط تحت 45 مترا ستكون خارج التركيز؛ مع عدسة 50 مم الجبال في المسافة التي سوف تكون حادة، ولكن لن تتمكن من رؤية أي شيء في المقدمة. لا يهم كيف حادة، هي مجالات التركيز في الصورة، أي شيء يقع خارج الطائرة من التركيز سيكون ضبابية.

out of focus portrait
بينما عيناي تك حادة في هذه الصورة، يقع التركيز بعيداً بطريقة مرضية. عمق أكثر من حقل غير مرغوب فيه وفي هذه الحالة.

إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على كل شيء من سنتيمترات قليلة فقط أمام الكاميرا للجبال في المسافة في التركيز، تحتاج إلى وقف أسفل الفتحة الخاصة بك. إضافية يمكنك وقف أسفل، عمق المجال سيكون لديك أكثر وضوحاً. أضيق فتحه عدسة معينة – كثيرا ما f/22 على العدسات الحديثة – سوف تعطي أكبر عمق الميدان. والمشكلة أن حيود يبدأ في فتحات ضيقة، وأن يكون له تأثير ضار على دقة وضوح الصورة يمكن تحقيقها كحد أقصى.

تحقيق التوازن بين هذين العاملين هو المفتاح لتحقيق أقصى قدر من حدة الصور الخاصة بك.

العثور على بقعة الحلو

لكل عدسة هناك فتحه واحدة أن يعطي القرار الحد الأقصى من المجالات في التركيز. إذا كنت إطلاق النار مخطط اختبار ثنائي الأبعاد، وهو واحد لاستخدامه في كل مرة.

أن أبسط طريقة للبحث عن هذا "بقعة الحلو" جوجل. ويتم استعراض كل عدسة شعبية وقياس أدائها في عدد لا يحصى من المواقع.

إذا كنت ترغب في حساب ذلك نفسك، ومع ذلك:

  • وضع الكاميرا على ترايبود ووضع ورقة من صحيفة أمامه على مسافة تسمح لك بمشاهدة الورق كله في الإطار.
  • التركيز على الصحيفة وثم التقاط صورة في كل فتحه العدسة يسمح.
  • استيراد الصور إلى جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك، والتكبير/التصغير إلى 100% في كل واحد وثم مقارنتها.
  • سوف تكون الصورة مع النص مقروءاً أكثر طلقة واحدة مع بقعة الحلو للعدسة.

بشكل عام، هذا الموقع الحلو بين اثنين أو ثلاثة توقف أسفل من فتحه كحد أقصى. على سبيل المثال، بالنسبة لعدسة بفتحه كحد أقصى من f/1.4، بقعة الحلو يسقط عادة بين f/2.8 و f/4. لعدسة بفتحه كحد أقصى من f/4، فمن بين f/8 و f/11.

على الرغم من أن هناك بقعة الحلو واحد فقط لكل العدسة، في الممارسة العملية، الفرق في القرار بين f/8 و f/11 على عدسة التي تفتح على f/4 الحد الأدنى. إذا الحدة هو كل ما يهمك، فقط وقف عدسة الخاص بك أسفل قبل يومين أو ثلاثة وإطلاق النار بعيداً.

الحدة في العالم الحقيقي

في الحقيقية، ليست الحدة العالم القلق الخاص بك فقط. إذا كنت إطلاق النار المناظر الطبيعية بدلاً من مخطط اختبار، عمق الميدان أمر بالغ الأهمية. وقف العدسة 50 مم أسفل من f/1.8 إلى f/5.6، وهو تقريبا في بقعة الحلو، ينتقل أقرب نقطة التركيز إلى 15 مترا – تحسنا من 45 مترا ولكنه لا يزال لا يعطي الكثير المقدمة. وقف العدسة أسفل كذلك أن يجلب كل شيء إلى عمق المجال الخاص بك، ولكن إذا قمت بإيقاف ذلك بعيدة جداً حيود سيقلل من الحدة.

aerial photo
هذه الصورة حادة في جميع أنحاء. اعتدت f/4 Canon 17-40 ملم مع فتحه f/8 للحصول على كل شيء من 10 أمتار بدون حواف حادة. كما كنت إطلاق النار من طائرة هليكوبتر، لا شيء كان أقرب من أي وقت مضى.

ما نريد القيام به هو العثور على الفتحة التي تعطينا صورة حادة أقصى له عمق المجال نريد. عمق الحقل الجداول المنشورة انتقل جزء من الطريق نحو هذا. يقولون ما أوسع الفتحة التي سوف توفر عمق المجال نريد، أنه نادراً ما هو الفتحة التي ستوفر بتفاصيل أكبر في كامل نطاق التركيز.

يحصل على الرياضيات لإجراء العمليات الحسابية المعقدة جداً. كين روكويل قد كتب مطولاً عن كيفية القيام بها ولكن لا حاجة حقيقية للقيام بذلك نفسك. جورج دوفوس – الذي كتب أيضا حول كيفية حساب الفتحة ممكن أشد – وضعت تطبيق فون تسمى أوبتيمومكس-برو، مما يجعل جميع الحسابات لك. إذا كنت ترغب في العثور على الفتحة الأمثل لأقصى الحدة، هو حتى الآن أفضل طريقة للقيام بذلك.

البديل الآخر في العمل من خلال صيغ روكويل أو استخدام قواعد من الإبهام في هذا البرنامج التعليمي.

قواعد الإبهام لكاميرات 35 ملم

وفيما يلي بعض القواعد من الإبهام لاستخدام، لم يكن الفتحة الأمثل، واحدة قريبة جداً من ذلك. نصف-وقف أو حتى أي من الجانبين لن يكون له تأثير ملحوظ جداً الدرجة الحدة في صورة. أنها تنطبق فقط على كاميرات 35 مم أو أصغر. غالباً ما تستخدم كاميرات تنسيق المتوسطة والكبيرة نسبيا الآن أضيق الفتحات التي تزيد من تعقيد العمليات الحسابية.

  • إذا كنت تريد أقصى الحدة لا قلق لعمق المجال، استخدام بقعة الحلو عدسة الخاص بك. إذا كنت في شك، نفترض أنها f/8.
  • إذا كنت إطلاق النار مع عدسة واسعة زاوية (البعد البؤري 24 ملم أو أقل) وتريد كل شيء من متر واحد إلى اللانهاية تكون حادة، التركيز على نقطة اثنين متر واستخدام فتحه من بين f/11 و f/16. ونطاق أوسع العدسة، وعلى نطاق أوسع الفتحة يمكنك الحصول على بعيداً مع.
  • إذا كنت إطلاق النار مع عدسة 35 ملم، وتريد كل شيء من مترين إلى اللانهاية تكون حادة، استخدم فتحه f/16 والتركيز في نقطة أربعة أمتار. هذه إعدادات كبيرة للتصوير في الشوارع.
  • إذا كنت إطلاق النار مع عدسة عادية (50 مم) وتريد كل شيء من مترين إلى اللانهاية تكون حادة، استخدم فتحه f/22 أو أعلى.
  • لا يمكن أن يكون العدسات مع أطوال أطول من 50 مم على حد سواء حاد المقدمة والخلفية. مع عدسة 85 ملم، فتحه f/5.6، في أحسن الأحوال، سيكون كل شيء من مائة متر إلى اللانهاية في التركيز.

مع هذه القواعد من الإبهام، يجب أن تكون قادرة على الحصول على صور حادة جداً في كل مرة. أنها قد لا تكون أكبر صورة ممكنة، لكنها ستكون قريبة جداً. لمعرفة الفتحة الكمال كل الوقت، استخدم أوبتيمومكس للمحترفين.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Sharpening
Photography

How to Calculate the Sharpest Aperture for Any Lens

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Lenses.
Mastering Two Alternate Focus Techniques
Everything You Need to Know About Lens Quality

When we talk about the sharpness of a lens what we are actually considering is its ability to resolve detail. When an in-focus lens is capable of reproducing more distinguishable details in an image we call that lens sharp. The sharpness of a lens isn’t constant; it changes with aperture, focal length (if it’s a zoom lens) and the subject distance.

Resolved detail is distinct from resolution. An out of focus image shot with a modern DSLR will have a very large resolution but no resolved details.

Sharpness is typically measured in line pairs per millimetre (lppmm) or by the size of the blur on the sensor in microns. The exact specifics of these measurements are unimportant for this tutorial, just know that there is a scientific and well understood means for determining sharpness that involves a little more than just eyeballing it!

In this tutorial we'll look at how to calculate the optimal aperture for any lens to maximise the resolved details in an image.

Why You Shouldn’t Worry About Sharpness

Before diving in, I want to talk about why seeking maximum sharpness rarely matters all that much.

In any situation there will be a maximally sharp combination of aperture and focus point, however there will be countless other combinations that will return acceptable results. Only by zooming in extremely close and “pixel peeping” will it be possible to determine the difference between the sharpest possible image and one that is sharp enough.

There is so much more that goes into making a great image than just ensuring it’s sharp. An image can be technically perfect and have absolutely no artistic merit—all those extremely sharp, extremely boring pictures of test charts—while a stunningly creative image might barely be sharp at all. The subject, the tones and all the things that make photography so wonderfully subjective play a much more important role.

out of focus wheat field
Even the in-focus areas of this dreamy image of a wheat field aren't particularly sharp. Wheat Field. DanielNanescu/PhotoDune.

There are certain situations where focus matters, which is in most ways a proxy for sharpness. In portraits for example, the majority of the time you want the subject’s eyes to be the point of focus and thus the sharpest point in the image, but, by and large, as long as the image is sharp-enough other things become a lot more important.

So bear all this in mind as you read through this tutorial. Knowing how to calculate the optimal aperture and focus for a maximally resolved image is useful for photographers—especially landscape and architecture photographers—but it is only one of many parts that go into making an image. For most situations, the rules of thumb I’ll cover here will be all that’s needed to get an acceptably, even extremely, sharp image, even if it’s not the sharpest possible one.

The Sharpness Balancing Act

There are two main things that affect how a lens resolves details, defocus blur and diffraction blur. Defocus blur occurs most at wide apertures while diffraction blur occurs most at narrow apertures. It is balancing these two competing factors, as well as the apparent depth of field required, that leads to the optimal aperture for a given scene.

Astigmatism

Modern lenses are amazing, but, because of the way optics work, most lenses still have at least a little bit of astigmatism. This means the focal plane is not the perfectly uniform two-dimensional invisible wall we like to imagine it to be. You can see this with large apertures especially. It's easy to test, too! Set up your camera a meter or two from a brick or stucco wall and make a series of properly exposed images while varying the aperture. With most lenses you'll be able to see that the center of the image is noticeably sharper than the edges at wide apertures.

In any case, blur is in many forms of photography actually a rather pleasing effect. A blurry, bokeh filled background is often a desirable part of a portrait. In other cases, such as shooting at night, blur is the cost part of using a wide aperture to get a decent exposure, but it also gives the viewer a useful visual clue to the type of lighting situation.

There are situations where you need a very sharp image though, corner to corner, astigmatism be damned. That's what this tutorial is about, so let's continue.

Depth of Field: Circles of Confusion

When you take a picture, light passes through your lens and onto the the image plane, be it film or sensor. The lens focuses the light so that objects at the plane of focus are reproduced in sharp focus on the image plane. Points not on the plane of focus, either closer or further away, are reproduced as slightly larger dots, or "circles of confusion."

Reducing the size of the aperture reduces the size of the out-of-focus dots. If you reduce the size of the aperture enough, the dots can get small enough that the technically defocused circles of confusion become so small that they are indistinguishable from truly in-focus points. The effect is an increased apparent focus area at smaller apertures: depth of field.

Sharpness and Depth of Field

The wider the aperture is open, the less of the scene that can fall in the depth of field. With a 50mm lens open to f/1.4, you can focus to infinity but anything nearer than just under 45 metres will be out of focus; the mountains in the distance will be sharp, but you won’t be able to see anything in the foreground. It doesn’t matter how sharp the in-focus areas of the image are, anything that falls outside the plane of focus will be blurry.

out of focus portrait
While my eyes are tack sharp in this image, the focus falls away in a pleasing manner. More depth of field isn't desirable in this situation.

If you want to get everything from just a few centimetres in front of the camera to the mountains in the distance in focus, you need to stop down your aperture. The further you stop it down, the more apparent depth of field you’ll have. The narrowest aperture on a given lens—often f/22 on modern lenses—will give the greatest depth of field. The problem is that at narrow apertures, diffraction begins to have a detrimental effect on the maximum achievable image resolution.

Balancing these two factors is the key to maximising the sharpness of your images.

Finding the Sweet Spot

For every lens there is one aperture that gives the maximum resolution of the in-focus areas. If you’re shooting a two-dimensional test chart, it’s the one to use every time.

The simplest way to find this “sweet spot” is to Google it. Every popular lens is reviewed and its performance measured on countless websites.

If you want to calculate it yourself, however:

  • Put your camera on a tripod and place a sheet of newspaper in front of it at a distance that allows you to see the whole paper in the frame.
  • Focus on the newspaper and then take a photo at every aperture the lens allows.
  • Import the images to your computer, zoom to 100% on each one and then compare them.
  • The image with the most legible text will be the one shot with the lens’s sweet spot.

In general, this sweet spot is between two or three stops down from the maximum aperture. For example, for a lens that has a maximum aperture of f/1.4, the sweet spot normally falls between f/2.8 and f/4. For a lens that has a maximum aperture of f/4, it’s between f/8 and f/11.

Although there is only one sweet spot for each lens, in practice, the difference in resolution between f/8 and f/11 on a lens that opens to f/4 is minimal. If sharpness is all you care about, just stop your lens down by two or three and shoot away.

Sharpness in the Real World

In the real, world sharpness isn’t your only concern. If you’re shooting a landscape rather than a test chart, depth of field is critical. Stopping the 50 mm lens down from f/1.8 to f/5.6, which is roughly its sweet spot, moves the nearest point of focus to 15 metres—an improvement from 45 metres but it still doesn’t give much of a foreground. Stopping the lens down further would bring everything into your depth of field, but if you stop it down too far diffraction will reduce sharpness.

aerial photo
This photo is sharp throughout. I used a Canon 17-40mm f/4 with an aperture of f/8 to get everything from 10 metres to infinity sharp. As I was shooting from a helicopter, nothing was ever closer.

What we want to do is find the aperture that gives us the maximally sharp image that has the depth of field we want. Published depth of field tables go part of the way towards this. They tell what the widest aperture that will provide the depth of field we want is, however that is seldom the aperture that will provide the sharpest detail throughout the in-focus range.

The maths to make the calculations gets quite complex. Ken Rockwell has written at length about how to do them but there is no real need to do so yourself. George Douvos—who’s also written about how to calculate the sharpest possible aperture—has developed an iPhone app called OptimumCS-Pro which makes all the calculations for you. If you want to find the optimal aperture for maximising sharpness, it’s by far the best way to do it.

The other alternative are to work through Rockwell’s formulae or use the rules of thumb in this tutorial.

The Rules of Thumb for 35mm Cameras

The following are some rules of thumb for using, if not the optimal aperture, one very close to it. A half-stop or so either side won’t have a very noticeable effect on an the degree of sharpness in an image. They only apply to 35mm cameras or smaller. Medium and large format cameras often use relatively far narrower apertures which further complicates the calculations.

  • If you want maximum sharpness with no concern for depth of field, use your lens’s sweet spot. If in doubt, assume it’s f/8.
  • If you are shooting with a wide angle lens (24mm focal length or less) and want everything from one metre to infinity to be sharp, focus at a point two metres away and use an aperture of between f/11 and f/16. The wider the lens, the wider the aperture you can get away with.
  • If you are shooting with a 35mm lens and want everything from two metres to infinity to be sharp, use an aperture of f/16 and focus at a point four metres away. These are great settings for street photography.
  • If you are shooting with a normal lens (50mm) and want everything from two metres to infinity to be sharp, use an aperture of f/22 or higher.
  • Lenses with focal lengths longer than 50mm cannot have both a sharp foreground and background. With an 85mm lens, an aperture of f/5.6 will, at best, have everything from one hundred metres to infinity in focus.

With these rules of thumb, you should be able to get extremely sharp images every time. They mightn’t be the sharpest possible image, but they will be very close. To find out the perfect aperture every time, use OptimumCS-Pro.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.