Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Video
Photography

Comment faire une vidéo pratique simple

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

French (Français) translation by New Lune (you can also view the original English article)

Quand j'ai besoin d'apprendre une nouvelle compétence, mon premier geste est généralement de frapper Google et de commencer à chercher "Comment (insérer la compétence que je dois savoir)". À en juger par les prédictions de Google, je ne suis pas le seul. Ces recherches conduisent à des vidéos sur YouTube ou à des sites d'enseignement comme Tuts+.

Le format vidéo How-To est l'un des moyens les plus populaires pour enseigner aux téléspectateurs. C'est un ensemble clair de mesures pour accomplir la tâche à accomplir. À la fin de la vidéo, le spectateur devrait être en mesure de prendre les mêmes mesures et d'accomplir ce qu'ils ont décidé d'apprendre.

Le but d'une vidéo "comment faire" est de donner au spectateur un ensemble d'étapes pour accomplir une tâche ou apprendre une nouvelle compétence.

Il peut être décourageant d'enseigner avec la vidéo. Vous pourriez vous demander, "Comment puis-je garder mes téléspectateurs intéressés?" Ou de penser: "Je ne suis pas YouTube célèbre, pourquoi quelqu'un devrait-il m'écouter?" Ces deux questions sont valables que nous allons aborder dans ce tutoriel.

Commençons par un petit exemple. J'aime vraiment ce simple "How-To" vidéo sur les épluchures d'avocats: les chefs offrent quelques conseils, puis plonge dans les étapes pour accomplir la tâche à accomplir.

Ce tutoriel n'est pas tant une discussion sur la meilleure caméra à utiliser, ni la façon de modifier vos vidéos (bien que, si c'est ce que vous recherchez, nous avons beaucoup). Au lieu de cela, nous allons nous concentrer sur la façon d'obtenir votre message à travers le spectateur, et de les laisser avec une nouvelle compétence.

Tout le monde a quelque chose à enseigner! Que vous souhaitiez lancer une chaîne YouTube avec votre expertise ou simplement aider un membre de la famille avec une vidéo enregistrée, le format de la procédure est un excellent choix.

Un exemple classique

Le peintre Bob Ross était un maître de la façon de faire. Ses vidéos incarnaient l'idée de donner au spectateur une nouvelle compétence avec chaque vidéo.

Bob Ross a construit un public et a partagé ses connaissances bien avant que l'Internet ne fournisse une plate-forme de publication gratuite. Alors qu'il s'appuyait sur PBS le transportant dans les maisons des téléspectateurs, ces limitations n'existent plus. Avec un smartphone et des sites comme YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, ou une douzaine d'autres, vous pouvez enseigner aussi.

Construisez la confiance de votre auditoire

Dans la première seconde de la vidéo, sinon la première fraction de seconde, le spectateur décidera si ils vous font confiance en tant que leur instructeur. Il est important de capter leur attention rapidement et de s'assurer que vous êtes la bonne personne pour leur enseigner.

Vous n'avez pas à être célèbre pour avoir l'autorité, cependant. Examinons trois techniques pour renforcer la confiance du public. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'incorporer tous ces éléments, mais l'objectif est d'inclure au moins un de ceux-ci dans la première minute de la vidéo.

Témoignage d'expert

Même si vous n'êtes pas un expert, d'avoir un qui apparaisse dans votre vidéo et de fournir des témoignages d'experts donne crédibilité instantanée à votre enseignement.

Dans le tutoriel de David Bode ci-dessus, à partir du cours Maquillage des bases pour la vidéo, un maquilleur professionnel partage son expertise. David est un professionnel de la vidéo, et sait assez sur le maquillage pour partager ses connaissances. Mais c'est l'artiste professionnel qui construit vraiment la confiance du téléspectateur immédiatement et retient leur attention.

Exemples précis

Par-dessus tout, des exemples concrets de ce que le spectateur accomplira construira rapidement la confiance. Je suis beaucoup plus enclin à regarder une vidéo à l'achèvement si je sais ce que le résultat sera. Montrez le résultat final d'abord permettra d'établir la confiance avec le spectateur.

La première minute de cette vidéo donne un exemple concret de ce que les étapes vont accomplir. Il faut une tâche ennuyeuse et il vaut la peine avec un objectif final à anticiper.

Parlez la langue

L'utilisation des mots établit correctement votre autorité en tant qu'instructeur compétent.

Disons que le spectateur apprend quelque chose de précis sur une application, comme une fonctionnalité avancée d'une application comme Photoshop. Pour bâtir la confiance, cela aidera à utiliser la photographie et les termes spécifiques à Photoshop.

Les éducateurs appellent cette "terminologie assujettie à un sujet" et, par là, ils désignent tout le jargon, l'argot et les mots techniques qui ont du sens pour les personnes qui sont immergées dans un sujet, mais qui ne signifient rien (ou quelque chose de complètement différent) à quelqu'un qui n'est pas.

Il est important d'expliquer également, si nécessaire, ce que signifient ces termes en langage clair afin que les personnes qui sont nouvelles dans ce que vous enseignez puissent suivre aussi.

D'accord, maintenant vous avez l'attention du sujet. Maintenant, qu'est-ce que vous en faites? Planifions le reste de notre vidéo.

Planifiez la vidéo avec sous-objectifs

L'enseignement avec vidéo s'adresse aux téléspectateurs avec de nombreux styles d'apprentissage. Certains spectateurs vont regarder la vidéo entière, puis essayer la compétence sur leurs propres, tandis que d'autres suivront pas à pas.

Sous-objectifs sont les jalons dans votre vidéo comment-à que le spectateur peut utiliser pour vérifier leurs progrès d'apprentissage. Ceux-ci sont particulièrement utiles lorsque vous enseignez un sujet plus long. Si le spectateur est perdu ou coincé en essayant de suivre, elle peut simplement rembobiner à la précédente sous-objectif.

Quand j'écris une vidéo, je commence par noter un contour approximatif. Le contour me maintient sur la bonne voie lors de l'écriture de la vidéo et garde l'étudiant à l'avant-garde de mon esprit. Je pense à la planification vidéo en trois étapes:

  • Résultat d'apprentissage souhaité: Quel est l'objectif général de la vidéo, ou que devrait savoir l'utilisateur quand ils terminent de regarder?
  • Sous-objectifs: les sous-objectifs de la vidéo sont des points de contrôle pour l'utilisateur afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont toujours sur la bonne voie dans le How-To.
  • Étapes: les actions individuelles ("cliquez sur ce menu", "changez ce paramètre") qu'un utilisateur prend pour progresser vers le résultat d'apprentissage. Si l'utilisateur suit toutes les étapes, ils devraient se retrouver avec essentiellement le même résultat.

Le tutoriel de Charles Yeager intitulé "Comment stabiliser une vidéo dans After Effects avec ReelSteady" est un excellent exemple de la façon d'implémenter des sous-objectifs. Même si vous n'êtes pas intéressé par la compétence qu'il enseigne, consultez la vidéo ci-dessous brièvement pour voir son approche.

Voici quelques-uns des sous-objectifs que Charles utilise dans la vidéo:

  1. Téléchargez et installez le logiciel ReelSteady pour commencer
  2. Assurez-vous de capturer des images avec un objectif grand angle et une vitesse d'obturation élevée pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats
  3. Appliquez le plugin logiciel ReelSteady dans After Effects
  4. Ouvrez et appliquez l'un des plugins de la liste intégrée
  5. Ajustez les paramètres et les fonctionnalités en fonction de votre vidéo

La vidéo de Charles est longue et est vraiment un guide complet de la compétence, mais il a toutes les caractéristiques d'être un succès. C'est une compétence importante pour les vidéastes débutants, et les sous-objectifs aident l'utilisateur à suivre le succès.

Une fois que vous avez défini vos sous-objectifs, il est temps d'appuyer sur l'enregistrement. Il n'y a rien de spécial sur l'enregistrement d'une vidéo comment faire, mais j'ai une technique préférée à partager: partagez votre vidéo avec un débutant lorsque vous avez terminé pour une rétroaction honnête et sincère. Parfois, je suis tellement habitué à ce que j'enseigne que j'oublie les besoins d'un débutant, et cette étape aide à corriger cela.

Récapitulez et continuez à apprendre

La grande chose au sujet de la façon-à la vidéo est que le format est très bien compris par les téléspectateurs. Cependant, il y a beaucoup de place pour la créativité dans l'exécution.

Restez à ces trois touches lors de la production de votre vidéo comment:

  1. Établissez l'autorité au début de la vidéo. Donnez au spectateur une raison de vous faire confiance; ils ont fait confiance à vous pour obtenir les compétences dont ils ont besoin.
  2. Ayez un objectif central pour votre vidéo comment faire, avec un résultat d'apprentissage clé identifié. A la fin de la vidéo, l'utilisateur doit savoir exactement ce qu'il peut atteindre.
  3. Définissez des sous-objectifs ou des jalons clairement définis pour l'apprentissage de la compétence.

Enseignez-vous avec le format comment faire? Si oui, comment vous assurez-vous que le spectateur comprend le matériel? Les commentaires sont toujours une excellente façon de partager vos connaissances avec d'autres lecteurs Tuts+.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Video
Photography

How to Make a Simple How-To Video

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

When I need to learn a new skill, my first move is usually to hit Google and start searching "How to (insert skill I need to know)". Judging by Google's search predictions, I'm not the only one. These searches lead to how-to videos on YouTube or instructional sites like Tuts+.

The How-To video format is one of the most popular ways to teach viewers. It's a clear set of steps to accomplish the task at hand. At the end of the video, the viewer should be able to take the same steps and accomplish what they set out to learn.

The goal of a "how to" video is to give the viewer a set of steps to accomplish a task or learn a new skill.

It can be daunting to teach with video. You might be wondering, "How do I keep my viewers interested?" or thinking, "I'm not YouTube famous, why should someone listen to me?" Both of these are valid questions that we'll tackle in this tutorial.

Let's start with a small example. I really like this simple "How-To" video on peeling avocados: the chefs offer some tips, and then dive into the steps for accomplishing the task at hand.

This tutorial is not so much a discussion on the best camera to use, or how to edit your videos (though, if that's what you're looking for, we have plenty). Instead, we'll focus on how to get your message across to the viewer, and leave them with a new skill. 

Everyone has something to teach! Whether you want to start a YouTube channel with your expertise or simply help a family member with a recorded video, the how-to format is a great choice.

A Classic Example

Painter Bob Ross was a master of the how-to. His videos embodied the idea of giving the viewer a new skill with each and every video.

Bob Ross built an audience and shared his knowledge long before the Internet provided a free publishing platform. While he relied upon PBS carrying him into the homes of viewers, those limitations no longer exist. With a smartphone and sites like YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, or a dozen others, you can teach too.

Build Your Audience's Trust

In the first second of the video, if not the first split-second, the viewer will decide if they trust you as their instructor. It's important to capture their attention quickly and ensure that you're the right person to teach them.

You don't have to be famous to have authority, however. Let's look at three techniques to build the audience's trust. It's not necessary to incorporate all of these, but aim to include at least one of these in the first minute of the video.

Expert Testimony

Even if you aren't an expert, having one appear in your video and providing expert testimony gives instant credibility to your teaching.

 

In David Bode's tutorial above, from the course Makeup Basics for Video, a professional makeup artist shares her expertise. David is a video professional, and knows enough about makeup to share his knowledge. But it's the professional make artist that really builds the viewer's trust immediately and holds their attention.

Concrete Examples

Above all, concrete examples of what the viewer will accomplish will build trust rapidly. I'm much more inclined to watch a video to completion if I know what the outcome will be. Showing the end result first will build trust with the viewer.

The first minute of this video gives a concrete example of what the steps will accomplish. It takes a boring task and makes it worthwhile with an end goal to look forward to.

Speak The Language

Using words correctly establishes your authority as a capable instructor.

Let's say that the viewer is learning something specific about an application, like an advanced feature of an app like Photoshop. To build trust, it will help to use photography and Photoshop-specific terms.

Educators call this "subject-bound terminology," and by that they mean all the jargon, slang, and tech-y words that make sense for people who are immersed in a subject, but might mean nothing (or something completely different) to someone who isn't.

It's important to also explain, when necessary, what those terms mean in plain language so that people who are new to what you're teaching can follow along too.

Alright, now you've got the subject's attention. Now, what do you do with it? Let's plan the rest of our video.

Plan The Video With Subgoals

Teaching with video accommodates viewers with many learning styles. Some viewers will watch the entire video and then try the skill on their own, while others will follow along step-by-step.

Subgoals are the milestones in your how-to video that the viewer can use to check their learning progress. These are particularly useful when you're teaching a longer subject. If the viewer gets lost or stuck while trying to follow along, she can simply rewind to the previous subgoal.

When I write a video, I start by jotting down a rough outline. The outline keeps me on track when writing the video and keeps the student at the forefront of my mind. I think of video planning in three steps:

  • Desired Learning Outcome: What is the overall goal of the video, or what should the user know when they finish watching?
  • Subgoals: the subgoals of the video are checkpoints for the user to make sure that they're still on track in the How-To. 
  • Steps: the individual actions ("click on this menu", "change this setting")that a user takes to progress toward the learning outcome. If the user follows all of the steps, they should end up with basically the same result.

Charles Yeager's tutorial "How to Stabilize Video in After Effects with ReelSteady" is a great example of how to implement subgoals. Even if you're not interested in the skill he's teaching, check out the video below briefly to see his approach.

 

Here are several of the subgoals that Charles uses in the video:

  1. Download and install the ReelSteady software to get started
  2. Make sure you capture footage with a wide angle lens and high shutter speed for best results
  3. Apply the ReelSteady software plugin in AfterEffects
  4. Open and apply one of the plugins from the built-in list
  5. Adjust the settings and features to fit your video

Charles' video is lengthy and is really a full guide to the skill, but it has all of the hallmarks of being a success. It's an important skill for beginner videographers, and the subgoals help the user track success. 

Once you've set your subgoals, it's time to press record. There's nothing special about recording a how-to video, but I do have a favorite technique to share: share your video with a beginner when you're finished for honest, candid feedback. Sometimes, I'm so accustomed to what I'm teaching that I forget the needs of a beginner, and this step helps fix that.

Recap & Keep Learning

The great thing about the how-to video is that the format is very well understood by viewers. However, there's plenty of room for creativity in the execution.

Stick to these three keys when producing your how-to video:

  1. Establish authority early in the video. Give the viewer a reason to trust you; they've trusted you to get the skills they need.
  2. Have a central goal for your how-to video, with a key learning outcome identified. At the end of the video, the user should know exactly what they can achieve.
  3. Set subgoals, or clearly defined milestones, for learning the skill.

Do you teach with the how-to format? If so, how do you make sure that the viewer understands the material? The comments are always a great way to share your knowledge with other Tuts+ readers.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.