7 days of unlimited video, AE, and Premiere Pro templates - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Shooting

كيفية اقتراح وقف لإطلاق النار صور GIF المتحركة

Scroll to top
Read Time: 11 mins

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Aeni Amalia (you can also view the original English article)

تتمتع ملفات GIF بسمعة منخفضة من جبين الحجب من نشرها على مواقع سخيفة في التسعينيات ، ولكن يمكن استخدامها لأغراض أكثر تطوراً. سيعرض ملف GIF إزالة الهدية ، ويمكن استخدامه في إعلان عبر الإنترنت. بعد أن تظهر لك كيفية إعداد تبادل لإطلاق النار والتقاط الصور اللازمة، أحد خبرائنا فوتوشوب المقيمين سوف يعلمك عملية موحية تسلسل الصور إلى GIF.


قبل ان تبدأ

هذا هو جزء من البرنامج التعليمي. بمجرد أن تتعلم كيفية إنشاء صور لـ GIF ، انتقل إلى الجزء الثاني لمعرفة كيفية تحريك كل شيء في Photoshop.


1-ما هو GIF؟

GIF لتقف على "تنسيق تبادل الرسومات". تنسيق ويب ضياع ضغط صورة مبكرة جداً لعرض الرسومات البسيطة. ونظرًا لأن وحدات البكسل ليست سوى ثماني بت من البيانات ، فإن ملفات GIF تعرض فقط ما يصل إلى 256 لونًا ، ويتم حفظها في جدول بحث اللون داخل الملف ، من الطيف اللوني 24 بت و 16.8 مليون لون.

Limited colour palette and clear banding in the GIF export preview windowLimited colour palette and clear banding in the GIF export preview windowLimited colour palette and clear banding in the GIF export preview window
مجموعة ألوان محدودة ونطاقات واضحة في نافذة معاينة تصدير GIF.

من المحتمل أن أكثر خصائصه شعبية هي أنه يمكنه حفظ الصور المتحركة ، واعتبارًا من المراجعة الثانية (GIF89a ، 1989) ، يمكن أيضًا تحديد التأخير في ميلي ثانية بين الإطارات على أساس كل إطار ، بالإضافة إلى أوامر التكرار (تم دعم الشفافية أيضًا) مع هذه المراجعة). يمكن لكل إطار داخل الرسوم المتحركة استخدام جدول ألوان مختلف أيضًا ، لذلك يمكن عرض نطاق أوسع من الألوان على مدار الرسم المتحرك.

لا يكون إيقاع GIF عادة سلسًا. الإيقاع هو إيقاع أو وتيرة الحركة في الإطارات. بعبارة أخرى ، يقفز موضع الأشياء المتحركة في قفزة GIF من إطار إلى آخر ، بدلاً من التحرك بسلاسة كما هو الحال في الفيديو الفعلي.

هذا يرجع إلى انخفاض معدل الإطارات في الثانية. تدعم معظم المتصفحات ما يصل إلى 19 إطارًا في الثانية بالسرعة الكاملة فقط ، وبعد ذلك تعمل على إبطاء الحركة المتحركة إلى أسفل. هذا يميل إلى منحهم جودة متقاربة للغاية ، مثل لقطات الفيلم القديمة المزينة باليد ، مما يزيد من جاذبيتهم البسيطة.


2-ما هو وقف الحركة الرسوم المتحركة؟

يعني تسجيل الصور المتحركة في الوقت الفعلي التقاط إطارات ثابتة من العمل المباشر في نطاق 15-60 إطارًا كل ثانية. يمكن التقاط عالية السرعة وبطيئة الحركة يصل إلى عدة آلاف من الإطارات في الثانية.

يقلب إيقاف الحركة المتحركة هذا رأسًا على عقب ، كونه عملية التقاط سلسلة طويلة من الصور الثابتة عبر أي إطار زمني ، مما يحاكي الحركة الحية عن طريق تحريك الموضوع بمقدار صغير فقط بين الصور المتتالية.

أكثر عمليات التكرار شعبية لها كانت عادة "claymation" ، أو باستخدام نماذج مصغرة من الطين المنحوت بدلاً من الممثلين. تشبه الرسوم المتحركة Cel ، حيث يتم رسم كل إطار فردي على acetate ، قبل تصوير إطار في كل مرة لتصبح الصورة المتحركة. في ذروة، مثل الرسوم المتحركة ديزني التقليدية، cels سيكون قد تم إطلاق النار على فيلم كاميرا قادرة على إطلاق النار إطار واحد في وقت واحد (سمة شعبية للسينمائيين الناشئين على كاميرات Bolex مثل 8 مم).


3. لماذا يجب مصور جعل وقف حركة متحركة؟

في الوقت الحاضر، هو رؤية وقف الحركة أحياء النموذج القصير الإبداعية الفيديو يصبح منفذاً الفنية والتجارية في حد ذاتها. سواء كنت مساعدة الخاص بك أو عميل للعلامات التجارية، ويجري قادرة على إطلاق النار لإخراج GIF تزداد أهمية.

تماما مثل صناعة الأفلام منذ بضع سنوات وتصميم ثلاثي الأبعاد في السنوات القادمة ، من المحتمل أن يكون هذا مهارة ضرورية لإضافتها إلى القائمة من أجل الحفاظ على قدرتها التنافسية. تعمل كل من Vine و Instagram و TwitPic على دعم الفيديو و / أو المحتوى المتحرك ، وتصبح بسرعة منفذًا اجتماعيًا للعلامات التجارية التي تحاول التواصل مع المعجبين بطرق ممتعة وغير عادية.

إلى جانب الفوائد التجارية المحتملة لإيقاف الحركة ، إنها حقًا ممتعة حقًا. يمكنك فعل أي شيء: claymation الكامل ، وجلب أشياء غير حية للحياة في قصة قصيرة ، وفيلم سريع غير مضبوط للفيديو ، وقصص صغيرة خلف الكواليس باستخدام motordrive ، أيا كان ما يمكن التفكير فيه.


4-احتفالية العروض، للمصورين أو عملاء

تعمل صورة إزالة الرسوم المتحركة مثل أنا أفعله كصورة ترويجية احتفالية لاستخدام أي وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية لأي شخص. يمكن حتى تكييفها وتطويلها لإظهار شيء داخل المربع ، إذا كنت ترغب في الترويج لشيء محدد ، مثل كتاب صور للمصورين الفوتوغرافيين. أو ربما يمكن إنشاء نسخة كوميدية باستخدام مربعات متداخلة متعددة داخل المربع ، تكشف عن شيء أصغر بكثير.

انها بسيطة وممتعة ، ومنوم قليلا. انها مثالية للحفاظ على عيون المشاهد حيث تريدهم. إن تقديمه إلى عميل تعتني به بالفعل للتصوير الاجتماعي يمكن أن يكون انقلابًا للغاية ، مما يوفر قيمة تفوق التوقعات.

إذن ، نحن نعرف ما هو ، ولماذا هو جيد ، فكيف تفعل ذلك؟


5. المواد الأساسية

هذا هو إلى حد ما straighforward. من الواضح أنك ستحتاج إلى صندوقك. إذا كان سيتم فتحه ، فتأكد من أنه يبدو لطيفًا بالداخل ، أو استخدم صندوق هدايا حقيقي. إذا كان لعميل، يمكنك استخدام عبواتها الشحن القياسية. ثم ستحتاج إلى ورق التغليف، وبعض نوع من استكمال الشريط رفع القيود. هذا هو!

batchsequence_04batchsequence_04batchsequence_04

لإطلاق النار، ستحتاج إلى سطح قوي عمل التي لن تحصل طرقت بسهولة الخروج من المكان، وإذا كنت تفعل ذلك على خلفية بيضاء مثلى، بعض شكل سلس ورقة بيضاء ويدعم. وهذا لا يحتاج أن يكون الأشياء مكلفة 2.7 متر (9) على نطاق واسع ما لم يكن لديك مربع كبيرة بما يكفي لشخص (فكرة أخرى!)، نصف العرض (1.35m/4.5ft) سلس ورقة رخيصة جداً في فترات قصيرة.

batchsequence_05batchsequence_05batchsequence_05

وبمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك، أنها مجرد كاميرا المعتادة ومعدات الإضاءة. وهذا ما أنا به، لضوء ثابتة إلى حد ما:

Working out how to make this fit together in the space available took a whileWorking out how to make this fit together in the space available took a whileWorking out how to make this fit together in the space available took a while
استغرق العمل على كيفية جعل هذا مناسبًا في المساحة المتوفرة بعض الوقت.

فقط تأكد من أن منصة الكاميرا لديك جيدة وقوية. كل شيء باستثناء الشريط يحتاج إلى أن تبقى في مكان للرسوم المتحركة ، أو قد يكون هناك الكثير من المحاذاة مملة في آخر. في بعض الحالات ، لن يكون من الممكن تصحيح الحركة غير المقصودة بعد حدوثها ، لذلك من الأفضل الحفاظ على كل شيء محجوبًا قدر الإمكان.


6-بناء مجموعة الخاص بك

ولأنني أقوم بذلك من موضع ثابت على خلفية بيضاء سلسة ، فليس هناك الكثير من الخطوات التي يجب القيام بها. إذا كنت ستفعل GIF أكثر تقدمًا ، مع تسحب الحركة أو التركيز أو أي شيء من هذا القبيل ، أو إذا كنت تفعل شيئًا مع سرد أكثر ، فستكون مجموعة "حقيقية" مفيدة.

لقد ملأت الصندوق بـ 18 باوند من أوزان الصب ، لضمان عدم تحركها إذا كان الشريط المصنوع من كريب يمسك بها.

batchsequence_07batchsequence_07batchsequence_07

مرة واحدة لقد قمت بتسجيل هذه في الداخل ، وأنا يمكن أن يلفها.

batchsequence_08batchsequence_08batchsequence_08

إن طاولة غرفة الطعام المصنوعة من الحديد المطاوع هي سطح صلب إلى حد ما ، حيث أقوم بإعداد الخلفية ، والضوء ، والعاكس ، والكاميرا. أنا باستخدام ضوء واحد فقط، اينشتاين، في وضع الألوان لضمان اتساق الإطار إلى الإطار. إذا كنت تستخدم أحد speedlight، تحتاج إلى التأكد من أن تتيح لك فلاش الخاصة بك تماما إعادة شحن مكثف ما بين الإطارات.

batchsequence_09batchsequence_09batchsequence_09

هو الإضافة الوحيدة التي أجريتها على "مجموعة" لإضافة أربعة قبعات الجسم تحت زوايا مربع التي سوف اسمحوا لي أن سحب الشريط حول أسفل دون تحريك مربع كامل.

Very glad I thought of this beforehand and not afterwardVery glad I thought of this beforehand and not afterwardVery glad I thought of this beforehand and not afterward
سعيد جدا فكرت في هذا مسبقا وليس بعد البدء.

إعدادات الكاميرا

مثل إطلاق النار الفاصل الزمني أو بانورامية، كنت تريد أن تبقى كل صورة متسقة قدر الإمكان. كنت بحاجة إلى انعكاس الكاميرا على الوضع اليدوي. اختيار سرعة مصراع الخاص بك، والفتحة ISO، وإبقائهم على تأمين خلال تبادل لإطلاق النار. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى تأمين تركيزك. يمكنك استخدام التركيز اليدوي ، أو تأكد فقط من أن الإعداد لا يسمح للكاميرا بإعادة التركيز بين اللقطات.

وأخيرًا ، ستحتاج إلى توازن أبيض ثابت. أقترح عليك اختيار درجة حرارة لون يدوية لمطابقة ومضاتك. ومع ذلك ، فإن إجراء توازن أبيض محدد مسبقًا سيعمل أيضًا.


7-الإيقاع وإطلاق النار

أستخدم ميزة التشغيل اللاسلكي نظرًا لأنه يمكنني استخدام أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال نفسها لتشغيل الكاميرا عن بُعد أيضًا. كل ما أتناوله هو الشريط عندما أتحرك بين الإطارات.

أنا تهدف إلى معدل الإطار النهائي حوالي 17fps. لتستمر لمدة أربع ثوانٍ ، نصفها يتحول إلى عرض عكسي لإطار البدء من أجل حلقات متقنة ، أتطلع إلى تصوير حوالي 35 إطارًا.

batchsequence_11batchsequence_11batchsequence_11

قبل البدء ، لا بد لي من كسر هذه الأطر 35 إلى أقسام من العمل وتحديد مدة يجب أن يكون كل قسم. في هذا المثال ، سيكون "untying" ، "ينتهي" ، looping تحت "،" twisting "،" pulling away "، و" ترك الإطار ".

هذا هو ستة أقسام ، ولكنها قد لا تتحلل إلى ستة إطارات في كل قسم. قد يكون بعضها سريعًا جدًا ، مثل "ينتهي" ، وبعضها قد يكون أبطأ بخطوات وسيطة ، مثل "untying". يحدد عدد الإطارات لكل قسم من هذه الأقسام سرعة الحركة ، أو إلى أي مدى يمكنني تحريك الشريط بين الإطارات. يجب أن تكون موحدة إلى حد ما من أجل الحفاظ على إيقاع سلس.

أنا أخطط بعناية بحيث يمكن أن نأمل في الخروج في لقطة واحدة ، دون الحاجة إلى إعادة تعيين. سيكون ذلك بمثابة مشقة في مشروع مثل هذا ، وأكثر من ذلك مع الورق المتجعد والأوزان الثقيلة المتداولة.

ومع ذلك ، بدلاً من محاولة جعله مثاليًا داخل الكاميرا لمجرد عرض توضيحي ، سأقوم بتطبيق الأقسام الواردة أعلاه في المشاركة. العمل الفعلي سيكون أبطأ وأكثر منهجية، يتحرك شبر واحد لكل إطار، وثم يمكن أن تسرع أجزاء بإسقاط الإطارات حسب الضرورة. يبدو أن هذا أسلوب أكثر موثوقية، إذا كان العمل قليلاً إضافية.

والآن حان الوقت للبدء في إطلاق النار، لذلك دعونا التقاط لدينا الإطار الأول.

batchsequence_12batchsequence_12batchsequence_12

لقد بدأت بفواصل زمنية لحوالي بوصة واحدة ، لذلك لم يكن الإطار الثاني مختلفًا.

batchsequence_13batchsequence_13batchsequence_13

واصلت على هذا الطريق حتى تم فك القوس تماما وكنت في الدخول إلى الشريط الفعلي. هنا كانت تسير ببطء شديد بسبب طول الشريط ، لذلك بدأت في تحريكه حوالي ثلاث بوصات بين الإطارات. يبدو أن هذا يتقدم بشكل أكثر سلاسة ، حتى أن الالتفاف تحت الطرد قطع بسبب الاحتكاك بين الأطراف الهشة من الشريط المجعد. في ما يلي نصيحة احترافية: استخدم الشريط الحقيقي إذا كنت تكرر هذا المشروع.

اعتقدت أن هذا قد يكون قاطع صفقة ، لكنه استمر لبقية الأمور حتى كان الشريط خارج الإطار تمامًا. اتضح أنها لم تدمر أي شيء. الآن لدي تسلسل من صور RAW ، ماذا بعد؟


8. معالجة المجموعة

نظراً لأننا بحاجة إلى الاحتفاظ بكافة الصور متطابقة قدر الإمكان، الحل لتجهيز وتصدير عدد كبير من الملفات بنفس الطريقة بالضبط إلى نفس المكان، بطبيعة الحال، تجهيز الدفعات. بالنسبة لي، وهذا يتكون من ثلاث خطوات متميزة.

عملية

قم بمعالجة الصورة الأولى في التسلسل في Camera Raw أو Lightroom. بالنسبة لي ، كان ذلك يضمن أن التباين كان كافياً وأن مستويات التشبع ، خاصة في القناة الحمراء ، كانت تحت السيطرة.

batchsequence_14batchsequence_14batchsequence_14

تصحيح تلقائي لانس قليلاً وأبيض خفيف التظليل لإحضار الخلفية، وأنا فعلت. حيث أنني في Camera Raw ولا حاجة لإحضار الصورة في Photoshop السليم، يمكن فقط ضرب عمله.

جسر

الآن أنا بحاجة لتكرار كافة هذه الإعدادات تجهيز بقية التسلسل. حتى أنا إطلاق النار حتى Adobe Bridge، انقر على الحق في الصورة التي كنت قد جهزت فقط، وحدد إعدادات وضع > "إعدادات النسخ".

batchsequence_15batchsequence_15batchsequence_15

يمكن ثم حدد جميع الصور الأخرى في المجلد (باستثناء أول واحد)، ثم اذهب إلى "إعدادات وضع" وضرب "لصق الإعدادات".

batchsequence_16batchsequence_16batchsequence_16

المنظمة هي المفتاح لمعالجة السلس للملفات الأكبر. في Adobe Bridge، يمكن بسرعة دفعة إعادة تسمية الصور، حيث أنه من الأسهل لمعرفة ما يجري أثناء الحركة من، ويقول، "_MG_5937". لذا ، أبرز كل الصور ، وانتقل إلى أدوات> إعادة تسمية الدُفعة ، وأعد أسماء الملفات الجديدة ومجلدًا لإدخالها. استخدمت بناء جملة "Frame_XX.CR2" بسيطة.

البرمجة

بعد ذلك أحتاج إلى Photoshop لفتح CR2s ، وتحويل ملفات تعريف الألوان وأعماق البت من الإعدادات الافتراضية المعتادة ، وتغيير حجمها قبل إخراجها كملفات JPG. هذا بسيط للغاية مع إجراء مخصص ومعالج الصور.

أولاً إنشاء عملي. فتح أحد الإطارات بشكل عشوائي، وثم انتقل إلى "لوح الإجراءات"، إنشاء إجراء جديد وقياسيا. أولاً، اذهب إلى تحرير > تحويل الشخصية وإعداد تحويل من AdobeRGB، التي عادة ما تبادل لإطلاق النار وعملية، إلى sRGB، مساحة اللون الافتراضي من JPG.

ثم اذهب إلى الصورة > استيراد صيغة > 8 بت/قناة، الذي يحوله من 16 بت الخام إلى لون 8 بت JPG. بعد ذلك ، قمت بالضغط على Ctrl-Alt-I لتغيير الحجم ، ولهذا سأقوم بتغيير حجمه إلى 600 × 400 بكسل ، لأوقات تحميل سريعة بشكل معقول من GIF النهائي. ثم ضرب ضرب في لوحة الإجراءات.

batchsequence_17batchsequence_17batchsequence_17

الآن لديّ عملي ، أغلق الملف بدون حفظ واذهب إلى File> Scripts> Image Processor. هنا أقوم بتعيينها لفتح ملفات CR2 ، وإخراجها كملفات JPG بنوعية 10 إلى مجلد فرعي داخل المجلد الموجود بها حاليًا. في الجزء السفلي أسفل التفضيلات ، أحصل على تشغيل الإجراء المخصص الذي أنشأته للتو ، ثم ضربت "تشغيل" فقط.

batchsequence_18batchsequence_18batchsequence_18

9-النتائج

بمجرد أن يقوم معالج الصور بأشياءه ، لدي مجلد مليء بصور JPG المجهزة والتي تم تغيير حجمها والتي يمكن استخدامها في الرسوم المتحركة النهائية.

batchsequence_19batchsequence_19batchsequence_19

يمكنني التحقق بسرعة من المظهر العام لهم بمجرد معاينة الإطار الأول في Adobe Bridge ، مع الاحتفاظ بالسهم الأيمن للتنقل خلالها.


10. إنشاء الصورة المتحركة GIF

هذا كل ما عندي! لمعرفة كيفية وضع كل صورك معًا وإنشاء ملف GIF ، انتقل إلى الجزء الثاني من هذه المقالة ، كيفية إنشاء صورة GIF متحركة مستوحاة من الإجازات باستخدام Stop Motion Photography.

إذا كنت تجعل وسائل الإعلام اجتماعية متحركة "بطاقة" موسم الأعياد هذا، يرجى حصة في التعليقات حتى يمكننا جميعا أن الهم!

وكما هو الحال دائماً، أسئلة أو الأفكار؟ ضرب التعليقات أدناه!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Photo & Video tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Shooting
Photography

How to Shoot Images for a Stop Motion Animated GIF

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

GIFs have a bit of a low brow reputation from being deployed on silly websites in the 90s, but they can be used for more sophisticated purposes. Our GIF will show the unwrapping of a gift, and could be used in an online ad. After I show you how to set up the shoot and capture the necessary images, one of our resident Photoshop experts will teach you the process of animating the image sequence into a GIF.


Before You Begin

This is a two part tutorial. Once you've learned how to make images for a GIF, head over to part two to learn how to animate everything in Photoshop.


1. What is a GIF?

GIF stands for Graphics Interchange Format. It's a very early lossless-compressed web image format for displaying simple graphics. As the pixels are only eight bits of data, GIFs display only up to 256 colours, saved into a colour lookup table within the file, from the 24-bit, 16.8 million colour spectrum.

Limited colour palette and clear banding in the GIF export preview window
Limited colour palette and clear banding in the GIF export preview window.

Probably its most popular property is that it can save animations, and as of the second revision (GIF89a, 1989) the delay in milliseconds between frames could also be designated on a per-frame basis, as well as looping commands (transparency was also supported with this revision). Each frame within the animation can use a different colour table too, so a wider spectrum of colours can be displayed over the course of an animation.

The cadence of GIFs usually isn't very smooth. Cadence is the rhythm or pace of movement in the frames. In other words, the position of moving objects in a GIF jump from one frame to the next, instead of moving smoothly like they would in actual video.

This is due to the low frames per second rate. Most browsers support only up to 19 frames per second at full speed, after which they slow the animation down. This tends to give them an endearingly jerky quality, like old hand-cranked film footage, adding to their simplistic appeal.


2. What Is Stop Motion Animation?

Recording moving images in real time means capturing still frames of live action in the range of 15-60 frames every second. High-speed, slow-motion capture can go up to several thousand frames per second.

Stop motion animation flips this on its head, being the process of taking a long series of still images over any time frame, simulating live action by moving the subject just a small amount between successive photographs.

Its most popular iteration has generally been "claymation," or using miniature sculpted clay models in place of actors. Cel animation is similar, where each individual frame is hand-painted on acetate, before being photographed a frame at a time to become the motion picture. In its heyday, like the traditional Disney animations, the cels would have been shot on a film camera capable of shooting a single frame at a time (a popular feature for budding filmmakers on 8mm Bolex-like cameras).


3. Why Should a Photographer Make Stop Motion GIFs?

Nowadays, stop motion is seeing a revival as short-form creative video becomes an artistic and commercial outlet in its own right. Whether you're helping your own or a client's branding, being able to shoot for GIF output is becoming increasingly relevant.

Just like filmmaking a few years ago and 3D design in the coming years, it's likely that this will be a necessary skill to add to the roster in order to stay competitive. Vine, Instagram and TwitPic all support video and/or animated content, and are rapidly becoming the social outlet du jour for brands trying to connect with fans in fun and unusual ways.


An example of creative stop motion by markitube94. See more of his work at www.cool-dose.com.

Besides the potential commercial benefits of stop motion, it's actually really fun. You can do anything: full-on claymation, bringing inanimate objects to life in a short story, a quick humourous unboxing video, little behind-the-scenes snippets using motordrive, whatever you can think of.


4.  Festive Promo, for Photographers or Clients

A gift unwrapping animation like I'm doing works as a festive promotional image for anyone's social media use. It could even be adapted and lengthened to show something inside the box, if you wanted to promote a specific thing, say a photo book for wedding photographers. Or perhaps a comedic version could be created with multiple nested boxes inside the box, revealing something much smaller.

It's simple, fun, and slightly hypnotic. It's perfect for keeping viewer's eyes where you want them. Offering it to a client you're already working with for social holiday imaging could be quite a coup, offering value exceeding expectations.

So, we know what it is and why it's good, so how do you do it?


5. Base Materials

This is fairly straighforward. Obviously you'll need your box. If it's to be opened, make sure it looks nice inside, or use an actual gift box. If it's for a client, you could use their standard shipping packaging. Then you'll need wrapping paper, and some kind of complementing ribbon to untie. That's it!

batchsequence_04

For shooting, you'll need a sturdy work surface that won't get easily knocked out of place, and if you're doing it against a white background like me, some form of white seamless paper and supports. This doesn't need to be the expensive 2.7m (9ft) wide stuff unless your box is big enough for a person (another idea!), half width (1.35m/4.5ft) seamless paper is pretty cheap in short lengths.

batchsequence_05

Once you have that, it's just the usual camera and lighting gear. This is what I'm using, for a fairly flat light:

Working out how to make this fit together in the space available took a while
Working out how to make this fit together in the space available took a while.

Just make sure your camera platform is good and sturdy. Everything except the ribbon needs to be kept in place for the animation, or there may be a lot of tedious alignment in post. In some cases it won't be possible to correct unintentional movement after the fact, so it's best to keep everything as locked down as possible.


6. Build Your Set

Because I'm just doing this from a fixed position on a white seamless backdrop, there isn't really much in the way of set-building to do. If you were to do a more advanced GIF, with motion or focus pulls or anything like that, or if you're doing something with more narrative, then a "real" set would be useful.

I've filled the box with 18lb of cast weights, to ensure it doesn't move if the crepe ribbon catches on it.

batchsequence_07

Once I've taped these inside, I can wrap it up.

batchsequence_08

My wrought iron dining room table is a fairly solid surface, around which I set up my backdrop, light, reflector and camera. I'm using just one light, an Einstein, on colour mode to ensure frame-to-frame consistency. If you use a speedlight, you need to make sure you let your flash fully recharge its capacitor between frames.

batchsequence_09

The only addition I've made to the "set" is to add four body caps under the corners of the box, which will allow me to pull the ribbon around underneath without moving the whole box.

Very glad I thought of this beforehand and not afterward
Very glad I thought of this beforehand and not after starting.

Camera Settings

Much like shooting a time lapse or panoramic, you want to keep each photo as consistent as possible. You need to flip your camera to manual mode. Pick your aperture, shutter speed and ISO, and keep them locked down throughout the shoot. You'll also want to lock down your focus. You can use manual focus, or just make sure your setting doesn't allow the camera to refocus between shots.

Finally, you'll want a consistent white balance. I'm suggest picking a manual colour temperature to match your flashes. However, doing a preset white balance would also work.


7. Cadence and Shooting

I'm using wireless triggering because I can use the same transceivers to remote-trigger the camera as well. All I'm touching is the ribbon as I move it between frames.

I'm aiming for a final frame rate of about 17fps. For it to last around four seconds, with half of it being a reverse-playback to its starting frame for smooth looping, I'm looking at shooting about 35 frames.

batchsequence_11

Before starting, I have to break these 35 frames down into sections of action and determine how long each section should be. For this example, they would be "untying", "ends out", looping under", "twisting", "pulling away", and "leaving the frame".

This is six sections, but they may not break down into an even six frames per section. Some might be quite fast, like "ends out", and some may be slower with intermediate steps, like "untying". How many frames each of these sections lasts determines the speed of motion, or how far I should move the ribbon between frames. It needs to be fairly uniform in order to maintain a smooth cadence.

I'm planning carefully so that it can hopefully go off in a single take, without having to reset. That would be a hassle on a project like this, even more so with crinkly paper and heavy weights rolling around.

That said, instead of trying to get it perfect in-camera just for a demo, I'm going to apply the above sections in post. The actual action will be slower and more methodical, moving around an inch per frame, and then parts can be sped up by dropping frames as necessary. This seems to be a more reliable method, if a little extra work.

Now it's time to start shooting, so let's capture our first frame.

batchsequence_12

I started at about one inch movement intervals, so the second frame wasn't too different.

batchsequence_13

I continued this way until the bow was completely untied and I was getting into the actual ribbon. Here it was going very slowly due to the length of the ribbon, so I started moving it around three inches between frames. This seemed to progress much more smoothly, until the twist underneath the parcel snapped due to the friction between the fragile ends of the crepe ribbon. Here's a pro tip: use real ribbon if you're duplicating this project.

I thought this might be a deal-breaker, but continued for the rest of the take until the ribbon was completely out of frame. It turns out that it didn't ruin anything. Now that I have a sequence of RAW images, what next?


8. Batch Processing

Since we need to keep all of the images as identical as possible, the solution to processing and exporting a large number of files in exactly the same way to the same place is, of course, batch processing. For me, this consists of three distinct steps.

Process

Process the first image in the sequence in Camera Raw or Lightroom. For me, that was ensuring the contrast was sufficient and saturation levels, particularly in the red channel, were under control.

batchsequence_14

A little auto lens correction and mild white vignetting to bring up the background, and I'm done. Since I'm in Camera Raw and don't need to bring the image into Photoshop proper, I can just hit Done.

Bridge

Now I need to duplicate all of these processing settings to the rest of the sequence. So I fire up Adobe Bridge, right click on the image that I've just processed, and select Develop Settings > Copy Settings.

batchsequence_15

I can then select all the other images in the folder (except for the first one), then go to Develop Settings and hit Paste Settings.

batchsequence_16

Organisation is the key to smooth processing of bulk files. In Adobe Bridge, I can quickly batch rename the images, so it's easier to see what's going on during animation than with, say, "_MG_5937". So I highlight all the images, go to Tools > Batch Rename, and set up the new filenames and a folder for them to go into. I used a simple "Frame_XX.CR2" syntax.

Scripting

Next I need Photoshop to open those CR2s, convert their colour profiles and bit depths from my usual defaults, and resize them before outputting as JPGs. This is quite simple with a custom action and the Image Processor.

First I create my action. I open one of the frames at random, and then go to the Actions Palette, create a new action and hit Record. First, I go to Edit > Convert to Profile and set up a conversion from AdobeRGB, which I usually shoot and process in, to sRGB, the default colour space of JPG.

Then I go to Image > Mode > 8 Bits/Channel, which converts it from a 16 bit RAW import to the 8 bit colour of JPG. Then I hit Ctrl-Alt-I to resize, and for this I'm going to resize to 600 x 400 pixels, for reasonably quick load times of the final GIF. Then I hit stop in the actions palette.

batchsequence_17

Now I have my action, I close the file without saving and go to File > Scripts > Image Processor. Here I set it to open the CR2 files, and output them as JPGs at 10 quality to a subfolder within the folder they're currently in. At the bottom under preferences, I get it to run the custom action I just created, and then I just hit Run.

batchsequence_18

9. Final Results

Once image processor has done its thing, I have a folder full of processed, resized JPGs that can be used for the final animation.

batchsequence_19

I can quickly check the general look of them by simply previewing the first frame in Adobe Bridge, and holding the right arrow to fly through them.


10. Creating the Animated GIF

That's all from me! To learn how to put all your photos together and create the GIF file, head over to the second part of this article, How to Create a Holiday-Inspired Animated GIF Using Stop Motion Photography.

If you do make an animated social media "card" this holiday season, please share it in the comments so we can all be inspired!

And, as always, questions or thoughts? Hit up the comments below!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.