7 days of unlimited video, AE, and Premiere Pro templates - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Photography

How to Sync Photos From Lightroom Mobile to Lightroom Classic for Editing

Scroll to top

Lightroom Mobile has a fantastic array of editing options, but if you want to get into the nitty gritty and do a more comprehensive edit, or you simply prefer editing on a bigger screen than your phone, syncing your images in the Lightroom ecosystem is the way to go.

In this tutorial, you’ll learn how to sync your images across all Lightroom apps so that no matter what device you're on or what Lightroom app you're using, you have access to the same library of images. Check out how easy it is to sync your raw photos, and read the steps that follow. With just a few finger taps, you’ll relish how efficiently you can switch from mobile phone to iPad to desktop and back again, without ever having to reload or transfer images. It will save you time and the major headaches of archive disorganization.

How to Sync Raw Photos From Lightroom Mobile to Lightroom Classic for Editing

The Basics

Adobe renamed its past Lightroom application to Lightroom Classic. Optimized for desktop workflows, it saves your images to a local hard drive on your computer. In order to sync images between Lightroom Mobile and Lightroom Classic, you need to purchase an Adobe Creative Cloud Photography plan, which provides you with the cloud storage access you need to transfer images between devices.

Creative Cloud plans and pricing for individuals vary from $9.99/month to $19.99/month and come packaged with other perks, apps, and GBs of cloud storage. (Businesses, students & teachers, and schools & universities are offered other plans and pricing.) You can also try it out by activating a free seven-day trial.

1. Open Lightroom Classic and Activate the Sync Feature

First, open Lightroom Classic. Click on the Cloud icon in the upper right and tap Start Syncing.

open Lightroom Classicopen Lightroom Classicopen Lightroom Classic

2. Receive a Notification That Syncing Is Complete

When the syncing is complete, a green checkmark and Synced is displayed. It may take a moment to complete the syncing process, depending on how many images are being synced. Syncing will now happen automatically whenever you open Lightroom Classic.

syncing completesyncing completesyncing complete

3. Open Lightroom Mobile and Start Syncing

Open Lightroom Mobile.

Open Lightroom Mobile.Open Lightroom Mobile.Open Lightroom Mobile.

Then go to your Library and find the image or images you want to sync. If you want to sync all of the images in a given folder, click on the Cloud icon.

click on the cloud icon.click on the cloud icon.click on the cloud icon.

If you want to sync just one image, select it and click on the Cloud icon on the upper right with the green arrow.

 sync just one image sync just one image sync just one image

An uploading-in-process notification is displayed.

uploading-in-process notificationuploading-in-process notificationuploading-in-process notification

Once syncing is complete, a green checkmark icon appears next to the cloud icon.

syncing is completesyncing is completesyncing is complete

Incidentally, to access your sync settings, click on the Settings icon after syncing or up at the top.

 click on the Settings icon click on the Settings icon click on the Settings icon

Doing so gives you a bunch of options to tailor your Cloud Storage & Sync settings to your liking. 

Cloud Storage & Sync settingsCloud Storage & Sync settingsCloud Storage & Sync settings

4. Open Lightroom Classic

To edit the images you synced in Lightroom Mobile, open Lightroom Classic. Select Library at the top, and under Catalog, select All Synced Photographs. Depending on your internet connection, it might take a moment for the image or images you synced in Lightroom Mobile to appear in Lightroom Classic.

All Synced Photographs in Lightroom ClassicAll Synced Photographs in Lightroom ClassicAll Synced Photographs in Lightroom Classic

5. Edit in Lightroom Classic

Select Develop at the top and edit to your heart’s content!

Edit in Lightroom ClassicEdit in Lightroom ClassicEdit in Lightroom Classic

6. The Edited Image Is Saved

Select Library, and your edited image will be in view.

Edited Image Is SavedEdited Image Is SavedEdited Image Is Saved

7. Syncing Is Automatic

Your edited image will automatically be synced throughout the Lightroom ecosystem, including Lightroom Mobile.

automatic syncing in lightroomautomatic syncing in lightroomautomatic syncing in lightroom

Enjoy Syncing Images Across Devices

The device you use to make a photo may very well differ from the device you use to edit it. Or you might be traveling and without a device. Forget the antiquated, time-intensive ways of the past using clumsy transfer processes. Syncing all your devices so that each one remains up-to-date and uniform will keep you organized and, best of all, bestow you with more time to do what you love: photograph!

Keep Learning About Lightroom and Photography

Here are a few more free tutorials and resources to help you study Lightroom and smartphone photography:

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Photo & Video tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.