Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Camera Selection
Photography

الحد الأدنى من Viable الكاميرا: كيفية الحصول على ما يكفي من مجموعة كاملة من الإطار الرقمي كافية للحصول على أقل

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Rahmat Hidayat (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

ما الذي يجعل الكاميرا جيدة؟ ليست رائعة ، ليست الأفضل ، ولكنها أداة جيدة وموثوقة وذات جودة ممتعة وسهلة الاستخدام. هنالك العديد من الأجوبة لهذا السؤال. ما أعنيه بكاميرا قابلة للحياة هو أنه يحتاج إلى "مجرد العمل" دون ضجة ، لفترة طويلة.

لا تحتاج إلى كاميرا أحدث وأكبر لإنشاء صور رائعة أو العمل كمصور. المصور هو أكثر بكثير من الكاميرا أو معداتهم! بصفتك مصورًا ، ستجلب خبرتك ومعرفتك وصوتك الفريد لأي مشروع تلمسه. هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف تساعدك على تقييم احتياجاتك كمصور وتظهر لك كيفية العثور على الأقل كلفة، بعد عالية قادرة على البقاء، الكاميرا لتناسب احتياجاتك.

دع الكاميرا الخاصة بك تكون أداة لصنع الصور

أنه من السهل جداً أن ننشغل في الذروة منتجات التصوير الجديدة التي يتم إضافتها باستمرار إلى السوق. نحن المصورين يهتمون اهتماما عميقا لدينا أدوات، ومن الطبيعي أن يكون متحمس بإمكانات جديدة. يعني ذلك الاهتمام أيضًا أن هناك الكثير من الأنا ، وربما بعض الخوف ، يتم تغليفه في أدوات شراء. لا يجب أن تكون على هذا النحو.

استثمر في نفسك بدلاً من ذلك

لست بحاجة إلى امتلاك أحدث كل شيء (أو حتى أحدث شيء) ليكون مصورًا جيدًا. يقول بعض الناس إنهم يشعرون بعدم كفاية عندما لا يكون لديهم أحدث الأجهزة ، ولكن بأمانة تامة ، إذا كان هناك شيء واحد تعلمته أن التقنية الجيدة والعمل الشاق والتجريب سيأخذك إلى أبعد من أي شيء تم اطلاق سراح الكاميرا للتو.

أنفاق أقل على الكاميرا الخاصة بك يمكن أن تساعدك على زيادة الاستثمار في التنمية الإبداعية والمهنية الخاصة بك.

استثمر في عملك بدلا من ذلك

إذا كنت تعمل في مجال التصوير الفوتوغرافي ، فإن الحفاظ على مستوى منخفض من خلال استخدام الحد الأدنى من الكاميرات القابلة للحياة يمكن أن يكون مساعدة كبيرة في الحفاظ على الأعمال التجارية مربحة. قد يعني ذلك إما شراء كاميرا أقل تكلفة أو استخدام الكاميرا الجديدة أو استخدام الكاميرا الجديدة حتى تصبح غير قابلة للتطبيق.

شراء كاميرا جديدة كل مرة واحدة يتم تحريرها ويمكنك وضع الضغوط المالية لا لزوم لها على الأعمال تجارية.

الاستثمار في الرؤية الخاصة بك

تعتبر الكاميرا والعدسة الجيدة مهمة جدًا لأنها الأداة التي تساعدك على تحقيق رؤيتك. إن العثور على كاميرا جيدة لا يعني بالضرورة أن الكاميرا التي تحتوي على أكبر عدد من الميجابكسل أو أسرع معدل إطارات أو أسرع تركيز تلقائي. العثور على الكاميرا قابلة للحياة الدنيا تأتي من المزيج من تقييما ذاتيا صادقا لاحتياجاتك كمصور وبعض مشورة الخبراء.

An original Canon 5D is makes a viable camera for most photographers
قبل تشارلز لانتين-العمل الخاصة، نسخة 3.0 حسب س، عبر ويكيميديا كومنز.

تقييم احتياجاتك الفوتوغرافية

اختر العتاد الذي يناسب ما كنت سوف تفعل أكثر من المرة. ما هي الحالات سيتم إطلاق النار في؟ اختر الترس الذي يناسب ما ستفعله في معظم الأوقات. ما المواقف التي سوف تطلق النار عليها؟ هل سيتم تصوير الأحداث الرياضية أو الحياة الساكنة أو المناظر الطبيعية أو الصور الشخصية؟ لا يمكن أبدًا استخدام الميزات الحيوية لنوع واحد من أنواع التصوير الفوتوغرافي في جهاز آخر.

كم سيكون الضوء متاحًا عند العمل؟ هل ستتمكن من التحكم في الضوء أو إضافة الضوء؟ أو سيكون لديك للعمل فقط مع الضوء ما هو هناك؟ كمية الضوء التي تتوقعها لإطلاق النار في سوف تساعدك على تحديد العدسة والجسم الكاميرا الخاصة بك.

إذا كنت لا تعرف حتى الآن ما الذي ستطلقه في معظم الوقت ، فابحث عن منتصف الطريق وأضف معدات متخصصة حسب حاجتك. تذكر أنه يمكنك دائمًا استئجار أو استعارة ما لا تملكه.

عدد وحدات البكسل تحتاج حقاً؟

ربما أقل مما تظن. تحاول كبرى شركات الكاميرات بشكل متواصل البحث عن بعضها البعض بتعداد وحدات البكسل ، ولكن معظم الوقت سيتم عرض الصور الخاصة بك بأقل بكثير من الدقة الكاملة. جيدة تحتاج إلى فهم من أين ستظهر الصور الخاصة بك وعلى حجم ما سيساعد يمكنك معرفة كم ميغابكسل.

أعتقد اعتقادا راسخا أن 12 ميغابكسل كافية للكاميرا. يمكنك الطباعة في مجلة أو إنشاء طباعة بحجم لائق للجدار ، وكثير من الصور الفوتوغرافية على الويب أو لقطات فيديو.

وماذا عن مطبوعات كبيرة؟

يمكنك تكبير صورتك في برامج تحرير مثل Adobe Photoshop لإنشاء مطبوعات أكبر. لقد رأيت مطبوعات ممتازة مقاس 20x30 بوصة مصنوعة من كاميرا بدقة 8 ميجابيكسل. ليس من المثالي أن تقوم بتكبير الصورة ، لكن هذا الأسلوب يعمل بشكل جيد خاصة إذا كنت تبدأ بصورة حادة مكشوفة بشكل جيد وذات ضجيج قليل.

العدسات أكثر أهمية من الكاميرات

اختر الزجاج الخاص بك أولا. تقوم العدسة بتشكيل الصورة على جهاز الاستشعار ، وإذا لم تكن هذه الصورة في أفضل حالاتها ، فلا يمكن لأي مستشعر أن يجعلها أفضل.

ستحدد النوع من التصوير يمكنك القيام بأي نوع من العدسة سوف تحتاج. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عدسة جيدة تمكنك من الحصول على أقصى استفادة من جميع الكاميرات الخاصة بك. عدسات آخر منذ وقت طويل، وأن يتيح مزيدا من الوقت نرى عودة على الاستثمار.

فتحة

شيء واحد للنظر هو الفتحة القصوى المتاحة على عدسة. أصغر رقم وو، سيتم تمرير المزيد من الضوء من خلال العدسة. يسمح الكثير من الضوء بالمرور عبر فتحه كحد أقصى من f/1.4 وتمكنك من ناحية عقد الكاميرا في ضوء انخفاض حالات. تؤثر فتحة العدسة أيضًا على عمق المجال ، ويحدد شكل الشفرات الكيفية التي تظهر بها مناطق التركيز خارج الصورة.

عدسة الوزراء، أو تكبير؟

يمكن لعدسة تكبير واحدة ذات نطاق متواضع تبلغ 24-70 ملم أن تغطي الكثير من احتياجاتك الفوتوغرافية. مع العدسات "البؤرية" الثابتة البؤري قد تحتاج إلى عدستين أو ثلاث عدسات لتغطية نطاق مشابه.

رئيس العدسات هي أقل تكلفة من الأزيز وغالباً ما يكون البصريات رائع. لتغيير حقل الرؤية، لديك لتغيير الموقف الخاص بك أو تبديل العدسات. تتيح لك العدسات الزووم تغيير البعد البؤري ومعه ، مجال الرؤية دون إعادة وضع الكاميرا. ومع ذلك ، فإن العدسات التكبير جيدة حقا باهظة الثمن.

جديدة أو مستعملة؟

العدسات المستخدمة تقدم نفس الجودة البصرية بأسعار مخفضة. إذا كنت تستطيع تحمل عدسة جديدة ، عظيم! بكل الوسائل تذهب إليه ، خاصة إذا كنت لا تستطيع العثور على عدسة مملوكة مسبقًا قابلة للمقارنة. العدسات هي دائمة وأجزاء متحركة قليلة حتى أنها تدوم مدى حياة. تنظر أيضا في العدسات طرف ثالث الحالية، لا سيما خط "سيغما الفن" وبعض العدسات Tamron أفضل، لأنها قابلة للمقارنة لم تكن مساوية للنماذج في نفس العلامة التجارية.

العدسات المتخصصة

تتطلب بعض أنواع التصوير العدسات المتخصصة. يتطلب التصوير الماكرو عدسة ماكرو. للتصوير الفوتوغرافي المعماري ، ضع في اعتبارك عدسة إمالة للنوبة لتصحيح المنظور في الصورة. فهي غالية الثمن ولكنها تقدم بصريات رائعة.

A fine example of vintage Nikon manual-focus lens
طريق هييوتادا (العمل الخاصة) [CC0]، عن طريق ويكيميديا كومنز

لا تستعرض التركيز اليدوي!

للبصريات كبيرة، تنظر في عدسة تركيز اليدوي، وتستخدم. يمكنك العثور على الكثير من العدسات ممتازة، وكبار السن من نيكون، كانون، بنتاكس، أوليمبوس، زايس وغيرهم من صناع. للحصول على زجاج أرفع ، تحقق من عدسات التركيز اليدوية الجديدة من Voigtlander ، والتي تتمتع بسمعة ممتازة. التركيز اليدوي صالحة للاستخدام في مجموعة من الحالات، فإنه يأخذ فقط بعض الممارسة. إذا كنت إطلاق النار المناظر الطبيعية أو المعمارية أو ماكرو، لا يهم ضبط تلقائي للصورة على الإطلاق.

تكييف العدسة الخاصة بك

محولات عدسة تسمح لك باستخدام عدسة من نوع التحميل الشركة المصنعة مختلفة على الكاميرا الخاصة بك. على سبيل المثال، يمكنك استخدام محول الذي يتصاعد عدسة نيكون على الجسم EOS الكنسي. هذه طريقة رائعة لاستخدام أفضل عدسة المتاحة على الكاميرا الخاصة بك.

على الرغم من تحذيرك ، فإنه يأتي مع بعض العيوب. لا تسمح معظم المحولات للعدسة بالاتصال بجسم الكاميرا ، لذلك لن تعمل وظيفة التركيز التلقائي ولن تعمل الفتحة الأوتوماتيكية. هذا يعني أن لديك لفتح فتحه العدسة يدوياً إلى التركيز ويؤلف، ثم وقف يدوياً وصولاً إلى الفتحة التي تريدها لكل طلقة.

اختيار جسم الكاميرا

اختيار جسم الكاميرا هو الخطوة التالية بعد التقاط العدسة لأن أجسام الكاميرا لا تكون مملوكة في كثير من الأحيان طالما أن العدسة. شركات الكاميرا تحديث خطوطها نموذج كل سنتين إلى ثلاث سنوات، حيث تتوفر النماذج الأحدث دائماً. يمكنك دائماً الترقية الكاميرا الخاصة بك إذا كنت تجد أنها لا تفي باحتياجاتك.

الإطار الكامل مقابل "تنسيقات" إطار الاقتصاص

هل يجب عليك اختيار كاميرا مزودة بمستشعر إطار اقتصاص ، مثل APS-C أو Micro Four Thirds ، أو كاميرا مستشعر إطار كامل؟ في حين أن هناك بالتأكيد بعض كاميرات الإطار المحصنة الرائعة ، فإن أجهزة استشعار الإطار الكامل لها مزايا كبيرة وتستحق ارتفاع السعر. الصور التي تم إنشاؤها مع كاميرات الإطار الكامل تظهر أكثر وضوحاً وأكثر سلاسة النغمات، ومجموعة واسعة من النغمات، والتفاصيل الدقيقة.

Comapison between the quality of a crop frame and full frame sensor
هنا مقارنة لمستشعر إطار المحاصيل على اليسار ومستشعر الإطار الكامل على اليمين. كل من الكاميرات لديها أعداد مماثلة ميجابيكسل.

أجهزة الاستشعار أكبر جسديا جمع أشبه بكل التعرض. في المقابل، photosites على جهاز استشعار كامل الإطار أكبر والسماح لمزيد من الضوء إليها، الذي يترجم إلى تحسين جودة الصورة مع أقل ضوضاء في الإشارات الإلكترونية. على مستشعر إطار الاقتصاص ، تكون الصور الفوتوغرافية لمستشعر ميجابيكسل متساوية أصغر وأكثر كثافة ، مما يترجم إلى المزيد من الضوضاء في الإشارة الإلكترونية.

مجموعة ISO

مجموعة ISO الكاميرا يخبرك الاستشعار مدى حساسية للضوء. إذا كنت بحاجة للعمل في ضوء انخفاض حالات، ابحث عن كاميرا يحتوي إيزو 3200، الذي أكثر من كاف لإطلاق النار مع إذا كان لديك عدسة مع فتحه f/1.4. ولكن إذا كان لديك عدسة فقط كحد أقصى f/5.6، سوف تحتاج إلى استخدام ترايبود أو إضافة لك الخفيفة الخاصة بها.

خيارات قابلة للتطبيق

فما هي اختياراتي لحد أدنى كاميرا قابلة للحياة؟

لعدسات، وأود أن اختيار عدسات مثل 50 مم f/1.4 D و 28 ملم f/2.8 د نيكون رئيس الوزراء. أما العدسة يسمح الكثير الضوء بسبب فتحات واسعة كحد أقصى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أنها توفر ضبط تلقائي سريع والبصريات كبيرة. أفضل للجميع يمكن أن تلتقط أي واحدة تستخدم لحوالي 200 دولار. إذا كانت حريصة على عدسة التكبير سوف تختار لكانون 24-70 ملم f/2.8 لام. أنها قليلاً الثمن، حتى تستخدم، ولكن لحوالي 1000 دولار فإنه يتم جيد للغاية وتنوعاً.

إن كاميرا Nikon D700 و Canon 5D الأصلية هي كاميرات رائعة للعديد من المصورين. ليست أحدث وأكبر ، ولكن لا تزال آلات مذهلة. كلاهما يحتوي على مستشعرات كاملة الإطار توفر 12 ميجابكسل وتم تصميمها للاستخدام الاحترافي. إن كاميرا Nikon D700 و Canon 5D الأصلية هي كاميرات رائعة للعديد من المصورين. ليست أحدث وأكبر ، ولكن لا تزال آلات مذهلة. كلاهما يحتوي على مستشعرات كاملة الإطار توفر 12 ميجابكسل وتم تصميمها للاستخدام الاحترافي.

A Nikon D700 is an example of a minimum viable camera
موقع تشريوشا (Хрюша)/CC من 3.0 SA/ويكيميديا كومنز.

أي من هذه الكاميرات متاحة للاستخدام ، في حالة جيدة ، لأقل من 500 دولار ، وهو رقم أقل من العديد من الكاميرات الجديدة بأجهزة استشعار أصغر.

كيفية الحصول على المزيد من الكاميرا

وهناك العديد من الأساليب والإجراءات التي سوف تساعدك على الحصول على المزيد من DSLR كبار السن. معايرة الكاميرا والتنميط سوف تساعدك على التأكد من أن الألوان دقيقة ومتناسقة بغض النظر عن ما الكاميرا التي تستخدمها. يمكن أن يساعدك تصحيح العدسة على تصحيح التشوهات التي تعاني منها جميع العدسات ، إلى حد ما. هناك العديد من الطرق المختلفة للحد من الضوضاء بعد التقاط صورة لتنظيف الصور التي يتم التقاطها في إعدادات ISO عالية أيضًا.

التعرض الجيد

التعرض الصحيح هو أفضل شيء يمكنك القيام به لجودة الصورة من أي الكاميرات. الحصول على التعرض جيدة ليس من الصعب كل ذلك، فإنه يأخذ فقط قليلاً من الممارسة. يحتوي كل من D700 و 5 D على عدادات مدمجة ممتازة. تعرف على كيفية استخدام تلك العدادات ، والتعرض الصحيح ، وستتنافس جودة الصورة التي تقدمها أي كاميرا أخرى.

إضافة بعض الملحقات

اكسسوارات ملائمة تجعل كاميرا أكثر قابلية للاستمرار بتوسيع قدراته أو جعله أكثر ملاءمة لاستخدام. هناك شيئين لا يجب عليك تجاهلهما وهما البطاريات وبطاقات الذاكرة. سيؤدي الاحتفاظ بقطع الغيار من هذين العنصرين إلى استمرار جلسات صورك بما يكفي لإنجاز المهمة.

لبعض أنواع التصوير الفوتوغرافي، speedlight جيدة أمر أساسي للحصول على الصور كنت في حاجة. وثمة خيار آخر للتصوير الإضاءة الخافتة ترايبود. الحامل ثلاثي القوائم الجيد هو واحد من القطع الأساسية الأكثر أهمية. عند استخدام حامل ثلاثي القوائم ، ستكون الكاميرا صلبة ، مما يتيح لك إنشاء صور طويلة التعرض.

التبعي التغاضي عن آخر هو حزام كاميرا لائقة وحقيبة كاميرا جيدة لحمل الكاميرا حولها. عملك يصبح أصعب بكثير إذا كان أي من هذه العناصر غير مريحة. ابحث عن حزام كاميرا واسع يمكن أن يوزع وزن الكاميرا الثقيلة وحاول استخدام بعض الأكياس المختلفة قبل أن تقرر شراء جهاز واحد.

الاستنتاج

كمصور ، لديك ما تقدمه أكثر من مجموعة من المعدات. لديك خبرتك وخبرتك ورؤيتك الفريدة. لا يجعل العتاد المصور والمصور الفوتوغرافي المحنك يحقق أقصى استفادة من معداته.

الإنفاق أقل من المال للحصول على كاميرا جيدة تمكنك من أنفاق المزيد من المال والوقت تطوير ما يجعل صوتك فريدة في التصوير الفوتوغرافي. لذا، بدلاً من شراء كل نسخة جديدة من الكاميرا التي يأتي على طول، والاستثمار في نفسك. شارك في دورة تدريبية عبر الإنترنت أو احضر ورشة لتعلم مهارة جديدة. انتقل إلى مراجعة المحفظة أو معرض الصور أو المتحف واحصل على منظور جديد حول عملك وعالم التصوير الفوتوغرافي.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Camera Selection
Photography

Minimum Viable Camera: How to Get a Good Enough Full-Frame Digital Kit For Less

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

What makes a camera good? Not great, not the best, but a good, reliable, quality tool that's fun and easy to use. There are many answers to this question. What I mean by a viable camera is that it needs to "just work" without fuss, for a long time.

You don’t need to have the latest and greatest camera to create superb photographs or work as a photographer. A photographer is much more than their camera or their equipment! As a photographer, you bring your experience, knowledge, and unique voice to any project that you touch. This tutorial will help you to assess your needs as a photographer and show you how to find the least expensive, yet highly viable, camera to suit your needs.

Let Your Camera Be a Tool For Making Pictures

It is so easy to get caught up in the rush of new photographic products that are constantly being added to the market. We photographers care deeply about our tools, and it's natural to be excited by new potentials. That caring also means there's a lot of ego, and maybe some fear, wrapped up in purchasing gear. It doesn't have to be that way.

Invest in Yourself Instead

You don’t need to own the newest everything (or even the newest anything) to be a good photographer. Some people say they feel inadequate when they don’t have the most recent, top-end equipment but, quite honestly, if there is one thing I have learned it’s that good technique, hard work, and experimentation will take you much further than whatever camera has just been released.

Spending less on your camera can help you invest more in your creative and professional development.

Invest in Your Business Instead

If you're in the business of photography, keeping your overhead low by using the minimum viable cameras can be a big help in keeping the business profitable. This can mean either buying a less expensive, used camera or using your new camera until it is no longer viable.

Buying a new camera every time one is released can place unnecessary financial strain on a business.

Invest in Your Vision

A good camera and lens is very important because it's the tool that helps you accomplish your vision. Finding that good camera does not necessarily mean the one that has the most megapixels, fastest frame rate, or the fastest auto-focus. Finding your minimum viable camera comes from the combination of an honest self-assessment of your needs as a photographer and some expert advice.

An original Canon 5D is makes a viable camera for most photographers
By Charles Lanteigne - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Via Wikimedia Commons.

Assess Your Photography Needs

Choose the gear that fits what you will be doing most of the time. What situations will you shoot in? Will you be shooting sporting events or still-life, landscapes or portraits? Features that are vital for one type of photography may never be used in another.

How much light will be available when you work? Will you be able to control the light or add light? Or will you have to work only with what light is there? The amount of light you expect to shoot in will help you select your lens and your camera body.

If you don’t know yet what you will be shooting most of the time, look for a middle of the road approach and add specialized equipment as you need. Remember, you can always rent or borrow what you don’t own.

How Many Pixels Do You Really Need?

Probably less than you think. Major camera companies are constantly trying to one-up each other with pixel counts but much of the time your photos will be viewed at far less than their full resolution. A good understanding of where your photos will appear and at what size will help you figure out how many megapixels you need.

I firmly believe 12 megapixels is enough for a camera. It is plenty for a printing in a magazine or creating a decent sized print for the wall, and more than enough for photos on the web or as stills in a video.

What About Big Prints?

You can upsample your image in editing software like Adobe Photoshop to create larger prints. I have seen excellent 20x30 inch prints made from an eight megapixel camera. It is not ideal to upsample an image, but this approach works well especially if you begin with a well-exposed, sharp image that has little noise.

Lenses Are More Important Than Cameras

Choose your glass first. The lens forms the image on the sensor and if that image is not at its best, no sensor can make it better.

The type of photography you do will dictate what type of lens you will need. Plus, a good lens enables you to get the most from all your cameras. Lenses last a long time, and that allows more time to see a return on investment.

Aperture

One thing to consider is the maximum aperture available on a lens. The smaller the f-number, the more light will pass through the lens. A maximum aperture of f/1.4 allows lots of light to pass through and enables you to hand-hold the camera in low light situations. Aperture also affects the depth of field and the shape of the blades determines how the out of focus areas in an image look.

Prime Lens, or a Zoom?

A single zoom lens with a modest range of 24-70mm can cover quite a lot of your photographic needs. With fixed focal length "prime" lenses you might need two or three lenses to cover a similar range.

Prime lenses are less expensive than zooms and often have terrific optics. To change the field of view, you have to change your position or switch lenses. Zoom lenses allow you to change the focal length and, with it, the field of view without repositioning the camera. However, the really good zoom lenses are expensive.

New, or Used?

Used lenses offer the same optical quality at reduced prices. If you can afford a new lens, great! By all means go for it, especially if you can't find a comparable pre-owned lens. Lenses are durable and have few moving parts so they last a lifetime. Also consider current third-party lenses, especially the Sigma Art line and certain better Tamron lenses, because they are comparable if not equal to the same-brand models.

Specialty Lenses

Some types of photography require specialty lenses. Macro photography requires a macro lens. For architectural photography, consider a tilt-shift lens to correct the perspective in the image. They are expensive but offer great optics. 

A fine example of vintage Nikon manual-focus lens
By Hiyotada (Own work) [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons

Don't Overlook Manual Focus!

For great optics, consider a used, manual focus lens. You can find lots of excellent, older lenses from Nikon, Canon, Pentax, Olympus, Zeiss and other makers. For top-notch glass, check out the new manual focus lenses from Voigtlander, which have excellent reputations. Manual focus is useable in a range of situations, it just takes some practice. If you're shooting landscapes or architecture or macro, autofocus doesn't matter at all.

Adapt Your Lens

Lens adapters allow you to use a lens from a different manufacturer's mount type on your camera. For example, you can use an adaptor that mounts a Nikon lens on your Canon EOS body. This is a great way to use the best available lens on your camera.

Be warned though, it does come with some drawbacks. Most adapters do not allow the lens to communicate with the camera body, so autofocus won’t work and neither will the automatic aperture. That means you have to open the lens aperture manually to focus and compose, then manually stop down to your desired aperture for each shot.

Choosing a Camera Body

Choosing a camera body is the next step after picking out a lens because camera bodies are often not owned as long as a lens. Camera companies update their model lines every two to three years, so there are newer models always available. You can always upgrade your camera if you find it does not meet your needs.  

Full-Frame vs Crop-Frame Formats

Should you choose a camera with a crop-frame sensor, such as APS-C or Micro Four Thirds, or a full-frame sensor camera? While there are certainly some great crop frame cameras out there, full-frame sensors have big advantages and are worth the step up in price. Images created with full frame cameras appear sharper and have smoother tones, a wider range of tones, and finer details.

Comapison between the quality of a crop frame and full frame sensor
Here is a comparison of a crop frame sensor on the left and a full-frame sensor on the right. Both cameras have similar megapixel counts.

Larger sensors physically collect more like with each exposure. In turn, the photosites on a full-frame sensor are larger and allow more light into them, which translates to better image quality with less noise in the electronic signal. On a crop frame sensor, the photosites of an equal megapixel sensor are smaller and more densely packed, which translates to more noise in the electronic signal.

ISO Range

The ISO range of a camera tells you how sensitive the sensor is to light. If you need to work in low light situations, look for a camera that has an ISO of 3200, which is more than enough to shoot with if you have a lens with an f/1.4 aperture. But if your lens only has a maximum of f/5.6, you will need to use a tripod or add you own light.

Viable Options

So what are my picks for a minimum viable camera outfit?

For a lenses, I would choose a prime lenses like Nikon’s 50mm f/1.4D and 28mm f/2.8D. Either lens allows lots a of light in due to wide maximum apertures. Plus, they offer quick autofocus and have great optics. Best of all I can pick up either one used for around $200. If I were insistent on a zoom lens I would opt for the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L. It is a bit pricey, even used, but for around $1000 it is extremely well made and versatile.

The Nikon D700 and the original Canon 5D are great cameras for many photographers. Not the latest and greatest, but still amazing machines. They both have full-frame sensors that offer 12 megapixels and were designed for professional use. They have shutters that are designed to take hundreds of thousands of photos without failing, so they will continue to work for quite some time.

A Nikon D700 is an example of a minimum viable camera
© Chriusha (Хрюша) / CC-BY-SA-3.0 /  Wikimedia Commons.

Either of these cameras are available used, in good condition, for well under $500 dollars, a figure that is less than many new cameras with smaller sensors.

How to Get More Out of Your Camera

There are several techniques and procedures that will help you get more out of an older DSLR. Camera calibration and profiling will help you ensure that colors are accurate and consistent no matter what camera you use. Lens correction can help you correct distortions that all lenses have, to some degree. There many different ways to do noise reduction after you have taken a photo to clean up images shot at high ISO settings as well.

Good Exposure

Proper exposure is the best thing you can do for image quality from any cameras. Getting good exposure isn't all that hard, it just takes a bit of practice. The D700 and 5D both have excellent built-in meters. Learn how to use those meters, make correct exposures, and the image quality they deliver will rival any other camera.

Add Some Accessories

Appropriate accessories make a camera more viable by extending its abilities or make it more convenient to use. Two things not to overlook are batteries and memory cards. Having spares of those two items will keep your photo sessions going long enough to get the job done.

For some types of photography, a good speedlight is essential to getting the photos you need. Another option for low light photography is a tripod. A good sturdy tripod is one of the most essential pieces of gear. When using a tripod, your camera will be rock solid, enabling you to create long-exposure photos.

Another overlooked accessory is a decent camera strap and a good camera bag for carrying your camera around. Your job becomes much more difficult if either of these items is not comfortable. Look for a wide camera strap that can spread out the weight of a heavy camera and try on a few different bags before deciding on one to purchase.

Conclusion

As a photographer, you have more to offer than a collection of equipment. You have your experience, expertise, and unique vision. The gear does not make the photographer and the savvy photographer makes the most of their equipment.

Spending less money to obtain a good camera enables you to spend more money and time developing what makes your voice unique in photography. So, instead of buying every new version of a camera that comes along, invest in yourself. Take an online course or attend a workshop to learn a new skill. Go to a portfolio review, a photo gallery, or museum and get a fresh perspective on your work and the photography world. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.