Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Adobe Photoshop

Хотите цвет получше? Используйте нейтральные серые темы в Adobe Photoshop и Lightroom

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Olya Misuraghina (you can also view the original English article)

Когда вы работаете в пост-продакшн, для достижения последовательных и точных результатов важна надлежащая среда. В идеале вам нужно не слишком светлое и не слишком тёмное пространство, как можно более нейтральные стены и контролируемое освещение. Во-вторых, вам нужно правильно откалибровать монитор. И наконец, вам нужно обрабатывать изображения в приложении с нейтральным серым фоном.

Последняя часть по-настоящему важна, если ваш монитор неправильно откалиброван. Не стоит работать в Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom или любом другом графическом приложении с интерфейсом ярких цветов или слишком светлого или слишком тёмного оттенка. Это повлияет на вашу способность точно воспринимать цвета и даже размеры. Противопоставление этих элементов может вызвать оптические иллюзии и привести к ошибкам в работе.

В жизни нам не всегда под силу контролировать рабочее пространство. Работаете ли вы в полях, или на экране ноутбука, в цветокоррекции вы можете в какой-то мере ориентироваться на своё рабочее пространство, даже если условия не идеальны. Лучшие методы — это калибровка монитора, диаграммы проверки цвета и серые будки, но иногда выбирать не приходится. Вам поможет нейтральный фон приложений.

Из этого урока вы узнаете, какой нейтральный серый для пользовательского интерфейса лучше всего подойдёт для обработки фотографий: один для Adobe Photoshop, другой — для Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. 

Оптические иллюзии

Наши глаза могут обмануть нас, определённые узоры и противопоставления контраста и цвета могут сделать так, что мы увидим то, чего нет. Рабочее пространство неподходящего цвета может вызвать иллюзию одинакового цвета Адельсона, влияя на нашу способность к правильному цветовосприятию. Существуют и другие, но мы сосредоточимся на иллюзии Адельсона, потому что это наиболее подходящий пример.

Иллюзия одинакового цвета Адельсона

В этой иллюзии относительно светлые и тёмные участки фона и сам предмет влияют на наше восприятие цвета и насыщенности предмета, даже если в обеих ситуациях предмет имеет один и тот же цвет. Вот почему на чёрном фоне цвета кажутся ярче, чем на белом.

Adelsons Same Color Illusion by Edward H Adelson MIT
Хотя голубые круги абсолютно одинакового цвета, глаз воспринимает их по-разному из-за относительного контраста того, что их окружает.

Вы можете убедиться, что цветные круги имеют одинаковые значения RGB, если откроете это изображение в Photoshop и возьмёте инструмент Eyedropper (I), в то же время глядя на окно Info (F8). Вот пример из жизни. Один и тот же предмет, разный фон. 

A pomegranate on white and black backgrounds
Пример иллюзии одинакового цвета Адельсона на фотографии. (Фото: Daniel Sone Photography) 

Тот же самый эффект может появиться, если ваше рабочее пространство в Photoshop или Lightroom слишком тёмное или слишком светлое. Тёмный интерфейс — в Lightroom по умолчанию — усиливает цвета. У Photoshop раньше был более светлый интерфейс, из-за чего цвета казались более плоскими. Сейчас он ближе соответствует Lightroom.

Делаем рабочее пространство нейтральным 

Для фотографов важен серый 18%. Это наша отправная точка, середина в мире экспозиции и нейтральности цвета. Поэтому мы настроим своё рабочее пространство в приложении на это значение: 18% серого.

An illustration showing 18 50 and 100 gray squares
(слева направо) 18% серого, 50% серого и квадрат 100% чёрного. (Изображение: Daniel Sone Photography) 

Не так необходимо делать полностью всё приложение цвета 18% серого, наиболее важна та часть, которая находится в непосредственном контакте с изображением.

Photoshop

Довольно просто перейти от вида Photoshop по умолчанию или любых текущих настроек к нейтральным 18%. Можно сделать это, зайдя в меню Preferences (Commad+K) в раздел Interface.

Preferences Window in Photoshop CS6
Это окно Preferences в Photoshop с опциями раздела Interface. Здесь вы настроите вид пользовательского интерфейса в Photoshop. 

Внутри раздела Interface есть секция Appearance, где можно настроить цвет для любого режима отображения в Photoshop. Мы выберем Select Custom Color..., чтобы появилось окно Color Picker.

The Appearance section of the Interface menu in Photoshop
Можно выбрать любой цвет для разных режимов отображения в Photoshop: Standard, Full Screen with Menus, Full Screen.

В окне Color Picker очистите значения в полях CYMK. Введите 18% в поле K, чтобы сделать 18% серого, потому что «K» означает «чёрный». Значения в остальных полях автоматически настроятся, чтобы соответствовать значениям RGB, Hexadecimal, Lab и HSB. Если вас беспокоят неодинаковые значения RGB, просто вбейте 214 в каждую графу RGB.

Color Picker in Photoshop
Я установил чёрный в поле CYMK на 18%, потому что он больше всего соответствует серому в печати. Для работы только с электронными изображениями можно использовать для тех же целей значения R = 214, G = 214, B = 214.

Нажмите Ok в окне Color Picker, а затем нажмите Ok в меню Preferences. Вид в Photoshop поменяется на 18% серого.

Lightroom

К сожалению, в Lightroom нельзя настроить вид пользовательского интерфейса так, как это можно сделать в Photoshop, в том числе нельзя указать 18% серого. Тем не менее, можно приблизиться к этому с помощью одной из готовых цветных тем в меню Preferences (Command+,).

Lightroom Preferences Menu
Это раздел Interface в меню Preferences в Lightroom 5.

Ближайшие — очень близкие — к значению 18% серого настройки в Lightroom — тема Light Gray. Так вы поменяете только пространство, непосредственно окружающее изображение, всё остальное останется без изменений. Ваш выбор применится автоматически.

Gray color options in Lightrooms Interface menu

Попробуйте сами

Важно сделать своё рабочее пространство нейтральным, если для вас имеет значение цветовосприятие. Вы сможете принимать лучшие суждения «на глаз» и верить тому, что показывает ваш монитор. Попробуйте, и вы увидите, как поменяются ваши фотографии. Можно также использовать оптическую иллюзию Адельсона, представляя видео или изображения онлайн и в печатном виде.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Adobe Photoshop
Photography

Want Better Color? Use Neutral Gray Themes in Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

Working in the proper environment for post-production work is important for consistent and accurate results. In the ideal setup, you want a work in an area that's not too bright or too dark, walls as neutral as possible, and controlled lighting. Second you want to work on a properly calibrated monitor. And finally, you want to process your images in your application with a neutral grey background.

That last part is really important if your monitor isn't properly calibrated. You shouldn't be working in Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, or any other graphics application with an interface that has funky colors or is very light or very dark. This will affect your ability to perceive colors, and even size accurately. The juxtaposition of these elements can cause optical illusions and lead mistakes in your post-production work.

In the real world we don't always get to control our working environment. If you work in the field or on a laptop screen, your workspace can still serve as a limited reference point for color-correction, even though the conditions aren't ideal. Monitor calibration, color checker charts, and grey booths are the best methods, but sometimes we just have to make do. A neutral background in your applications will help.

In this tutorial you'll learn which neutral grey user interfaces you'll want to use for photography: one in Adobe Photoshop, the other in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

Optical Illusions

Our eyes can play tricks on us and certain patterns and juxtapositions of contrast and color can fool us into seeing something that isn't there. An improperly colored workspace can cause Adelson's Same Color Illusion, affecting our ability to properly perceive color. There are others, but we'll focus on Adelson's since it's the most relevant example.

Adelson's Same Color Illusion

In this illusion the relative brightness or darkness of a background and the subject affects our perception of the subject's color and even its saturation, even if the subject is the same color in both situations. This is why colors seem more vibrant against black backgrounds than against white ones.

Adelsons Same Color Illusion by Edward H Adelson MIT
Although the blue circles are exactly the same color, your eye perceives them differently due to relative contrast of their surroundings.

You can verify that the colored circles are the same RGB value if you view the image in Photoshop and use the Eyedropper Tool (I) while viewing the Info Window (F8). Here is a real-world example. Same subject, different background.

A pomegranate on white and black backgrounds
A photographic example of Adelson's Same Color Illusion. (Photo: Daniel Sone Photography)

This same effect can happen if your workspace in Photoshop or Lightroom is too dark or too light. A dark interface -- Lightroom's default -- makes colors look punchy. Photoshop used to have a lighter interface which made colors appear flatter. Now, it closely matches Lightroom.

Neutralizing Your Workspace

For photographers, 18% gray is important. It is our reference point, a middle ground, in the world of exposure and color neutrality. So, we're going to set up our application's workspace to that value: 18% gray.

An illustration showing 18 50 and 100 gray squares
(left to right) An 18% gray, 50% gray, and 100% black square. (Image: Daniel Sone Photography)

It's not entirely necessary to make your entire application 18% gray, but the part that is in direct contact with your image is the most crucial.

Photoshop

It's pretty straightforward to go from Photoshop's default, or whichever appearance you currently have, to the neutral 18%. It all can be done from the Preferences Menu (Commad+K) in the section for Interface.

Preferences Window in Photoshop CS6
This is the Preferences Window in Photoshop showing the Interface options. Here you'll adjust the appearance of Photoshop's user interface.

Within the Interface portion, there's a section for Appearance where you can setup your color options for each display mode within Photoshop. We'll choose Select Custom Color... to bring up the Color Picker window.

The Appearance section of the Interface menu in Photoshop
You can choose a custom color for the various display modes in Photoshop: Standard, Full Screen with Menus, and Full Screen.

In the Color Picker window, clear out the values in the CYMK fields. Enter 18% in the K field to make 18% grey since "K" means black. The values in the other fields will automatically adjust to match in RGB, Hexadecimal, Lab, and HSB values. If the unequal RGB values are a problem to you, simply type 214 in each RGB value.

Color Picker in Photoshop
I set the black color in the CYMK section to 18% since it is the most relevant to grey in printing. For electronic/online display, you can use R = 214, G = 214, B = 214 for the same effect.

Click Ok in the Color Picker and then click Ok in the Preferences Menu. Photoshop's appearance will be changed to 18% grey.

Lightroom

Unfortunately, you cannot customize the appearance of Lightroom's interface like you can in Photoshop, including specifying an 18% grey. However, you can get close with one of the preset color schemes in the Preferences Menu (Command+,).

Lightroom Preferences Menu
This is the Interface section of the Preferences Menu in Lightroom 5.

The closest -- very close -- to the 18% gray setting in Lightroom is the Light Gray setting. This will only change the area immediately surrounding your image, but the rest will remain the same. Your selection is automatically applied.

Gray color options in Lightrooms Interface menu

Try It Out

Neutralizing your workspace is important if color perception is important to you. You'll be able to make better judgments when "eye-balling it" and believe what your monitor is showing you. Try this out and you'll see how your photography changes. You can also use Adelson's optical illusion when presenting your images online, in print, or video.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.