Unlimited After Effects and Premiere Pro templates, stock video, royalty free music tracks & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Adobe Photoshop
Photography

Dodge и Burn: работа с тенями в Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Yuri Yuriev (you can also view the original English article)

Здесь мы рассмотрим метод Dodge and Burn для спасения теней на фотографиях и добавления вашему снимку объёма. В Adobe Photoshop (и в жизни), главное - баланс.

Dodge and Burn

"Dodge" and "burn" - название метода изменения освещённости (lightness) в фотографии. Dodge осветляет область снимка, а Burn затемняет. Цифровые технологии dodge-and-burn основаны на методах из традиционной фотолаборатории: блокировка света от увеличителя (или ‘dodging') для создания недо-экспонированной и, следовательно, более яркой области на бумаге и добавление света (или ‘burning'), чтобы сделать область темнее.

Dodge и burn можно использовать на любом участке изображения, светлом или тёмном, но в этом уроке мы поработаем на тёмных или теневых частях. Хотя техника похожа, к средним тона и светам применяются свои приёмы dodge-and-burn. 

1. Оцените изображение: какой результат вам нужен?

Баланс является ключом к использованию dodge and burn. Чтобы добиться баланса, нужно знать, как должен выглядеть готовый снимок. Вам нужна высокая контрастность? Нужен реалистичный вид? Какие части изображения важно подчеркнуть? Какие затемнить?

Идеальный результат, вероятно зависит от типа изображения, которое вы редактируете, и от того, какие ограничения в нём заложены. Если вы редактируете портрет, например, нужно учитывать качество тонов кожи: игра тенями может исказить форму лица. Каждый стиль фотографии - от ландшафта и архитектуры до фотографии продуктов - имеет свои возможности и ловушки в изменении теней.

Когда вы знаете цель, то используете инструменты, подходящие для создания нужного образа.

2. Сделайте общую коррекцию

С этой фотографией я буду работать. Вы видите, что тени недоэкспонированы, а небо чуть переэкспонировано.

original image
Оригинальный снимок без изменений. Фото: Marie Gardiner

RAW конверсия

Первое, с чего начинается работа с изображением - global corrections, то есть широкие поправки ко всему изображению. Когда я снимаю в RAW, то начинаю обработку в Adobe Camera RAW, не заходя в Photoshop.

Фотография была сделана вечером. У неё есть особое качество света, которое я хотела бы сохранить. По этой причине в RAW я не убавляю тени полностью, хотя ползунок позволяет это сделать.

raw corrections
Сначала коррекция снимка в RAW 

Посмотрите на гистограмму в верхнем правом углу: видно, что большая часть информации изображения (большой пик) находится в тенях, но ни одна из теней не убита и не потеряна. Это прекрасно, потому что я хочу сохранить ощущение прохладного, влажного вечера без потери деталей.

Коррекция локального контраста кривыми

Я сохранила света в RAW и немного сбила их, возвращая небу детали. Вместе это выглядит немного плоско и здесь понадобится корректировка по месту.

curves
Кривая 's' добавит изображению хороший контраст, но углубит тени.

Кривая 's' в Photoshop (в нашем случае мягкая) добавляет контраста: светлые пиксели становятся светлее, тёмные пиксели темнее. Добавилось глубины в небо и воду, но затемнило тени. Хорошо, исправим это с помощью Dodge и Burn.

3. Сделайте локальные корректировки

Далее рассмотрим конкретные места для изменений. Я упомянула, что хочу сохранить глубину теней, чтобы оставить ощущение времени суток, но есть такие области, как вода и даже части деревьев, где, я думаю, можно осветлить тени, не поднимая освещённость и не меняя настроения.

Сохранение теней с Dodge

На копии фона (Control-J) я собираюсь работать с тенями деревьев инструментом Dodge, с Range, установленным на Shadows, с очень низкой Opacity (от 2 до 5%), чтобы чуть затронуть тени. Смысл в том, чтобы оставить средние тона и света нетронутыми, а осветлить самые тёмные части изображения. 

Я думаю, коррекцию лучше делать со слегка завышенными настройками, а после уменьшить Opacity корректирующего слоя до нужного значения.

tree shadows
Проводя кистью по деревьям, возвращаем теням тонкий, сдержанный вид

Это результат работы кисти по теням на 5% Exposure, но различия в самых тёмных областях видны. Если необходимо, можете изменить Range на Midtones и поработать с ними.

Различия тонкие. Усиливая эффект, последовательно проходите кистью по тем же областям, пока не добьётесь своего.

after shadows
Снимок после местной обработки теней на деревьях

Это изображение слоя Dodge с 90% opacity. Я дублирую этот слой и работаю с Burn, чтобы добавить больше глубины и контраста.

Добавление глубины с помощью Burn

Слой кривых помог с общим контрастом, но есть области фотографии, где контраста можно добавить. Инструментом Burn с Range, установленным на Shadows, а Exposure на 5%, я прорисую некоторые области, чтобы добавить контраста и глубины при затемнении.

sky after burn
Burning неба затемняет тени, но вызывает дополнительную насыщенность цветов

Вы видите изменения теней от нескольких прикосновений кисти к небу, при том, что света остались нетронутыми. Появилось чрезмерное насыщение и ореолы вокруг дерева слева. Слой остаётся 100% opacity, здесь поможет снижение прозрачности.

4. Дополнительные действия

Восстановление тени и добавление контраста - отличная способность dodge and burn, но метод можно использовать и для привлечения внимания зрителя к определённому участку. Я снова возьму Burn, в этот раз с Exposure на Shadows и пройдусь по краям снимка, чтобы создать тонкую виньетку и направить взгляд к светлому центру изображения.

5. Завершаем работу

Если изменения вам понравились, сделайте окончательные корректировки. Может возникнуть проблема с перенасыщением, поэтому для доводки создайте мягкий корректирующий слой Saturation.

finished image
Готовое изображение после лёгкой доработки

Здесь я слегка коснулась цветового баланса, чтобы вырезать отвлекающий пробел в деревьях справа.

Итоговые мысли

Умения пользоваться только Dodge and Burn недостаточно для полноты картины. Самое важное - знать, что вы хотите увидеть на своём снимке. Если вы не знаете, чего добиваетесь, можете править до бесконечности, не понимая, хорошо получается или плохо. Определившись с конечной целью, вы сэкономите массу нервов и убережётесь от лишних хлопот.

Сначала сделайте все общие настройки. Начните с RAW, если вы снимаете в нём, и играйте со светами и тенями до тех пор, пока не понравится. Это не значит двинуть ползунки до упора - помните про влияние на все ваши тени/света. На этом этапе надо привести все части кадра к такому состоянию, чтобы остался запас гибкости для работы с dodge and burn.

Для локальных корректировок дублируйте слои, чтобы работать неразрушающе и сосредоточиться на одном месте и методе единовременно. Изменения появятся во всех местах, которых коснётся кисть. Масштабируйте и работайте с небольшими участками, возвращаясь к просмотру всего изображения снова и снова, чтобы видеть перемены. Если вы довольны готовым фрагментом, создайте дубликат слоя и переходите к следующему.

Когда вам понравится, как выглядят слои Dodge и Burn, сделайте окончательную правку, вроде изменения цвета или температуры и прочего. Это важно сделать в последнюю очередь, поскольку burning или dodging могут преувеличить цвета и выявить проблемы.

Решать, насколько должны быть глубоки изменения - дело вкуса, но я считаю, что чем меньше, тем лучше. В любом случае, не торопясь перебирайтесь по слоям, меняя opacity и делая тонкую настройку. Если вы правили слишком долго и уже не видите, где мало, где много, сохраните проект и вернитесь позже.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Adobe Photoshop
Photography

Dodge and Burn: How to Rescue Shadows in Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Here, we'll show you how to use Dodge and Burn to rescue shadows in your photographs and give your image some extra punch. As with many things in Adobe Photoshop (and life), the trick is balance.

Dodge and Burn

"Dodge" and "burn" are photography terms for correcting and adjusting luminosity (lightness) levels in parts of an image. To Dodge is to lighten an area of your picture, to Burn is to darken an area. Digital dodge-and-burn techniques are based on the method photographers use in the traditional darkroom: blocking light from the enlarger (or ‘dodging' the light) to create a less-exposed, and therefore brighter, area on the paper, and using more light (or ‘burning' in the light) to make an area darker.

Dodge and burn can be used on any part of the image, light or dark, but in this tutorial we're focusing on the dark, or shadow, parts of the picture. Though the technique is similar, mid-tones and highlights each need their own dodge-and-burn approach.

1. Evaluate the Image: What Result do You Want to Achieve?

Balance is the key to using dodge and burn well. To get that balance, you need to know what you want your finished image to look like. Are you going for high contrast? Do you want to maintain a realistic look? What parts of the image are important to emphasise? What parts would you like to de-emphasise?

Your ideal result will probably depend on the type of image you’re editing and what constraints that might provide in itself. If you’re editing a portrait, for example, you’ll need to keep in mind the quality of skin tones: manipulating shadows could have a detrimental effect on the face shape. Every style of photography—from landscape to architectural to product photography—carries their own possibilities and pitfalls in altering the shadows.

When you know what you want to achieve, you can use the tools at your disposal effectively to create the look you desire.

2. Make Global Corrections

This is the image I’ll be working on. You can see that the shadows are underexposed and the sky a tad overexposed.

original image
The original photograph without any adjustments. Image: Marie Gardiner

RAW Conversion

The first place to start with any image is to make global corrections, that is, broad corrections to the whole image. As I shoot in RAW, my first step is to develop the image in Adobe Camera RAW before opening to Photoshop.

The image was taken in the evening. It has a particular quality of light that I’d like to keep. For that reason, I’m not pulling the shadows up here as far as I can in RAW, even though you can see from the slider, there’s still some give.

raw corrections
First, make any corrections to your RAW image

Take a look at the histogram in the top right corner: the graph shows that the majority of information in the image (the big peak) is weighted to the shadows, but none of the shadows is crushed, or losing information. That’s perfect, because I want to retain that cool, damp evening feel to the photo without losing detail.

Correct Local Contrast With Curves

I rescued the highlights in RAW, and brought them down a little, bringing detail back to the sky. The whole thing looks a little flat though, and that’s where our local adjustments come in.

curves
An 's' curve will give your image a nice contrast boost, but it will darken those shadows again

An ‘s’ curve in Photoshop (a gentle one in this case) introduces more contrast: the light pixels get lighter, the dark pixels get darker. That puts some drama back into the sky and water, but also darkens our shadows again. That’s alight, we’ll use Dodge and Burn to recover those.

3. Make Local Adjustments

The next thing to look at is specific parts of the photo that you want to improve on. I mentioned that I want to keep some of the shadows deep, to stay true to the mood of the time of day, but there are areas like the water and even parts of the trees where I think we could lighten the shadows without boosting the overall light and changing the feel of the image.

Rescue Shadows With Dodge

On the duplicate background (Control-J), I’m going to work on the tree shadows with the Dodge tool, with the Range set to Shadows, at a very low Opacity (between 2-5%) to bring some of the shadows back up. The idea of this is to leave the midtones and highlights untouched and simply brighten the darkest parts of the image, which I'll brush over.

I always think a good technique is to go slightly further with your adjustment than you actually want to, and then reduce the Opacity of your adjustment layer to get things just right.

tree shadows
Starting to brush over the trees brings back the shadows in a subtle, measured way

This result is from brushing over the shadows on 5% Exposure but you can see the differences already in the blackest areas. If it needs it, you can change the Range to Midtones and bring those up too.

The differences are subtle. Build up the effect by continuously brushing over the same areas in successive passes until you’re happy.

after shadows
The image after rescuing some of the shadows in the trees

This is the image with the Dodge layer at 90% opacity. Next, I'll duplicate that layer and work with Burn to add in more depth and contrast.

 

Add Depth With Burn

The curves layer helped with overall contrast, but there are still areas of the photograph that could use a little punchier contrast. Using the Burn tool, with the Range set to Shadows and the Exposure again set to 5%, I’m going to brush over some areas that will add more contrast and depth when darkened.

sky after burn
Burning the sky darkens the shadows but can cause extra saturation of colours

You can see the difference that brushing over the sky a few times makes to the shadows here, while still leaving the highlights untouched. This has caused a tad over-saturation and also highlighted some halo-ing around the tree on the left. The layer is still at 100% opacity, so bringing it down a touch will solve those issues.

 

4. Extra Touches

The shadow recovery and adding of contrast are great uses of dodge and burn, but you can also use them to draw the viewer's eye to a particular focus in your image. I’m going to use the Burn tool again, this time with the Exposure set to Shadows, and burn around the edge of the image to create a subtle vignette to help lead the eye to the bright, centre of the image.

 

5. Finish Up

Once you’re happy with your changes, make any final adjustments or edits to your image. One problem with dodging and burning can be over-saturation, so you may need to use a very mild Saturation adjustment layer to do some final correction.

finished image
After a few more tweaks, this is the finished image

Here, I’ve slightly tweaked the colour balance and given it a slight crop to cut out a distracting gap in the trees on the far right.

 

Final Thoughts

Knowing how to use Dodge and Burn alone isn’t enough to make a picture perfect, it never will be. Instead, the most important thing is to know what you want from your image. If you don’t know what you’re trying to finish up with, you could spend forever making tweaks and adjustments and still never feel like it’s quite right. Deciding your end goal before you even begin will save you a lot of trouble and also stop you from over-doing things.

Be sure to make all your global adjustments first. Start with RAW, if that’s how you shoot, and play with your shadows and highlights there until it looks how you’d like it. That won’t always mean pulling the sliders as far as they’ll go—remember, that has an effect on all your shadows/highlights. The trick at this stage is to get all the parts of the image into a not-to-anything state so that you have the flexibility to dodge and burn.

When it comes to making your local adjustments, duplicate your layers so you can work non-destructively and focus on one place and method at a time. If you brush over your whole image then it will apply to all areas of that range. Zoom in and work on small parts at a time, coming back out to look at the whole image now and again so you can see how it looks in context. When you’re happy with one part, create a new duplicate layer and move on to the next.

When you’re happy with how your Dodge and Burn layers look, you can make final edits such as colour or temperature adjustments, and so on. It’s important to do these last, as burning or dodging can exaggerate colours and highlight problems.

As with all things, how far to go with your edits is a matter of taste, but I tend to find less is more. By all means, go wild on your layers, as long as you can pull back the opacity and make the whole process more subtle. If you’ve edited for too long and become blind to how much is too much, save your project and come back later, with fresh eyes.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.