Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Gimbal
Photography

Comment choisir le bon objectif pour votre vidéo rig cardan

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Shoot Video With a Gimbal.
How To Use a Gimbal: Finesse the Follow Mode
How To Use Remotes and Toggles With a Gimbal

French (Français) translation by New Lune (you can also view the original English article)

Si vous avez une variété de lentilles, ou juste un objectif zoom, vous avez des décisions importantes à prendre lorsque vous tournez avec un cardan.

En général, les objectifs larges qui sont légers et ont un autofocus sont votre meilleur pari pour l'utilisation d'un cardan. Avec un objectif large, il est plus facile de garder le mouvement cinématique. Alors qu'avec un objectif plus zoomé, il est plus difficile d'obtenir un mouvement gracieux et continu quand vous déplacez et faites pivoter le cardan autour d'un sujet.

Using a wide lens inside a car

À l'intérieur d'une voiture, la lentille la plus large que vous avez vous permettra d'encadrer plus de l'intérieur, et il montrera moins de la voiture qui est bosselée haut et en bas du mouvement. Mais l'inconvénient est que vous ne pouvez obtenir un seul type de tir à partir d'un objectif large. Donc, si vous allez être dans une voiture pendant un certain temps, la prise de vue avec un objectif zoom vous permet d'obtenir plus de variété de plans de votre position statique dans le siège passager. Vous pouvez zoomer sur le paysage par la fenêtre, sur les touches et le tableau de bord, les objets dans la voiture, et surtout, le visage de votre sujet quand ils sont en train d'aller vers l'avant. Vous seriez surpris de voir combien de fois ces plans sont utilisés dans toutes sortes de production vidéo.

Using a medium zoom lens inside a car gives you more shot options

La difficulté avec les lentilles et les cardans est qu'en changeant d'un zoom large à moyen, par exemple, ou simplement en zoomant sur une lentille elle-même, la distribution de poids change et le cardan peut devenir déséquilibré. Parfois, cela rend le cardan acte chaotiquement, et d'autres fois, vous pouvez zoomer et obtenir quelques bons coups même avec les moteurs de travail un peu plus difficile. C'est une bonne idée d'expérimenter avec votre appareil photo et vos objectifs avant une prise de vue, pour voir jusqu'à quel point vous pouvez zoomer votre objectif sur votre cardan avant de devoir rééquilibrer.

Lens Image Stabilization while using a gimbal

Et enfin, si vous avez l'option, utilisez-vous des objectifs avec Stabilisation d'image? Cela gâche-t-il la stabilisation électronique du cardan? Il existe des perspectives différentes selon la caméra, la lentille et le cardan que vous utilisez, de sorte que votre mieux pour expérimenter vous-même. Mais pour la plupart, vous n'avez pas besoin d'avoir la stabilisation d'image sur, comme le cardan lui-même va travailler pour rendre vos clichés lisse et sans gigue. Mais garder votre stabilisation d'image d'objectif dessus ne blessera pas vos coups de cardan.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Gimbal
Photography

How To Choose the Right Lens for Your Video Gimbal Rig

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Shoot Video With a Gimbal.
How To Use a Gimbal: Finesse the Follow Mode
How To Use Remotes and Toggles With a Gimbal
 

If you have a variety of lenses, or just one zoom lens, you have some important decisions to make when you’re shooting with a gimbal.

In general, wide lenses that are lightweight and have autofocus are your best bet for gimbal use. With a wide lens, it’s easier to keep the movement looking cinematic. Whereas with a more zoomed in lens, it’s harder to achieve graceful, continuous movement as you move and rotate the gimbal around a subject. 

Using a wide lens inside a car

Inside a car, the widest lens you have will allow you to frame more of the interior, and it’ll show less of the car’s bumpy up and down motion. But the disadvantage is that you can only get one type of shot from a wide lens. So if you’re going to be in a car for a while, shooting with a zoom lens means you can get more variety of shots from your static position in the passenger seat. You can zoom in on the landscape out the window, on the keys and dashboard, objects in the car, and most importantly, your subject’s face as they’re looking forward. You’d be surprised how often these shots are used in all sorts of video production.

Using a medium zoom lens inside a car gives you more shot options

The difficulty with lenses and gimbals is that by changing from a wide to medium zoom, for example, or just by zooming in on a lens itself, the weight distribution changes and the gimbal can become unbalanced. Sometimes that makes the gimbal act chaotically, and other times you can zoom in and get a few good shots even with the motors working a little harder. It’s a good idea to experiment with your camera and lenses before a shoot, to see how far you can zoom your lens on your gimbal before you have to rebalance.

Lens Image Stabilization while using a gimbal

And finally, if you have the option, do you use lenses with Image Stabilization? Does that mess with the gimbal’s electronic stabilization? There are varying perspectives depending on what camera, lens, and gimbal you use, so your best to experiment yourself. But for the most part, you don’t need to have image stabilization on, as the gimbal itself will work to make your shots look smooth and jitter free. But keeping your lens image stabilization on won't hurt your gimbal shots. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.