Unlimited After Effects and Premiere Pro templates, stock video, royalty free music tracks & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Noise Reduction
Photography

Как использовать Экспандер для эффективного снижения фонового шума в аудио

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Ellen Nelson (you can also view the original English article)

Мы все хотим чёткого и чистого аудио в наших видеозаписях. Тем не менее, однако нам приходится иметь дело с шумом окружающей среды в каждом проекте.

В большинстве случаев небольшое количество шума на фоне вашего видео может проскользнуть незамеченным. Как только этот шум становится слышимым, он может реально отвлекать аудиторию.

Хотя лучше всего удалять шум в источнике, есть специальные средства производства, которые помогут вам очистить шум в записи. Инструмент, к которому прибегают большинство людей это «шумовые ворота» (noise gate), но это может быстро стать разрушительным. Вместо этого вы можете использовать экспандер (expander), чтобы уменьшить громкость шума без его полного удаления, что звучит более естественно. На этом уроке вы узнаете, как это сделать.

Снижение шума, а не уничтожение

Точно так же, как в фотографии и видео, целью шумопонижения не является устранить шум полностью. Цель состоит в том, чтобы уменьшить шум до уровня, на котором он перестаёт отвлекать, не вводя никаких отрицательных артефактов или искажений в исходный звук. В общем, лучшее снижение шума — это минимальное его количество, которое можно оставить без потерь качества звука.

Используйте экспандер, если у вас тонкий фоновый шум от записи в каком-то месте (например, ветер или отдаленный трафик) или фоновый шум от записи в студии (например, кондиционер или внешние звуки). Экспандеры также полезны при производстве закадровой озвучки и переозвучки оригинальных диалогов фильма после окончания съёмок.

Обратите внимание, что экспандер не эффективен, когда уровень шума почти такой же, как уровень диалога. В этом случае экспандер не может различить голос и шум.  Здесь потребуются более пагубные инструменты для удаления шума.

Гейт (gates, ворота) и экспандеры (expanders) — очень похожие инструменты и большинство специализированных приложений для обработки аудио и видео объединяют Гейт с Экспандером. Как я сказал выше, экспандер создаёт более естественно-звучащую обработку шума. Параметры, которые необходимо настроить для включения Гейт в Эксандере, зависят от используемого вами программного обеспечения, которое мы рассмотрим ниже.

Параметры шумопонижения: рекомендуемые настройки

Ratio (соотношение, коэффициент, степень сжатия)

Управляя этим параметром, вы указываете гейту уменьшить уровень громкости на величину относительно звуков, находящихся на звуковой дорожке. Иногда Ratio (соотношение, коэффициент) называется Amount (величина), как в Sony Vegas.

Соотношение ниже 20:1 будет действовать как экспандер с коэффициентами в районе 2:1, что делает еле заметное расширение вниз. Например, при 2:1 на каждые 1дБ уровень падает ниже порога (Threshold), а экспандер уменьшит его на 1дБ (всего 2дБ, а значит 2:1).

Range (диапазон)

Если Ratio устанавливает относительный коэффициент уменьшения, параметр Range задает абсолютный предел уменьшения. Например, задав диапазон до -10дБ, тем самым вы сообщаете экспандеру/гейту никогда не уменьшать уровень более чем на 10дБ. Это означает, что шум будет на 10дБ тише, чем диалог.

Иногда Range называется Reduction, как в Final Cut Pro X.

Threshold (порог)

Порог определяет уровень для экспандера. Установите этот уровень так, чтобы диалог не был затронут, но шум был уменьшен. Например, если диалог составляет в среднем -18дБ, установите порог на -20дБ (лучше оставить несколько дБ в случае непредвиденных обстоятельств).

Attack и Release (время атаки и время спада)

Время атаки и время спада определяет, сколько требуется экспандеру до полной активации (или «открытия»), и отключения (или «закрытия»). Для диалога я рекомендую время атаки от 10 до 50мс и время спада 12мс.

Hold (удержание)

Hold диктует, как долго ворота (gate) остаются открытыми после падения уровня ниже порога (Threshold). Для диалога установите значение 0 (или как можно ниже).

Примеры программного обеспечения

В Pro Tools отрегулируйте регулятор Range.

Pro Tools GateExpander
Pro Tools Gate/Expander

Adobe Premiere Pro имеет встроенный Expander (Компрессор).

Adobe Premiere Expander
Экспандер в Adobe Premier

В Final Cut Pro X вы можете использовать встроенный экспандер (в разделе Эффекты > Аудио).

Final Cut Pro X Expander
Expander в Final Cut Pro X

Или вы можете использовать шумоподавитель (noise gate) и отрегулировать параметр Reduction.

Final Cut Pro X Gate
Gate в Final Cut Pro X

Sony Vegas, Reaper и некоторые другие программы не поставляются с экспандером или компрессором. Вместо этого установите этот бесплатный плагин VST — Floorfish.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Noise Reduction
Photography

How To Use An Expander To Efficiently Reduce Background Audio Noise

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:

We'd all like to have a clean and clear audio in our video recordings. In reality, however, dealing with environmental noise is a part of virtually every production.

Most of the time, a small amount of noise in the background of your video can slip by unnoticed. As soon as that noise becomes audible, though, it can really distract your audience.

Although it's best to remove noise at the source, there are dedicated production tools that can help you to clean up a noisy recording. The tool that most people reach for is a ‘noise gate’, but these can quickly become destructive. Instead, you can use an expander to reduce the volume of the noise without completely removing it, which sounds more natural. In this tutorial you'll learn how to do just that.

Noise Reduction, Not Destruction

Just like in photography and video, the goal with audio noise treatment is not to eliminate noise. The aim is to reduce the noise until it stops being distracting, without introducing any negative artefacts or distortions to the original sound. Generally speaking, the best noise reduction is always the minimum amount you can get away with.

Use an expander when you have subtle background noise from recording on location (such as wind or distant traffic) or background noise from recording in a studio (such as A/C or exterior sounds). Expanders are also useful when producing voice overs and ADR.

Note that an expander isn't effective when the noise level is almost the same as the dialogue level. In this case, an expander could not differentiate between the voice and the noise. More destructive noise removal tools would be needed here.

Gates and expanders are very similar tools, and most dedicated audio and video processing applications combine the Gate with the Expander. As I said above, expanders create a more natural-sounding noise treatment. The parameters that you need to adjust to turn a Gate into an Expander depends on the software you use, which we'll cover below.

Noise Reduction Parameters: Recommended Settings

Ratio

By controlling this parameter you tell the gate to reduce the volume level by an amount relative to the sounds that are in the audio track. Sometimes the Ratio is called Amount, as in Sony Vegas.

A ratio below 20:1 will act like an expander, with ratios in the 2:1 region making a subtle downward expansion. For example, at 2:1, for every 1dB the level drops below the Threshold the expander will reduce it by a further 1dB (totaling 2dB, hence 2:1).

Range

Whereas Ratio sets a relative reduction ratio, the Range parameter sets an absolute  reduction limit. By setting the range to -10dB, for example, you tell the expander/gate to never reduce the level by more than 10dB. This means the noise will be 10dB quieter than the dialogue.

Sometimes the Range is called Reduction, as in Final Cut Pro X.

Threshold

Threshold dictates the level at which the expander engages. Set this level so that dialogue is unaffected, but noise is reduced. For example, if the dialogue is averaging -18dB, set the threshold to -20dB (it's best to leave a few dB’s contingency).

Attack and Release

Attack and Release time dictate how quickly the expander takes to fully activate (or "open") and disengage (or "close"). For dialogue, I recommend 10 to 50ms Attack and a 12ms Release.

Hold

Hold dictates how long the gate stays open after the level drops below the Threshold. For dialogue, set this to 0 (or as low as it can go).

Software Examples

In Pro Tools, adjust the Range control.

Pro Tools GateExpander
Pro Tools Gate/Expander

Adobe Premier Pro has a built in Expander.

Adobe Premiere Expander
Adobe Premier Expander

In Final Cut Pro X, you can use the built in Expander (under Effects > Audio).

Final Cut Pro X Expander
Final Cut Pro X Expander

Or you can use the noise gate and adjust the Reduction parameter.

Final Cut Pro X Gate
Final Cut Pro X Gate

Sony Vegas, Reaper and some other programs don’t come with an expander. Instead, install this free VST plugin, Floorfish.






Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.