Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Night Photography

وأوضح التعرض: ISO، وسرعة المصراع وفتحه للتصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Night Photography.
How to Set Up Your Digital SLR for Night Photography
How to Photograph an Eclipse

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Abdul Mutholib (you can also view the original English article)

قبل أن يمكنك الخروج من منطقة الراحة الخاصة بك ويبدأ التحكم يدوياً الكاميرا الخاصة بك، تحتاج إلى فهم العلاقة بين المتغيرات الثلاثة التي تؤثر على التعرض.

ISO، الإعدادات الفتحة وسرعة مصراع التحكم في كمية الضوء التي تدخل الكاميرا الخاصة بك، بل أيضا تعطيك القدرة على ضخ بعض السمات الخاصة بك في الصور تقوم بإنشائها.

عندما كنت تمتلك المهارات الفنية اللازمة لمراقبة التعرض، يمكنك البدء في استغلال العديد من الجوانب الإبداعية هذه الإعدادات التأثير، مما يتيح لك حرية التعبير عن الرؤى في عقلك عين بوضوح أثناء إضافة الخاصة بك فريدة من نوعها تفسير للموضوع الخاص بك في الاختيار.

مع الممارسة والخبرة المكتسبة، السيطرة على العديد من المتغيرات التي تؤثر على هذه الإعدادات سوف تصبح طبيعة ثانية، وأهيب بكم أن تتخذ يغرق ورمي نفسك في النهاية العميقة في سعى لتحسين المعارف الخاصة بك وإضافتها إلى مجموعة مهارة التصوير الفوتوغرافي الخاص بك.

أساسيات التعرض

قبل أن ابدأ شرح كيف يمكنك التحكم يدوياً التعرض، يجدر تحديد اختصاصات للمعلمات الثلاث التحكم في كمية الضوء في الصور الخاصة بك.

ISO

ISO اختصار "منظمة المعايير الدولية". تقليديا كان يستخدم هذا المصطلح لوصف حساسية الضوء مستحلب الفيلم محددة، وهذا المعيار قد رحلت إلى عالم رقمي، حيث أنه يصف التضخيم الإشارات من قاعدة ISO الإعداد في أجهزة الاستشعار.

سرعة المصراع

يتحكم هذا الإعداد بمقدار الوقت إليه مصراع يعد مفتوحة، مع أوقات السماح لمزيد من الضوء إدخال الكاميرا. أيضا مباشرة التأثيرات المتحركة كم طمس أنها موجودة في صورة ما.

فتحه العدسة

يتحكم هذا الإعداد حجم الحاجز قزحية داخل العدسة في الكثير بنفس الطريقة التلميذ يتحكم في كمية الضوء التي تدخل أعيننا. هذا الإعداد أيضا يسمح لك بالتحكم في عمق المجال أو مجال التركيز التي تراها في الصور الخاصة بك.

فن توفيقي

يمكن تعديل كل من هذه المعلمات الثلاث التعرض بزيادات قياسية تسمى "توقف". الكاميرات الحديثة تسمح عادة لإجراء تعديلات في أصغر 1/3 وقف الزيادات لأي من هذه المتغيرات الثلاثة التعرض.

للتعويض عن أي تغيير في أي من هذه الإعدادات، والحفاظ على التعرض الصحيح، سوف تحتاج للتعويض عن طريق ضبط إعدادات التعرض الأخرى بنفس المقدار.

على سبيل المثال، إذا قمت بزيادة إعداد ISO بمحطة واحدة، سوف تحتاج إلى تعويض هذا من قبل "وقف أسفل" (تناقصي بمحطة واحدة) أما الفتحة أو مصراع إعدادات السرعة للحفاظ على التعرض الصحيح. وبدلاً من ذلك يمكن ضبط سرعة الفتحة ومصراع بنصف وقف كل.. كل شيء عن فن التوافق والتوازن.

The standard stops scale
العلاقة بين المتغيرات التعرض الثلاثة المعروضة في واحد وقف الزيادات. كما يمكنك زيادة التعرض بمحطة واحدة، يمكنك الحصول على مضاعفة كمية الضوء التي يتعرض في الصورة الخاصة بك. على العكس من ذلك، خفض التعرض عن طريق واحد وقف ينتج مقدار النصف كمية الضوء التي يتعرض.

للحصول على التعرض الصحيح، تحتاج إلى معرفة كيفية تفسير تعرض أجهزة الاستنشاق القراءة من الكاميرا الخاصة بك وحدد النوع الصحيح من القياس لموضوع معين ترغب في تبادل لإطلاق النار. وهذا جزء حاسم من الحصول على الصور دائماً مكشوف جيدا.

الكاميرات الرقمية الحديثة توفر لك أيضا مع مجموعة كبيرة أدوات التي تساعد في الحصول على التعرض الصحيح مثل عرض الرسم بياني، وأنا أجد الإيدز التعرض هذه مفيدة جداً. ومع ذلك، هو مردود الحقيقي لفهم التعرض للمراقبة، القدرة على تحديد إعدادات الأمثل بطريقة تكمل الموضوع كنت إطلاق النار.

ليلة التصوير الفوتوغرافي لا تختلف، وأنا العصا عموما إلى وضع مجموعة من المبادئ التوجيهية التي أعرف جيدا لمعظم الصور تبادل لإطلاق النار داخل هذا الانضباط العمل.

أنا سوف الخوض في استخدام التعرض متر الكاميرا الخاصة بك وبعض أدوات التعرض وإعدادات الكاميرا الأخرى في مقالتي القادمة في التصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة إطلاق النار في الوضع اليدوي التعرض.

Aperture Shutter ISO triangle
فهو يساعد على التفكير في التعرض كصراع ثلاثي بين ISO، وسرعة مصراع الكاميرا، والفتحة. من المهم لتحقيق التوازن بين هذه العناصر الثلاثة المتنافسة للحصول على صور تتعرض بشكل صحيح، ولكن تحتاج أيضا إلى استخدام الإعدادات التي سوف تكمل الموضوع الخاص بك.

فتحه العدسة

المرحلة الأولى من عملية جمع الضوء يحدث عندما يدخل الضوء من خلال العدسة الكاميرا، وعلى هذا النحو الفتحة نقطة انطلاق جيدة للمناقشة.

فتحه العدسة يمكن أن تكون أما حجم ثابت أو متغير الحجم فتح داخل العدسة، ويسمح لك هذا الإعداد تختلف كمية الضوء ضرب الطائرة الفيلم أو مستشعر الصورة الرقمية. يمكن تعديله باستخدام حلقة فتحه على العدسة نفسها، أو باستخدام أمر الاتصال هاتفي أو إعداد قائمة في الكاميرا.

"السرعة عدسة" يتحدد بالفتحة الحد الأقصى لها. العدسات سريع حفرة قطرها أكبر، مما يسمح بمزيد من الضوء في، وهذه خيار جيد لظروف الإضاءة المنخفضة السائدة في التصوير الليلي. ويعتبر عدسة سريعة إذا كان لديه فتحه أقصى f2.8 أو أدناه.

Nikkor 85mm lens with large aperture
العدسات بسرعة كبيرة للتصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة! يعني وجود فتحه كبيرة الصورة التي تراها في عدسة الكاميرا هو جعل أكثر إشراقا، تركز يدوياً أسهل في ظروف الإضاءة المنخفضة.

كما يمكنك وقف أسفل من العدسة الحد الأقصى، إنقاص حجم فتحه العدسة، يسمح ضوء أقل للدخول من خلال العدسة وتنقل إلى الطائرة الاستشعار أو الفيلم الصورة. ونتيجة لذلك ، يزيد عمق المجال (المساحة في التركيز) داخل الصورة.

بالفتحة متفاوتة، يمكنك التحكم في عمق الميدان في الصور الخاصة بك. أنماط مختلفة من التصوير تتطلب إعدادات مختلفة الفتحة استكمالا للموضوع، وسوف تحتاج لغالبية مواضيع التصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة على عمق كبير في الميدان للحفاظ على جميع أجزاء الصورة في التركيز الحاد.

للمساعدة في أقصى عمق الميدان وتحقيق التركيز الحاسمة، بعض العدسات لها علامات hyperfocal عليها. الكثير من التركيز اليدوي يعبي هذا جنبا إلى جنب مع حد لانهاية الثابت، وهذه جيدة لمواضيع التصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة، حيث التركيز يمكن أن يكون صعباً في ضوء انخفاض.

جودة الصورة ويتأثر مباشرة بفتحه، وعندما تستخدم العدسات في إعدادات المدقع، مشاكل مثل الحيود والاستجماتيزم يمكن أن يؤدي إلى خسارة في القرار والتباين. أداء معظم العدسات في أفضل حالاتها عند تعيين الإعدادات الفتحة المتوسطة مثل f8 أو f11. كقاعدة عامة من إبهام، استخدام الإعدادات الفتحة اثنين على الأقل يتوقف في إعدادات الحد الأدنى أو الحد الأقصى.

راجع مقالاتي عدسة اثنين لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذا الموضوع مع الإشارة بوجه خاص إلى ليلة التصوير الفوتوغرافي:

وهناك طريقة أخرى يمكنك التحكم في التعرض وتقليل كمية الضوء التي تدخل العدسة، وهذا لاستخدام مرشح كثافة محايدة. عن طريق وضع عامل تصفية ND أمام العدسة، يمكنك تقييد كمية الضوء التي تتلقى الكاميرا، وتتوفر المرشحات وفيات المواليد مع توقف يصل إلى 10 من تخفيض الخفيفة أو أكثر.

وهذه يمكن أن تكون مفيدة في حالات حيث يوجد الكثير الضوء أو كنت ترغب في استخدام مرات التعرض الطويل جداً.

سرعة المصراع

إليه مصراع هي الوصلة الثانية في سلسلة التصوير، وعن طريق التعلم للتحكم في إعدادات مصراع لك تصبح على درجة جستير وقت.

تغيير إعدادات سرعة مصراع طول الوقت المصراع لا تزال مفتوحة، وذلك يتم التقاط الضوء كم. تتحكم هذه الإعدادات أيضا مقدار الضبابية داخل الصور الخاصة بك، وعندما تستخدم خلاق يمكنهم إضافة شعور سريالية أو إعطاء السياق العاطفي لصورة، على سبيل المثال عن طريق زيادة الإحساس بالسرعة أو الحركة.

Image of motorbike in tunnel with motion blur
ويمكن تكثيف الضبابية والمبالغة في الشعور بسرعة، وإعطاء الصور الخاصة بك على وجود دينامية.

ويمكن إدخال الضبابية بطريقتين: بحركة الكاميرا أو بالحركة من موضوع كنت إطلاق النار. كما يمكنك زيادة سرعة مصراع الكاميرا، يمكنك تقليل تأثير الضبابية، أساسا "تجميد" الإجراءات.

هو عرض الكاميرا الضبابية عند تحريك الكاميرا نفسها أثناء فتح المصراع.

أنها أكثر إثارة للجدل عندما الكاميرا المحمولة باليد والنتائج في الصور ضبابية أو بقع، والتي تكون مرئية خاصة عند استخدام إعداد سرعة مصراع بطيئة.

يمكنك تقليل الضبابية الكاميرا بتركيب الكاميرا على منصة مستقرة مثل ترايبود، وهذا ضروري للتصوير الليلي. حركة الكاميرا طمس لا ينبغي أن يكون هناك مشكلة ما لم تتحرك الكاميرا بسبب الرياح أو بعض القوى الأخرى الاهتزاز، أو عند وضع ترايبود على سطح متحرك أو غير مستقرة.

موضوع الاقتراح طمس يحدث عند هذا الموضوع كنت إطلاق النار يتحرك من خلال الإطار في حين المصراع مفتوحة.

سرعة مصراع الكاميرا يمكنك اختيار التأثيرات طمس كمية الحركة في الصور الخاصة بك، ولكن هذا التمويه أيضا تعتمد على focal length لعدسة الخاص بك، وسرعة واتجاه حركة الموضوع بالنسبة لجميع الأبعاد الثلاثة.

المواضيع التي تتحرك أفقياً أو عمودياً عبر الإطار x و y الاتجاهات سوف يكون أكثر الضبابية في الوقت الحاضر مقارنة بالمواضيع التي تتحرك نحو أو بعيداً عن الكاميرا في المحور z. كنت بحاجة للتعويض عن ذلك بزيادة أو إنقاص سرعة مصراع لمواضيع مختلفة تبعاً لذلك.

البعد البؤري له أيضا تأثير على الضبابية، خاصة بالنسبة للطلقات المحمولة باليد، مما يجعل العدسات واسعة الزاوية أسهل في الاستخدام باليد من العدسات المقربة.

كقاعدة عامة من إبهام لمنع أي الضبابية أثناء عقد اليد كاميرات أن المباراة العدسة 35 مم البعد البؤري ما يعادل بسرعة مصراع المعاملة بالمثل. عدسة بطول بؤري من 100 ملم ولذلك تتطلب سرعة مصراع الكاميرا على الأقل 1/100 من الثانية للحيلولة دون طمس أي عندما المحمولة باليد.

صورة الاستقرار يمكن أن تساعد أيضا في منع الكاميرا الضبابية. إذا كان لعدسة الكاميرا أو تثبيت الصورة، يمكنك إنقاص سرعة مصراع بتوقف يصل إلى أربع لقطات باليد. ليلة التصوير الفوتوغرافي، واستخدام جهاز دعم ترايبود أو الكاميرا أفضل خيار لمنع حركة الكاميرا طمس.

شيء واحد أن نأخذ في الاعتبار أن سرعة مصراع طويلة يمكن أن يسبب مشاكل لكل من الفيلم والكاميرات الرقمية.

معظم الأفلام مصممة للعمل داخل مجموعة من مصراع بسرعة بين ثانية واحدة و 1/10.000 للثانية، ومصراع إعدادات خارج هذه السرعات يمكن أن يسبب عدم المعاملة بالمثل، مما أدى إلى أخطاء التعرض وتحول اللون. ويمكن تقليل آثار عدم المعاملة بالمثل باستخدام مرشحات تصحيح اللون أو التعرض للتعويضات.

أجهزة استشعار الصورة الرقمية لا يحمل عدم المعاملة بالمثل، ولكن يمكن إنشاء مصراع بسرعة أكثر من بضع ثوان قضايا أخرى مثل توهج أمبير والساخنة بكسل. هذا سبب صورة الاستشعار الكاميرا المحموم، ولكن هذا أقل بكثير من مشكلة مع تصميمات استشعار حديثة.

استخدام فلاش يمكن أيضا تساعد على التقليل من الحركة وطمس، كما أنه يحاكي بشكل فعال سرعة مصراع بسرعة لحوالي 1/2500th من الثانية (المدة الفلاش)، على الرغم من أن فلاش الكاميرا سرعة المزامنة قد يكون فقط 1/60 من الثانية. إذا كنت ترغب في استخدام الفلاش، يجب عليك تعيين سرعة مصراع الكاميرا في أو أقل سرعة المزامنة فلاش الكاميرا حيث أن حدوث المزامنة.

للتصوير الفوتوغرافي ليلة، سرعة تزامن الفلاش عادة ليست مشكلة وسرعة مصراع بطيئة عموما، وفلاش يمكن أن يكون وسيلة فعالة لإلقاء الضوء على موضوع معين أو مجالات الطلاء الخفيفة داخل الإطار. مزامنة فلاش الستار الخلفي خدعة جيدة لاستخدامها مع سرعة مصراع أبطأ، كما أنها حرائق الفلاش في نهاية التعرض، تجميد أي اقتراح هذا الموضوع أكثر فعالية.

Image with rear curtain flash sync
لقد استخدمت ستارة خلفية فلاش المزامنة لتجميد الموضوع الرئيسي بينما الكاميرا المحمولة باليد وتدويرها خلال هذه الصورة سرعة مصراع بطيئة. أنها ليست دائماً عن الحصول على لقطات كاميرا مستقرة، ويمكنك استخدام طمس لصالحك للحصول على خلاقة مع التصوير الفوتوغرافي.

ISO

ISO ربما هي العوامل الرئيسية التي تؤثر على جودة الصورة من الصور الخاصة بك، كما يمكنك زيادة إعدادات ISO، ستنخفض جودة الصورة من الصور الخاصة بك.

في كاميرات الأفلام، وتصنيف ISO يشير إلى حجم الحبوب الفيلم داخل مستحلب خاص. هذه الحبوب الفردية مثل "الفيلم بكسل"، ويزيد حجمها كما قمت بزيادة قيمة ISO، مما أدى إلى خسارة قرار. وقد أبطأ من الأفلام مثل Fujichrome Velvia سمة الحبوب الدقيقة، نستعرض ألوان أكثر كثافة وحل المزيد من التفاصيل.

في الكاميرات الرقمية، ويشير تصنيف ISO لتضخيم الإشارات من صورة الاستشعار. كما يمكنك زيادة ISO من الإعداد الأساسي (عادة حول إيزو-100)، يمكنك أيضا إلكترونيا تضخيم كمية الضوضاء الموجودة في البيانات الرقمية التي يتم التقاطها من أجهزة الاستشعار. وهذا يؤدي إلى القطع الأثرية مثل بكسل الساخنة وفقدان التباين والنطاق الديناميكي، والقرار واللون.

اعتماداً على حجم صورة الاستشعار في الكاميرا الخاصة بك، جودة الصورة في إعدادات ISO 400 أو أعلاه غالباً ما تعرض للخطر، مع اللون التشبع والقرار والنطاق الديناميكي كل المعاناة مقارنة بتخفيض إعدادات ISO.

في بعض حالات الإضاءة المنخفضة، ومع ذلك، فإنه يمكن أن يكون من المستحيل الحصول على النار المطلوبة باستخدام إعداد ISO أقل، وقد تحتاج إلى حل وسط جودة الصورة في ظل هذه الظروف.

Comparison of the same shot using two different exposure settings
نفس المشهد بإطلاق النار باستخدام إعدادات مختلفة التعرض اثنين يبين كيفية زيادة قيمة ISO يؤثر على نوعية الصور الخاصة بك. واتخذ الصورة الموجودة على اليسار باستخدام إعداد قاعدة إيزو ISO-200، بينما الصورة على الحق في استخدام إعداد ISO 3200. يمكنك أن ترى في الصور 100 ٪ المحاصيل أن هناك خسارة في القرار واللون والتباين، مع الضوضاء ISO عالية واضحة بشكل خاص في المنطقة السماء فوق الأبراج.

لظروف الإضاءة المنخفضة السائدة في التصوير الليلي، فمن الأفضل استخدام تركيبة من العدسات بسرعة مع أجهزة استشعار الصورة الكبيرة، مثل الإصدارات كامل الإطار حجم 35 ملم المستخدمة في بعض الكاميرات نيكون، سوني وكانون.

هذه الكاميرات كبيرة استشعار الإضاءة المنخفضة الأداء المتفوق، ويمكن دفعهم إلى إعدادات ISO القصوى دون المساس بجودة الصورة كثيرا.

تصنيف ISO على أحدث الكاميرات الرقمية مثل A7s سوني وصلت مستويات الستراتوسفير، مع هذا الطراز يوفر إعداد ISO-409، 600. العد بكسل منخفضة (12 ميغابكسل) جنبا إلى جنب مع جهاز استشعار كامل الإطار المستخدم في هذه الكاميرا، يسمح لجودة الصورة في مستويات تصل إلى ISO 6400.

وجود كاميرا مع الذكاء جيدة في أعلى ISO قيم يعطيك ترف الأمثل بين المتغيرات الأخرى التي تتحكم في التعرض. تسمح الإعدادات الفتحة وسرعة مصراع للسيطرة أكثر الفني على الصور الخاصة بك من ISO، التي التأثيرات فقط حقاً أن جودة الصورة داخل الصور الخاصة بك.

الخلاصة: تحط إعدادات ISO أعلى جودة الصورة، وحتى الاحتفاظ بإعدادات ISO منخفضة هو الهدف. مزيج من ارتفاع القرار (ميجا عالية)، وجهاز استشعار صغير الحجم يؤدي إلى جودة الصورة انخفاض في قيم ISO عالية، لذا اختر العدسات بسرعة، ومجسات الكاميرا كبيرة لمكافحة هذه المشاكل.

تجاوز اليدوي

بينما الكاميرات الرقمية الحديثة القيام بعمل جيد جداً لالتقاط الصور في مختلف طرق التعرض التلقائي التي تتطلب إدخال المستخدم سوى القليل جداً، الآن أكثر أهمية لفهم المبادئ الأساسية لكيفية استخدام كاميرا يدوياً، ونأمل أن تذهب هذه المادة بعض طريقة لزيادة الفهم والمعرفة بهذه المبادئ الهامة الخاصة بك.

سوف تحصل على شعور بالارتياح من معرفة متى وكيف ولماذا كنت بحاجة إلى حل وسط هذه المتغيرات التعرض لتحقيق نتيجة المرجوة، وأيضا من معرفة أن كنت تأخذ السيطرة على جميع جوانب التصوير الفوتوغرافي.

التعلم لتحسين إعدادات التعرض لمختلف حالات التصوير يستغرق وقتاً طويلاً وجهدا والممارسة... حتى الخروج من هناك والحصول على إطلاق النار!

في مقالتي القادمة سوف أصف ما هي إعدادات لاستخدامها وكيفية تشغيل كاميرا رقمية في الوضع اليدوي للتصوير الليلي. ثم انظر لك...

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Night Photography
Photography

Exposure Explained: ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture for Night Photography

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Night Photography.
How to Set Up Your Digital SLR for Night Photography
How to Photograph an Eclipse

Before you can move out of your comfort zone and begin manually controlling your camera, you need to understand the relationship between the three variables that influence exposure.

ISO, shutter speed and aperture settings not only control the amount of light entering your camera, but also give you the ability to inject some of your own personality into the images you create. 

Once you possess the technical skills required for exposure control, you can begin to exploit many of the creative aspects these settings influence, giving you the freedom to express the visions in your mind's eye with clarity while adding your own unique interpretation to your subject matter of choice. 

With practice and experience, controlling the many variables these settings affect will become second nature, and I encourage you to take the plunge and throw yourself in the deep end in a quest to improve your knowledge and add to your photographic skill set.

Exposure Basics

Before I begin explaining how you manually control exposure, it is worth defining terms of reference for the three parameters controlling the amount of light in your images.

ISO

ISO is an acronym for International Standards Organisation. This term was traditionally used to describe the light sensitivity of a specific film emulsion, and this standard has carried over into the digital realm, where it describes the signal amplification from the sensor's base ISO setting. 

Shutter Speed

This setting controls the amount of time the shutter mechanism is open, with longer times allowing more light to enter the camera. It also directly influences how much motion blur is present in an image. 

Aperture

This setting controls the size of the iris diaphragm within the lens in much the same way the pupil controls the amount of light entering our eyes. This setting also allows you to control the depth of field or the area of focus you see in your pictures. 

The Art of Compromise

Each of these three exposure parameters can be adjusted in standardised increments called "stops". Modern cameras usually allow for adjustments in smaller 1/3 stop increments for any of these three exposure variables.

To compensate for any change in one of these settings and maintain correct exposure, you will need to compensate by adjusting one of the other exposure settings by the same amount. 

For example, if you increase the ISO setting by one stop, you will need to compensate for this by "stopping down" (decreasing by one stop) either the aperture or shutter speed settings to maintain correct exposure. You could alternatively adjust both aperture and shutter speed by half a stop each... it's all about equilibrium and the art of compromise.

The standard stops scale
The relationship between the three exposure variables displayed in single stop increments. As you increase exposure by one stop, you get a doubling of the amount of light being exposed in your image. Conversely, decreasing exposure by one stop results in a halving of the amount of light being exposed.

To get correct exposure, you need to know how to interpret the metered exposure reading from your camera and select the correct type of metering for the particular subject you intend to shoot. This is a crucial part of getting consistently well-exposed images.

Modern digital cameras also provide you with a plethora of tools like a histogram display which assist in getting correct exposure, and I find these exposure aids very useful. The real payoff to understanding exposure control, however, is the ability to select optimised settings in a way that complements the subject matter you are shooting. 

Night photography is no different, and I generally stick to a set of guidelines that I know work well for the majority of images I shoot within this discipline. 

I will delve into using your camera's exposure meter and some of the other exposure tools and camera settings in my forthcoming article on shooting night photography in manual exposure mode.

Aperture Shutter ISO triangle
It helps to think of exposure as a three-way tussle between ISO, shutter speed and aperture. It is important to balance these three competing elements to get correctly exposed pictures, but you also need to use settings that will complement your subject matter.

Aperture

The initial stage of the light-gathering process occurs when light enters the camera through the lens, and as such aperture is a good starting point for discussion. 

Aperture can either be a fixed size or a variable sized opening within the lens, and this setting allows you to vary the amount of light hitting the film plane or digital image sensor. It can be adjusted by using an aperture ring on the lens itself, or by using a command dial or menu setting in the camera. 

A lens's "speed" is determined by its maximum aperture. Fast lenses have a larger diameter hole, which allows more light in, and these are a good option for the low-light conditions prevalent in night photography. A lens is considered fast if it has a maximum aperture of f2.8 or below.

Nikkor 85mm lens with large aperture
Fast lenses are great for night photography! Having a large aperture means the image you see in the viewfinder is brighter, making focussing manually easier in low-light conditions.

As you stop down from the lens's maximum aperture, the size of the aperture hole decreases, allowing less light to enter through the lens and pass on to the image sensor or film plane. As a consequence, the depth of field (area in focus) within the image increases. 

By varying aperture, you control the depth of field in your images. Different styles of photography require different aperture settings to complement the subject matter, and for the majority of night photography subjects you will need a large depth of field to keep all parts of the image in sharp focus.

To aid in maximising depth of field and achieve critical focus, some lenses have hyperfocal markings on them. Many manual focus primes have this along with a hard infinity stop, and these are good for night photography subjects, where focus can be difficult in low light. 

Image quality is directly influenced by aperture, and when lenses are used at extreme settings, problems such as diffraction and astigmatism can lead to a loss of resolution and contrast. Most lenses perform at their best when set to middle aperture settings like f8 or f11. As a general rule of thumb, use aperture settings at least two stops in from the minimum or maximum settings.

See my two lens articles for more info on this subject with special reference to night photography:

There is one other way you can control exposure and decrease the amount of light entering the lens, and that is to use a neutral density filter. By placing an ND filter in front of the lens, you restrict the amount of light the camera receives, and ND filters with up to 10 stops of light reduction or more are available. 

These can be handy in situations where there is too much light or you wish to use very long exposure times.

Shutter Speed

The shutter mechanism is the second link in the imaging chain, and by learning to control shutter settings you become a master of time. 

Shutter speed settings alter the length of time the shutter remains open, and therefore how long light is captured. These settings also control the amount of motion blur within your images, and when used creatively they can add a surreal feeling or give emotional context to a photo, for example by increasing the sense of speed or motion.

Image of motorbike in tunnel with motion blur
Motion blur can intensify and exaggerate the feeling of speed, giving your images a dynamic presence.

Motion blur can be introduced in two ways: by the motion of the camera or by the movement of the subject you are shooting. As you increase shutter speeds, you lessen the effect of motion blur, essentially "freezing" the action.

Camera motion blur is introduced when the camera itself moves while the shutter is open. 

It is more problematic when the camera is hand-held and results in blurry or smeared images, which are especially visible when using a slow shutter-speed setting. 

You can minimise camera motion blur by mounting the camera on a stable platform like a tripod, and for night photography this is essential. Camera motion blur shouldn't be a problem unless the camera moves due to wind or some other force bumping it, or when placing the tripod on a moving or unstable surface.

Subject motion blur occurs when the subject you are shooting is moving through the frame whilst the shutter is open. 

The shutter speed you choose influences the amount of motion blur in your photos, but this blur is also dependent on the focal length of your lens and the speed and direction of subject movement relative to all three dimensions.

Subjects that move horizontally or vertically across the frame in the x and y directions will have more motion blur present compared to subjects that move towards or away from the camera in the z axis. You need to compensate for this by increasing or decreasing shutter speeds for different subjects accordingly.

Focal length also has a bearing on motion blur, especially for hand-held shots, making wide-angle lenses easier to use hand-held than telephoto lenses. 

A general rule of thumb to prevent any motion blur while hand-holding cameras is to match the lens's 35mm equivalent focal length to a reciprocal shutter speed. A lens with a focal length of 100mm would therefore require a shutter speed of at least 1/100th of a second to prevent any blur when hand-held. 

Image stabilisation can also help prevent camera motion blur. If the lens or camera has image stabilisation, you can decrease the shutter speed by up to four stops for hand-held shots. For night photography, using a tripod or camera support device is a much better option for preventing camera motion blur.

One thing to keep in mind is that extended shutter speeds can cause issues for both film and digital cameras.

Most films are designed to work within a range of shutter speeds between one second and 1/10,000th of a second, and shutter settings outside of these speeds can cause reciprocity failure, leading to exposure errors and colour shift. The effects of reciprocity failure can be minimised by the use of colour correction filters or exposure compensation.

Digital image sensors don't exhibit reciprocity failure, but shutter speeds of more than a few seconds can create other issues like amp glow and hot pixels. This is due to the camera's image sensor overheating, but this is far less of a problem with newer sensor designs.

Using a flash can also help to lessen motion blur, as it effectively simulates a fast shutter speed of about 1/2500th of a second (the flash's duration), even though the camera's flash sync speed may only be 1/60th of a second. If you want to use flash, you must set the shutter speed at or below the camera's flash sync speed so that synchronisation occurs. 

For night photography, the flash sync speed normally isn't a problem as shutter speeds are generally slow, and flash can be an effective way to illuminate a particular subject or light paint areas within the frame. Rear curtain flash sync is a good trick to use with slower shutter speeds, as it fires the flash at the end of the exposure, freezing any subject motion more effectively.

Image with rear curtain flash sync
I used rear-curtain flash sync to freeze the main subject while the camera is hand-held and rotated during this slow-shutter-speed photograph. It isn't always about getting stable camera shots, and you can use blur to your advantage to get creative with your photography.

ISO

ISO is perhaps the main factor influencing the image quality of your photos—as you increase ISO settings, the image quality of your photos will decline. 

In film cameras, the ISO rating points to the size of the film grains within a particular emulsion. These individual grains are like "film pixels", and their size increases as you increase the ISO value, leading to a loss of resolution. Slower films like Fujichrome Velvia have a finer grain characteristic, exhibiting more intense colours and resolving more detail.

In digital cameras, the ISO rating refers to the amplification of the signal from the image sensor. As you increase ISO from the base setting (usually around ISO-100), you also electronically amplify the amount of noise present in the digital data captured by the sensor. This leads to artifacts like hot pixels and a loss of contrast, dynamic range, resolution and colour. 

Depending on the size of the image sensor in your camera, image quality at settings of ISO-400 or above is often compromised, with colour saturation, resolution and dynamic range all suffering compared to lower ISO settings. 

In certain low-light situations, however, it can be impossible to get the required shot using a lower ISO setting, and you may need to compromise image quality under these circumstances.

Comparison of the same shot using two different exposure settings
The same scene shot using two different exposure settings shows how increasing ISO value affects the quality of your images. The image on the left was taken using a base ISO setting of ISO-200, whilst the image on the right used a setting of ISO-3200. You can see in the 100% crop images that there is a loss of resolution, colour and contrast, with high ISO noise particularly visible in the area of sky above the towers.

For the low-light conditions prevalent in night photography, it is best to use a combination of fast lenses with large image sensors, like the 35mm size full-frame versions used in some Canon, Sony and Nikon cameras.

These large-sensor cameras have superior low-light performance, and you can push them to extreme ISO settings without compromising image quality too much. 

The ISO rating on newer digital cameras like the Sony A7s has reached stratospheric levels, with this model offering a setting of ISO-409,600. The low pixel count (12 Megapixels) combined with the full-frame sensor used in this camera, allows for good image quality at levels up to ISO-6400.

Having a camera with good IQ at higher ISO values gives you the luxury of optimising the two other variables that control exposure. Shutter speed and aperture settings allow for more artistic control over your images than ISO, which really only influences the image quality within your photos.

Bottom line: Higher ISO settings degrade image quality, so keeping ISO settings low is the goal. A combination of high resolution (high megapixel) and small sensor size leads to decreased image quality at high ISO values, so choose fast lenses and large camera sensors to combat these problems.

Manual Override

Whilst modern digital cameras do a pretty good job of taking photos in various automatic exposure modes that require very little user input, it is far more important to understand the basic principles of how to use a camera manually, and this article hopefully goes some way to increasing your understanding and knowledge of these important principles.

You'll get a great sense of satisfaction from knowing when, how and why you need to compromise these exposure variables to achieve a desired end result, and also from knowing that you are taking control over all aspects of your photography. 

Learning to optimise exposure settings for different photographic situations takes time, effort and practice... so get out there and get shooting!

In my next article I will describe what settings to use and how to operate a digital camera in manual mode for night photography. See you then...

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.