Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Lens Selection

هنا هو ما الذي تبحث عنه عند شراء عدسات التصوير الفوتوغرافي

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Lenses.
Before You Buy a Better Camera, Buy Better Lenses

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Aeni Amalia (you can also view the original English article)

بشكل أساسي ، تعد العدسات بسيطة للغاية: فهي تأخذ الضوء من مشهد وتركز عليه حتى تتمكن الكاميرا من التقاط صورة. من الناحية العملية ، مع ذلك ، فإن اختيار العدسة هو العدسة الصحيحة بشكل معقد. اختيار العدسات هي واحدة من أقوى الخيارات التي يمكن أن تجعل كمصور.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، سنلقي نظرة على ما يجعل عدسة فوتوغرافية جيدة. ستتعرف على الخصائص التي تحدد العدسة الجيدة وكيفية اختيار العدسات التي تناسب احتياجاتك. لا توجد عدسة مثالية ، بأي ثمن: حتى أفضل العدسات لها مشاكل. المفتاح هو اختيار العدسات التي تعظيم الخصائص التي تريدها وتقليل الخصائص التي لا تريدها.

ماذا يحدث عندما يدخل الضوء إلى العدسة؟

أبسط العدسة المحتملة التي يمكن استخدامها لعرض صورة عدسة محدبة واحدة. عندما يضرب شعاع الضوء على الزجاج عدسة هو يتخلله، تغيير اتجاه الضوء. مع عدسة محدبة ، تتلاقى جميع أشعة الضوء عند النقطة المحورية للعدسة. تسمى المسافة بين زجاج العدسة والنقطة البؤرية بالبعد البؤري لتلك العدسة. على الرغم من أن تحديد المواقع الدقيقة للطائرة الفيلم يختلف بين الشركات المصنعة، الطائرة الفيلم يوضع في الوصل حيث ركزت الضوء من العدسة يخلق صورة صغيرة، المتوقعة من مكان الحادث.

convex lens
عدسة محدبة مثالية وبسيطة. الصورة: الدكتور بوب عبر ويكيبيديا.

في حين أن كل هذا رائع من الناحية النظرية ، فإنه يفترض العدسات المثالية ويتجاهل العديد من الخصائص أكثر من الباطنية للضوء. عدسة محدبة بسيطة لن تخلق صورة مرضية بسبب الانحرافات البصرية.

تحدث الانحرافات البصرية عن طريق أمرين: الهندسة غير الدقيقة للعدسات والاختلافات بين كيفية مرور الأطوال الموجية المختلفة (ألوان) الضوء. في عدسة محدبة بسيطة ، ستكون هذه الانحرافات ملحوظة بشكل لا يصدق. ومع ذلك، عن طريق إضافة عناصر إضافية، كل منها مصمم لتصحيح الانحرافات محددة، الشركات المصنعة للعدسة يمكن التقليل من آثارها.

لا تعد إضافة عناصر إضافية حلًا مثاليًا. في كل مرة ينتقل الضوء من عدسة إلى أخرى يتم فقدان القليل من الضوء. لمزيد من العناصر في العدسة ، والمزيد من الضوء واللون المعلومات التي فقدت في نقل العدوى. هناك مقايضة بين تصحيح الانحرافات البصرية والحفاظ على المعلومات.

لدينا سيمون براي لديه مقال ممتاز عن أساسيات تصميم العدسات ، إذا كنت تريد معرفة المزيد عن العدسات. اثنان من دورات ديف بود ، دليل مصور للضوء وما يجب أن يعرفه كل مصور عن العدسات ، انطلق إلى العمق حول كيفية عمل الضوء والعدسات.

الحافة من الحافة إلى الحافة ، الانحرافات البصرية والعناصر

تم تصميم العدسات الحديثة لفعل أمرين: إنشاء أكبر عرض ممكن على مستوى الصورة بأكملها وتقليل الانحرافات البصرية. بالمقارنة مع العدسات القديمة ، فإنها تستخدم الكثير من عناصر العدسة وأكثر تعقيدًا.

الطائرة البؤري للعدسة ليست مسطحة تماما. بسبب انحراف كروي ، يوجد في الواقع منحنى دقيق. أجهزة الاستشعار الرقمية ، في معظمها ، مسطحة. وهذا يعني أنه إذا تماما هو ركز المركز على الصورة، لن تكون الحواف. من أجل الحصول على حافة الحدة، بحاجة إلى الكثير من العناصر المختلفة المراد إضافتها. وسيكون العديد من العدسات الحديثة ما يزيد عن عشرة عناصر. على سبيل المثال ، يحتوي Sigma 50mm f /1.4 (والذي يتم الإشادة به على نطاق واسع للوضوح) على 13 عنصرًا.

canon 24-105 optics
عناصر العدسة في عدسة زووم كانون 24-105 f / 4. الصورة: أليسيو فاشين عبر ويكيبيديا.

يتم إنشاء عناصر ليست كلها على قدم المساواة. عدسات معقدة، مثل عناصر aspherical، إضافة إلى التعويض عن الانحرافات الموجودة في عناصر كروية. فمن السهل جداً للمصنعين للحصول على صيدها في نمط لإضافة المزيد من العناصر لإصلاح المشاكل التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة السابقة!

في حين أنه لا يوجد شيء خاطئ في العدسات ذات العد العالي ، إلا أنها تقلل من انتقال الضوء والألوان ، مما يؤثر على كيفية ظهور الصور الناتجة.

3D Rendition و Micro-Contrast

العدسات القديمة لديها عناصر أقل بكثير من العدسات الحديثة. هذا يجعلها أكثر عرضة للانحرافات البصرية ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ، يعني أنها غالباً ما تكون لها حواف ناعمة جداً. من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن أن يكون لديهم بعض الخصائص اللطيفة بشكل لا يصدق. على عكس الدقة أو الحدة ، هذه الخصائص أكثر صعوبة في القياس باستخدام المخطط.

تكون العدسات التي تحتوي على عناصر أقل أفضل عمومًا عند تقديم التفاصيل ، لذلك تظهر الصور التي تنشئها أكثر ثلاثية الأبعاد. من الواضح أن كل التفاصيل يتم تقديمها في الواقع على أنها صورة ثنائية الأبعاد ، ولكن مظهر الأبعاد الثلاثة يعتمد على تفاصيل دقيقة يتم فقدانها بسبب الإفراط في تصحيح الانحرافات البصرية والضوء الذي يمر عبر العديد من العناصر. تنتج العدسة التي تحتوي على عناصر قليلة فقط صورًا تحتوي على فصل واضح أكبر بين مواضيع الخلفية والمقدمة ودقة أكبر في رسم الأشكال الهندسية. عند إضافة عناصر إلى العدسة ، يتضاءل التأثير ثلاثي الأبعاد. عند إضافة عناصر إلى العدسة ، يتضاءل التأثير ثلاثي الأبعاد. هذا هو المسؤول عن المظهر السريري المسطح للعدسات الحديثة. المصور الكندي يانيك خونغ لديه مقالة رائعة تتعمق في هذه القضية .

التباين الجزئي هو مقادير صغيرة من تباين الألوان والدرجات اللونية بين التفاصيل حول موضوع ما. تأثير خفية بشكل لا يصدق ولكن غالباً ما يحدد الزجاج ممتازة — مثل إيكا، زايس، سلسلة L الكنسي، والعدسات المتوسطة تنسيق أو تنسيق كبير — وبصرف النظر عن العدسات أرخص. التباين الجزئي ما يعطي مجالات تتسق اللون مادة واقعية ودقيقة. ومن بين التفاصيل الأولى إلى فقدان عندما يمر الضوء من خلال عناصر كثيرة جداً. في حين أنها ليست ضرورية لصورة فوتوغرافية كبيرة، أنها واحدة من الأشياء التي تضيف حرف إلى صورة. مرة أخرى ، قد كتب يانيك خونغ لقطة مفصلة .

القرار الصعب

من ناحية ، لدينا العدسات الحديثة ذات الدقة العالية ، الحافة من الحافة إلى الحافة ، الحد الأدنى من الانحرافات والكثير من العناصر. من ناحية أخرى ، لدينا عدسات قديمة بعناصر أقل ، المزيد من الانحرافات ، زوايا ناعمة وثلاثية الأبعاد (ولكن من الصعب قياسها) و تباين دقيق. ما هي العدسة الأفضل؟

كما مع الكثير من الأشياء، فإن الجواب: الأمر يعتمد. الزجاج الحديثة أكثر تكلفة. يمكنك الحصول على العدسات القديمة مع عناصر أقل في صفقة في السوق من جهة ثانية. إذا كانت الميزانية ليست عاملاً رئيسيا على الرغم من، تحصل على الاختيار أكثر صعوبة.

multi element portrait
لقد قمت بتصوير هذه اللوحة باستخدام Canon المكون من 9 عناصر 85mm f /1.8 تقريبا كل الأبعاد الثلاثة تأتي من عمق المجال.

ما يرجع إليه حقًا هو موضوع الموضوع الذي تعمل معه. إذا كنت تصوّر صورًا ذات فتحة عدسة منخفضة ، فسيتم فصل جميع فواصل الخلفية عن عمق الحقل بدلاً من تأثيرات العدسة. قد تلاحظ القليل من الأبعاد في بعض تفاصيل الوجه وفقدان تغير اللون في الخلفية غير الواضحة ، ولكن يجب أن تكون على ما يرام.

إذا، رغم ذلك، كنت مصور المناظر الطبيعية، قد ترغب في الحصول على ثريديمينسيوناليتي ونسيج أكبر قدر ممكن في الصور الخاصة بك. طالما كنت تعمل مع فتحات ضيقة، لا ينبغي أن يكون فقدان الحدة في الحواف ملحوظ جداً.

تحتاج إلى العمل بنفسك حيث تقع احتياجاتك على هذا الطيف. وسوف يكون هناك دائماً التجارة العرضية، حتى تحديد الصفات التي تريدها معظم في العدسات الخاصة بك ثم قم باختيار تلك التي يكون لهم.

تقييم العدسة: معايير الاختيار والأسئلة الأساسية

دعونا نذهب من خلال جميع الصفات والنقاط للنظر فيها عند تقييم العدسة. لقد قسمتها إلى أربعة أقسام: الجودة التقنية ، الجودة الجمالية ، البناء ، والمظهر.

الصفات التقنية للعدسة

النوعية التقنية أساس بداية جيدة.

  • التركيز: لديه العدسة اوتوفوكس، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، ما هو نوع من ضبط تلقائي للصورة؟ عادةً ما تكون الطرق الأحدث أسرع وأكثر هدوءًا ، ولكن ليس دائمًا. ما هي طرق التركيز التي تسمح بها العدسة؟
  • التركيز على التنفس: هل تغير البعد البؤري تبعاً لدرجة كبيرة حيث كنت تركز؟ كيف سيؤثر هذا على أي صور تخطط لصنعها؟
  • تحويل اللون : كيف تجعل العدسة لونًا؟ هل هي دقيقة بشكل لا يصدق أو أنها نغمات بعض نغمات؟
  • عدسة الطلاء: كيف المغلفة عناصر العدسة؟ الطلاءات هي طريقة فعالة لتقليل الزيغ اللوني ، ولكنها قد تؤثر سلبًا على انتقال الضوء. إذا كنت إطلاق النار أفضل أبيض وأسود، أقل العناصر المغلفة. للون، تحتاج الطلاء متعددة للتعامل مع انحراف.
  • غيبوبة: كيف تستخرج خارج المحور نقطة مصادر الضوء؟ هل تعاني العدسة من الكثير من الانحرافات الكوميدية أم أنها تظل نقاطًا؟
  • تشويه : يؤثر تشويه برميل ودبوس وسادة على الخطوط المستقيمة في الصور الخاصة بك وعدسة واسعة الزاوية هي أكثر عرضة. كيف يتم تشويه حواف الصورة بالعدسة؟ هل التشويه أكثر من اللازم لاحتياجاتك؟
  • هبوطاً الخفيفة: كيف يفعل الضوء تسقط نحو حافة الصورة؟ هل توجد المقالة القصيرة الثقيلة أو هل تتعرض الصورة بشكل متساوٍ؟
  • الاستخدام مع الفلاتر : هل يمكنك استخدام العدسة مع برغي 77 مم قياسي على الفلاتر أم أنها حجم غير معتاد ، تحتاج إلى محولات؟
  • مضيئة وأشباح: كيف تتفاعل العدسة إلى مصادر الضوء خارج المحور؟ هل تسبب مشاعل عدسة مثيرة والظلال؟ هل تريد هذا التأثير؟
  • هامش اللون الجانبي : كم تبلغ العدسة من الانحرافات اللونية؟ هل ستنتهي جميع صورك بهامش ملونة أم ستكون بالكاد مرئية؟
  • التركيز الكلي والحد الأدنى من مسافة التركيز : ما مدى قرب تركيز العدسة؟
  • الحدة : ما مدى حدة العدسة على نطاق واسع؟ ماذا عن في الفتحة أشد؟ هل هو حاد من الزاوية إلى الزاوية أو فقط في المركز؟ هل أنت حتى بحاجة إلى تك صور حادة؟
  • سفيروتشروماتيسم: مماثلة إلى الوحشي هامش اللون لكن الناجمة عن خاصية بصرية مختلفة. وسوف تكون مشكلة؟
  • سونستارس: كيفية ظهور مصادر الضوء الساطع في فتحات أصغر؟ شفرات كم الحجاب الحاجز الفتحة؟ وهذا ما يحدد مظهر سونستارس.

الصفات الجمالية للعدسة

قد لا تكون العدسة مثالية من الناحية الفنية ولكن لا تزال تتمتع بطابع جمالي يجعلها جديرة بالاهتمام.

  • عائلة العدسة : هل العدسة تعتمد على التصميم الكلاسيكي؟ وهناك الكثير من الكمال--ولكن--جماليا العدسات التي أصبحت عبادة المفضلة. ربما استخدم مصور معين هذه العدسة في أعمالهم الأكثر شهرة؟
  • شخصية خوخه : كيف ننظر خوخه في فتحات واسعة؟ هل تضيف أو تنقص من نوع الصور التي تريد إنشاءها؟ هل هي غير عادية أو مثيرة للاهتمام في أي شكل من الأشكال؟
  • Microcontrast : كيف تجعل العدسة تغيرات صغيرة في اللون؟ هل يقوم بتسطيحها أو ترك microcontrast سليمة؟
  • 3D-ness : كيف تجعل العدسة كائنات ثلاثية الأبعاد؟ يتم الحفاظ على الأشياء ضغطها بحيث تظهر على نفس الطائرة أو هل هم على الامتلاء؟

عدسة البناء

الإسكان العدسة أهمية العدسات نفسها تقريبا.

  • المواد: ماذا عن العدسة؟ عدسات معدنية محاصيل ولكن العدسات البلاستيكية أرخص. هل تحتاج إلى عدسات صعبة؟
  • لتركيز على التنفس : هل يتغير البعد البؤري بشكل كبير حسب المكان الذي تركز عليه؟ كيف سيؤثر هذا على أي صور تخطط لصنعها؟
  • زاوية العرض: ما هو المعدل البعد البؤري للعدسة إذا كنت تستخدم شيء آخر غير كاميرا 35 ملم/كامل الإطار؟ أيضا على نطاق واسع أو ضيق لتلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك؟
  • نسبة التكاثر القصوى: لقطات الماكرو، ما هو الحصص بين حجم هذا الموضوع وأنه قد استنسخت الحجم في المركز؟
  • غيبوبة : كيف يتم عرض مصادر الضوء خارج المحور؟ هل تعاني العدسة من الكثير من الانحرافات الكوميدية أم أنها تظل نقاطًا؟ هل ستعمل في مجموعة واسعة من الظروف البيئية حيث ستتغير اللانهاية البصرية بشكل ملحوظ؟
  • يركز المقياس: كيف الصغيرة زيادة التركيز؟ إذا كنت ستقوم بالكثير من التركيز اليدوي ، فكلما كان أصغر كلما كان ذلك أفضل.
  • مقياس العمق من الميدان: العديد من كبار السن من العدسات التركيز اليدوي لها علامات على البرميل لمساعدتك في القيام بالتركيز hyperfocal.
  • تصفية موضوع: ما هو حجم مؤشر ترابط مرشح؟ مشترك؟ هل لديك المرشحات التي تناسبه؟ هل هو معدن أم بلاستيكي؟
  • Mount: كيف يتم تركيب العدسة على الكاميرا ، وهل تتوافق مع الكاميرا؟ هل هو جبل من البلاستيك أو المعدن؟ كيف الآن المشروع الشفة في الجسم؟
  • الحجم: ما حجم العدسة؟ يجب عليك حملها. بعض الشركات المصنعة للعدسات مثل Sigma و Sony تصنع عدسات كبيرة في حين أن البعض الآخر ، مثل Leica و Voigtlander ، يصنعون عدسات أصغر.
  • الوزن : ما مدى ثقل العدسة؟ مرة أخرى ، يجب عليك حملها والعمل معها.
  • قبعات : كيف تعلق غطاء العدسة؟ هل من السهل إزالته؟ هل ستقع بسهولة؟
  • غطاء محرك السيارة : هل تأتي العدسة بغطاء لحماية ضد عدسة مضيئة؟
  • الحالة : هل للعدسة حالة؟ هل هو قادر على حماية العدسة؟

يشعر العدسة

هذا التدبير الأخير ذاتي تمامًا. كيف يشعر العدسة عند استخدام ذلك؟ أنها متوازنة مع الكاميرا الخاصة بك؟ هل تتحرك حلقة الفتحة والضوابط المركزة بسلاسة؟ هل هو عدسة صورة جميلة سمين ، جيد للعمل ببطء؟ أم أنها عدسة بانكاك صغيرة ، مثالية لتصوير الشوارع؟ ن إحساس العدسة هو ، من بعض الوجوه ، أهم سمة. يمكنك قراءة مراجعات الإنترنت طوال اليوم حول العدسات "المثالية" ، ولكنها العدسة بين يديك التي ستستخدمها في العالم الحقيقي. يجب أن تشعر بحالة جيدة.

وفي ختام

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، نظرت إلى ما يجعل العدسة جيدة ، أو بالأحرى ، ما هي الخصائص التي يمكن استخدامها لتحديد عدسة جيدة. ما إذا كنت تحدد أولوية الحافة من الحافة إلى الحافة والقرار على الأبعاد الثلاثة الأكثر دقة والأبعاد الصغرى أمر متروك لك. تحتوي العدسات الحديثة المتعددة العناصر على مكان ، مثل العدسات القديمة والبسيطة.

وأخيراً، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن أنا كنت قد تركز ضمناً على العدسات رئيس الوزراء. من المستحيل تقريبا أن عدسة التكبير تعمل مع عناصر قليلة فقط. لعدسات التكبير، وأنت تسير دائماً أن يميل نحو تملق الصور.


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Lens Selection
Photography

Here Is What to Look For When You Buy Photography Lenses

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Lenses.
Before You Buy a Better Camera, Buy Better Lenses

Fundamentally, lenses are pretty simple: they take light from a scene and focus it so that your camera can make a picture. Practically speaking, though, choosing which lens is the right lens is surprisingly complex. Choosing lenses is one of the most powerful choices you can make as a photographer.

In this tutorial we’re going to look at what makes a good photographic lens. You'll learn what characteristics define a good lens and how to choose lenses that match your needs. There is no perfect lens, at any price: even the best lenses have issues. The key is to choose lenses that maximise the characteristics you want and minimize the characteristics you don't want.

What Happens When Light Enters a Lens? 

The simplest lens possible that can be used to project an image is a single convex lens. When a ray of light hits the lens glass it is refracted, changing the direction of the light. With a convex lens, all the rays of light will converge at the focal point of the lens. The distance between the lens glass and the focal point is called the focal length of that lens. Although the exact positioning of the film plane varies between manufacturers, the film plane is placed at the focal point so that the focussed light from the lens creates a small, projected image of the scene.

convex lens
A perfect, simple convex lens. Image: Dr Bob via Wikipedia.

While all this is great in theory, it assumes perfect lenses and ignores many of the more esoteric properties of light. A simple convex lens just won’t create a satisfactory image due to optical aberrations.

Optical aberrations are caused by two things: the imperfect geometry of lenses and the differences between how different wavelengths (colours) of light pass through them. In a simple convex lens, these aberrations will be incredibly noticeable. However, by adding additional elements, each designed to correct for specific aberrations, lens manufacturers can minimise their effects.

Adding additional elements isn’t a perfect fix. Every time light is transmitted from one lens to another a little bit of light is lost. The more elements in a lens, the more light and colour information that is lost in transmission. There is a trade off between correcting for optical aberrations and preserving information.

Our Simon Bray has an excellent article on the fundamentals of lens design, if you want to know how more about lenses are made. Two of Dave Bode's courses, A Photographer's Guide to Light and What Every Photographer Should Know About Lenses, go into depth on how light and lenses work.

Edge to Edge Sharpness, Optical Aberrations and Elements

Modern lenses are designed to do two things: create the sharpest possible projection across the entire image plane and minimise optical aberrations. Compared to older lenses, they use a lot more, and a lot more complicated, lens elements.

The focal plane of a lens isn’t perfectly flat. Due to spherical aberration it actually has a subtle curve. Digital sensors, for the most part, are flat. This means that if the centre of the image is perfectly focused, the edges won’t be. In order to have edge to edge sharpness, lots of different elements need to be added. Many modern lenses will have upwards of ten elements. For example, the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 (which is widely praised for sharpness) has 13 elements.

canon 24-105 optics
The lens elements in a Canon 24-105 f/4 zoom lens. Image: Alessio Facchin via Wikipedia.

Not all elements are created equally. Complex lenses, like aspherical elements, are added to compensate for the aberrations present in spherical elements. It’s very easy for manufacturers to get caught in a pattern of adding more elements to fix the problems created by the previous ones!

While there is nothing inherently wrong with high element count lenses they do reduce light and colour transmission, which affects how the resulting images look.

3D Rendition and Micro-Contrast

Older lenses have far fewer elements than modern lenses. These makes them more prone to optical aberrations and, in particular, it means they often have very soft edges. On the other hand, they can have some incredibly pleasing characteristics. Unlike resolution or sharpness, these characteristics are a lot more difficult to measure with a chart. 

Lenses with fewer elements are generally better at rendering details, so they images they create appear to be more three-dimensional. Obviously, all details are actually rendered as a two-dimensional image, but the appearance of three-dimensions relies on subtle details that are lost by the over-correcting of optical aberrations and the light passing through too many elements. A lens with only a few elements produces images that have a greater apparent separation between background and foreground subjects and more accurate drawing of geometric shapes. As elements are added to a lens, the three-dimensional effect diminishes. This is what’s responsible for the flat, clinical look of modern lenses. Canadian photographer Yannick Khong has a great article that digs deeper into this issue.

Micro-contrast is the small amounts of tonal and colour variance between details on a subject. It’s an incredibly subtle effect but it is often what sets excellent glass—like Leica, Zeiss, Canon L series, medium-format or large-format lenses—apart from cheaper lenses. Micro-contrast is what gives areas of consistent colour a realistic and accurate texture. It is among the first detail to be lost when light passes through too many elements. While it’s not essential for a great photograph, it is one of the things that adds character to an image. Again, Yannick Khong has written a detailed take.

The Hard Decision

So on one hand we have modern lenses with great resolution, edge to edge sharpness, minimal aberrations and lots of elements. On the other, we have older lenses with fewer elements, more aberrations, soft corners and great (but hard to measure) three-dimensionality and micro-contrast. Which is the better lens?

As with so many things, the answer is: it depends. Modern glass is more expensive. You can get older lenses with fewer elements at a bargain on the second hand market. If budget isn’t a major factor though, the choice gets harder.

multi element portrait
I shot this portrait with the 9-element Canon 85mm f/1.8. Almost all the three-dimensionality comes from the depth of field.

What it really comes down to is what subject matter you’re working with. If you are shooting portraits with a low aperture, all the background-foreground separation will come from depth of field rather than any lens effects. You might notice a little two-dimensionality in some facial details and the loss of tonal variation in the blurred background, but you should be okay.

If, though, you’re a landscape photographer, you might want to get as much three-dimensionality and texture as possible in your photos. As long as you’re working with narrow apertures, the loss of sharpness at the edges shouldn’t be too noticeable. 

You need to work out for yourself where your needs fall on this spectrum. There will always be trade offs, so identify the qualities you want most in your lenses, and then choose the ones that have them.

Evaluating a Lens: Selection Criteria and Essential Questions

Let's go through all the qualities and points to consider when evaluating a lens. I've broken it down into four sections: technical quality, aesthetic quality, construction, and feel.

Technical Qualities of the Lens

Technical quality is a good starting baseline.

  • Focus: Does the lens have autofocus, and if so, what kind of autofocus? Newer methods are usually faster quieter, but not always. What focus modes do the lens allow?
  • Focus breathing: Does the focal length change dramatically depending on where you're focusing? How will this affect any images you plan to make?
  • Colour rendition: How does the lens render colour? Is it incredibly accurate it or does it mute some tones?
  • Lens coatings: How are the lens elements coated? Coatings are an effective method for minimising chromatic aberration but they can negatively affect light transmission. If you're shooting black and white, less coated elements is better. For colour, you need multiple coatings to deal with aberration.
  • Coma: How are off-axis point sources of light rendered? Does the lens suffer from a lot of comatic aberration or do they remain points?
  • Distortion: Barrel and pin cushion distortion affect the straight lines in your images and wide angle lens are more prone. How are the edges of the image distorted by the lens? Is the distortion too much for your needs?
  • Light falloff: How does light fall off towards the edge of the image? Is there a heavy vignette or is the image evenly exposed?
  • Use with filters: Can you use the lens with standard 77mm screw on filters or is it an unusual size, needing adapters? 
  • Flare and ghosts: How does the lens react to off-axis light sources? Do they cause dramatic lens flares and ghosting? Do you want this effect? 
  • Lateral colour fringes: How much does the lens correct for chromatic aberrations? Are all your images going to end up with colour fringes or will they be barely visible?
  • Macro focusing and minimum focusing distance: How close can the lens focus?
  • Sharpness: How sharp is the lens wide open? What about at its sharpest aperture? Is it sharp from corner to corner or just in the centre? Do you even need tack sharp images?
  • Spherochromatism: Similar to lateral colour fringes but caused by a different optical property. Will they be a problem?
  • Sunstars: How will bright light sources look at smaller apertures? How many blades is the aperture diaphragm? That's what determines the appearance of sunstars.

Aesthetic Qualities of the Lens

A lens might not be technically perfect but still have aesthetic character that makes it worthwhile.

  • Lens family: Is the lens based on a classic design? There are plenty of imperfect-but-aesthetically-pleasing lenses that have become cult favourites. Maybe a particular photographer used this lens in their most famous works?
  • Bokeh character: How do the bokeh look at wide apertures? Do they add or detract from the kind of images you want to create? Are they unusual or interesting in any way?
  • Microcontrast: How does the lens render small changes in colour? Does it flatten them out or leave microcontrast intact?
  • 3D-ness: How does the lens render 3D objects? Are things compressed so they appear on the same plane or do they maintain their fullness?

Lens Construction

The lens housing is almost as important as the lenses themselves.

  • Material: What's the lens made of? Metal lenses are hardier but plastic lenses are cheaper. Do you need tough lenses?
  • Focal length: What's the lenses focal length? Is this a focal length you want to work with?
  • Angle of view: What's the adjusted focal length of the lens if you're using something other than a 35mm/full-frame camera? Is that too wide or tight for your needs?
  • Maximum reproduction ratio: For macro shots, what's the ration between the size of the subject and it's reproduced size on the centre?
  • Hard infinity focus stop: Does the lens stop focusing at optical infinity or can you focus past that? Do you need to be able to quickly focus to infinity or can you eyeball it as you work? Are you going to be working in a wide variety of environmental conditions where optical infinity will noticeably change?
  • Focus scale: How small are the focus increments? If you're going to be doing a lot of manual focusing, the smaller the better.
  • Depth-of-Field scale: many older manual-focus lenses have markings on the barrel to help you do hyperfocal focussing.
  • Filter thread: What size is the filter thread? Is it common? Do you have the filters that fit it? Is it metal or plastic?
  • Mount: How is the lens mounted to the camera, and is it compatible with your camera? Is it a plastic or metal mount? How far does the flange project into the body?
  • Size: How big is the lens? You do have to carry it. Some lens manufacturers like Sigma and Sony make big lenses while others, like Leica and Voigtlander, make smaller lenses.
  • Weight: How heavy is the lens? Again, you have to carry and work with it.   
  • Caps: How does the lens cap attach? Is it easy to remove? Is it going to fall off easily?
  • Hood: Does the lens come with a hood to protect against lens flare?
  • Case: Does the lens have a case? Is it capable of protecting the lens?

Lens Feel

This last measure is entirely subjective. How does the lens feel when you use it? Is it balanced with your camera? Do the aperture ring and focusing controls move smoothly? Is it a nice beefy portrait lens, good for working slowly? Or is it a diminutive pancake lens, perfect for street photography? Lens feel is, in some ways, the most important characteristic. You can read internet reviews all day long about 'perfect' lenses but it's the lens in you hands that you'll use in the real world. It has to feel good.

Wrapping Up

In this tutorial I’ve looked at what makes a good lens, or rather, what characteristics can be used to define a good lens. Whether you prioritise edge to edge sharpness and resolution over the more subtle three-dimensionality and micro-contrast is up to you. Certainly modern many-element lenses have a place, as do older and simpler lenses. 

Finally, it’s worth noting that I’ve been tacitly focussing on prime lenses. It’s almost impossible to have a functioning zoom lens with only a few elements. For zoom lenses, you’re always going to be leaning towards flatter images.


Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.