Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Product Photography
Photography

Fotografieren der Gemälden und Drucken mit Kopierbeleuchtung

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Product Photography.
How to Photograph Ceramics and 3-Dimensional Products with One Light

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Das Fotografieren von Drucken und Gemälden kann einschüchternd sein. Sie möchten die Farben und die Textur des Stücks genau aufzeichnen, damit Ihre Arbeit optimal dargestellt wird. Die Größe, Zartheit und Komplexität der Stücke macht dies jedoch häufig schwierig. In diesem Tutorial lernen Sie zwei Möglichkeiten, um Bilder oder Drucke mit einem Stativ und zwei Lichtern zu fotografieren, um sicherzustellen, dass die Beleuchtung gleichmäßig und die Farben genau sind. Hab keine Angst: Mit ein bisschen Methodik und ein paar guten Lichtaufnahmen kann das Fotografieren einfach sein und sogar Spaß machen!

Dinge, die Sie brauchen werden

  • Maßband
  • Stativ
  • Beleuchtung
  • Kamera
  • Graue Karte

Unmontierte Kunstwerke fotografieren

Wenn das Werk nicht montiert oder gerahmt ist, z. B. lose Drucke, ist es praktischer, es flach auf dem Boden liegend zu fotografieren, als es aufrecht zu stützen. Wenn Ihr Teil jedoch zu groß ist und Sie Ihre Kamera nicht hoch genug über die Arbeit bringen können, um sie vollständig in einen Rahmen einzupassen, ohne dass Stativbeine im Weg sind, funktioniert das für die montierte Arbeit verwendete Setup (siehe unten) besser .

Stellen Sie ein Stativ auf

Stellen Sie ein Stativ um das Stück auf dem Boden. Vielleicht möchten Sie die Arbeit auf ein Stück weißen Schaumstoffkern oder eine selbstheilende Schneidematte legen. Der Vorteil der Matte besteht darin, dass sie Gitterlinien aufweist, mit denen Sie sicherstellen können, dass Ihr Papier gerade ist. Wenn sich Ihr Stativ über dem Arbeitsbereich befindet, stellen Sie das Stativ so ein, dass es zum Boden zeigt.

Bei einigen Stativen können Sie die Mittelsäule herausnehmen und verkehrt herum montieren und die Beine weiter als in ihrer normalen Position spreizen. Diese Konfiguration platziert die Kamera direkt über Ihrem Arbeitsbereich und ermöglicht es Ihnen, größere Teile zu fotografieren, ohne dass die Stativbeine im Weg sind.

Camera on tripod with inverted center column

Bereiten Sie das Kunstwerk vor und positionieren Sie es

Bereiten Sie das Bildmaterial vor, indem Sie sicherstellen, dass es staubfrei ist, und prüfen Sie, ob es flach liegt.

Ich habe eine selbstheilende Schneidematte aufgestellt, auf die ein Raster gedruckt ist, damit ich die Ränder meines Motivs ausrichten kann. Dies ist nicht unbedingt erforderlich, aber wenn Sie mindestens einige Klebebandmarkierungen haben, können Sie jedes Stück besser ausrichten, wenn Sie eine Reihe von Gegenständen fotografieren.

Platzieren Sie das Bildmaterial auf der Oberfläche und richten Sie es so aus, dass Sie es genau im Rahmen der Kamera positionieren können.

Print lying flat on work surface

Richten Sie die Kamera so ein, dass sie die Grafik genau einrahmt

Positionieren Sie die Kamera auf dem Stativ und richten Sie sie so aus, dass sie so genau wie möglich positioniert ist. Idealerweise ist die Rückseite der Kamera parallel zum Boden. Eine kleine Ebene auf der Rückseite der Kamera hilft. Wenn Sie die Kamera genau ausrichten, können Sie unerwünschte Objektivverzerrungen vermeiden. Dies spart viel Zeit nach der Produktion und lässt das Endergebnis viel besser aussehen.

Wir möchten so viel wie möglich vom Rahmen der Kamera mit dem Motiv füllen. Die meisten Grafiken entsprechen jedoch nicht dem Standard-Seitenverhältnis einer Kamera. Wenn dies bei Ihrer Arbeit der Fall ist, füllen Sie den Rahmen und lassen Sie nur minimale Bereiche übrig, um sie später auszuschneiden.

Camera directly above print

Positionieren Sie ein Paar Lichter, um die Oberfläche gleichmäßig zu beleuchten

Sogar die Beleuchtung ist der Schlüssel zu einem gut belichteten Bild, das nur wenig Nachbearbeitung erfordert. Für diesen Aufbau verwenden wir ein Paar Lichter, die in gleichen Abständen vom Motiv positioniert sind. Diese Art der Beleuchtung wird als "Kopierbeleuchtung" bezeichnet, da wir die Beleuchtung so genau wie möglich kopieren.

Zuerst werden wir mit einem Maßband die gleichen Entfernungen messen:

Measure distance from print

Die Lichter sollten in einem Winkel von 45 Grad zum Motiv positioniert sein. Sobald ich sie in diesem Winkel und in gleichen Abständen habe, beginne ich, die Oberfläche auf gleichmäßige Beleuchtung zu überprüfen. Ich habe ein Einfallslichtmessgerät, mit dem ich Belichtungswerte erfassen kann. Es zeichnet auf, wie viel Licht auf das Motiv fällt, im Gegensatz zum Messgerät in einer Kamera, das das vom Motiv reflektierte Licht aufzeichnet.

Light positions for photographing flat work

Wenn Sie keinen Einfallslichtmesser zur Verfügung haben, können Sie eine Graukarte verwenden und Belichtungswerte mit Ihrer Kamera aufzeichnen. Ändern Sie einfach den Messmodus Ihrer Kamera in den Spotmesser und zeichnen Sie den Belichtungswert auf, während Sie die Graukarte in verschiedenen Bereichen des Arbeitsbereichs platzieren. Überprüfen Sie die vier Ecken und die Mitte. Wenn die Messwerte gleich sind, ist das Licht vollkommen gleichmäßig.

Weitere Informationen zu dieser Methode finden Sie in diesem informativen Tutorial zur Verwendung einer Graukarte zum Einstellen der Belichtung und der Farbbalance.

Stellen Sie Belichtung, Fokus und Weißabgleich an der Kamera ein

Beim Fotografieren von Kunstwerken ist es sehr wichtig, dass die Farbbalance genau eingestellt ist. Um einen benutzerdefinierten Weißabgleich festzulegen, wählen Sie diese Option im Menü Ihrer Kamera aus und passen Sie den Weißabgleich mit einer Graukarte an.

Setting color balance with a gray card

Um die Belichtung für die Kamera einzustellen, verwende ich den manuellen Modus (M) und meinen Belichtungsmesser. Wenn Sie keinen Belichtungsmesser haben, verwenden Sie eine Graukarte und den Belichtungsmesser Ihrer Kamera, um einen Messwert zu erhalten.

Checking exposure with light meter

Stellen Sie den Fokus sorgfältig mit dem manuellen Fokus ein und überprüfen Sie mit dem LCD-Bildschirm Ihrer Kamera, bis Sie sehen, dass das kleinste Detail scharf ist. Nehmen Sie dann ein Testfoto auf und zoomen Sie hinein, um sicherzustellen, dass alles scharfgestellt ist.

Machen Sie Ihr Foto

Sie sind fast bereit, Ihr Foto zu machen! Wenn Sie einen Kabelauslöser haben, werden durch dessen Verwendung Vibrationen reduziert und ein schärferes Bild erzeugt. Wenn Sie keinen Kabelauslöser haben, schalten Sie Ihre Kamera in den Timer-Modus. Dieser Modus wird bei verschiedenen Kameras als verschiedene Dinge bezeichnet und manchmal als kleine Stoppuhr markiert. Es verzögert den Auslöser, lässt die Kamera zur Ruhe kommen und die Vibration, die durch das Drücken des Auslösers durch Ihren Finger verursacht wird.

Ok, jetzt mach weiter und drücke den Auslöser.

Wenn das Bild bei der Überprüfung gut aussieht, großartige Arbeit. Wenn nicht, überprüfen Sie die Einstellung und wiederholen Sie die vorherigen Schritte. Sobald alles angewählt ist, können Sie den ganzen Tag über Kunstwerke mit denselben Einstellungen fotografieren.

Ready to take the photo

Nachdem Sie die Fotos aufgenommen haben, ist es Zeit, sie zu bearbeiten. Suchen Sie nach dem Setup einen Durchgang für montierte Arbeiten.

Fotografieren montierter Kunstwerke

Wenn das Werk montiert oder gerahmt ist, z. B. eine gespannte Leinwand oder ein gerahmter Druck, ist es möglicherweise praktischer, es an der Wand zu fotografieren, insbesondere wenn es sich um ein sehr großes Stück handelt.

Bereiten Sie das Kunstwerk vor und positionieren Sie es

Bereiten Sie das Kunstwerk vor, indem Sie es an eine Wand hängen. Hängen Sie das Teil in einer bequemen Arbeitshöhe auf und stellen Sie sicher, dass es eben ist, da Sie so alles richtig ausrichten können.

Leveling a painting before photographing it

Stellen Sie ein Stativ auf

Stellen Sie ein Stativ so auf, dass es zum Bild zeigt, und stellen Sie den Stativkopf mithilfe einer Wasserwaage so ein, dass er gerade ist. Viele Stative haben eingebaute Wasserwaagen, um zu helfen. Auch dies wird uns helfen, alles richtig auszurichten.

The spirit levels on a tripod head

Richten Sie die Kamera so ein, dass das Bildmaterial genau eingerahmt wird

Positionieren Sie die Kamera auf dem Stativ und richten Sie sie so aus, dass sie so genau wie möglich zum Kunstwerk passt. Im Idealfall verläuft die Rückseite der Kamera parallel zur Ebene des Bildmaterials, obwohl dies bei großen Wandteilen manchmal schwieriger ist. Wenn Sie die Möglichkeit haben, die Kamera nach hinten zu bewegen und ein längeres Objektiv zu verwenden, kann dies die Positionierung Ihrer Kamera erleichtern: Je weiter Sie vom Bildmaterial entfernt sind, desto flacher müssen Sie eine Einstellung vornehmen, um Ihre Kamera senkrecht zum Bildmaterial zu halten. Sichern Sie nicht zu weit, dachte Sie, Sie möchten das Stück so groß wie möglich im Rahmen halten.

Positionieren Sie ein Paar Lichter, um die Oberfläche gleichmäßig zu beleuchten

Sogar die Beleuchtung ist der Schlüssel zu einem gut belichteten Bild, das nur wenig Nachbearbeitung erfordert. Für diesen Aufbau verwenden wir ein Paar Lichter, die in gleichen Abständen vom Motiv positioniert sind. Also werde ich zuerst gehen und gleiche Entfernungen mit einem Maßband messen. Als Faustregel gilt: Je größer das zu fotografierende Stück ist, desto weiter entfernt müssen die Lichter positioniert werden.

Measuring light distance to subject

Auch hier sollten die Lichter in einem Winkel von 45 Grad zum Motiv positioniert werden. Sobald Sie sie in diesem Winkel und in gleichen Abständen haben, überprüfen Sie die Oberfläche auf gleichmäßige Beleuchtung.

Lighting and camera position

Wenn Sie keinen Einfallslichtmesser zur Verfügung haben, können Sie erneut eine Graukarte verwenden und Belichtungswerte mit Ihrer Kamera aufzeichnen. Ändern Sie einfach den Messmodus Ihrer Kamera in den Spotmesser und zeichnen Sie den Belichtungswert auf, während Sie die Graukarte in verschiedenen Bereichen des Arbeitsbereichs platzieren. Überprüfen Sie die vier Ecken und die Mitte. Wenn die Messwerte gleich sind, ist das Licht vollkommen gleichmäßig.

Stellen Sie Belichtung, Fokus und Weißabgleich an der Kamera ein

Es ist wichtig, dass Ihre Farbbalance genau eingestellt ist. Verwenden Sie erneut den benutzerdefinierten Weißabgleich der Kamera. Um einen benutzerdefinierten Weißabgleich festzulegen, wählen Sie diese Option im Menü meiner Kamera aus und passen Sie den Weißabgleich mit einer Graukarte an.

Checking white balance before photographing a painting

Achten Sie auf ungleichmäßige Farbstiche. Wenn eine der Wände in dem Bereich, den Sie fotografieren, eine starke Farbe hat und ein Teil des Lichts von Ihrem Setup einfängt, kann diese Farbe in Ihr Kunstwerk "bluten". Wenn Sie dieses Problem haben, kann eine neutrale Decke oder ein Stück Karton helfen, störendes Licht zu blockieren.

Verwenden Sie zum Einstellen der Belichtung für die Kamera erneut den manuellen Modus (M) und den Belichtungsmesser. Wenn Sie keinen Belichtungsmesser haben, verwenden Sie eine Graukarte und den Belichtungsmesser Ihrer Kamera, um einen Messwert zu erhalten.

Checking exposure on a light meter

Passen Sie den Fokus sorgfältig mit dem manuellen Fokus an und überprüfen Sie ihn mit dem LCD-Bildschirm Ihrer Kamera, bis Sie sehen, dass das kleinste Detail scharfgestellt ist. Machen Sie ein Testfoto und zoomen Sie hinein, um sicherzustellen, dass alles scharf ist.

Mach das Foto!

Sie können jetzt Ihr Foto aufnehmen. Drücken Sie also den Auslöser. Wenn das Bild bei der Überprüfung gut aussieht, tolle Arbeit. Wenn nicht, überprüfen Sie die Einstellung und wiederholen Sie die vorherigen Schritte. Sobald alles angewählt ist, können Sie den ganzen Tag über Kunstwerke fotografieren.

Ready to take the photo

Bildverarbeitung: Zuschneiden, Ebenen und Schärfe

Sobald Sie das Foto auf Ihrem Computer haben, können wir einige Änderungen vornehmen, um die Bildqualität zu verbessern. Ich werde die wichtigsten Änderungen in Adobe Photoshop demonstrieren.

Während wir mit der Kamera arbeiteten, versuchten wir, so nah wie möglich an die Ränder des Drucks heranzukommen. Da das Seitenverhältnis jedoch unterschiedlich war, müssen wir alles ausschneiden, was nicht der Bildbereich auf dem Druck ist. Der erste Schritt besteht also darin, das Bild zuzuschneiden. Für diese Aufgabe möchte ich das Perspektive Freistellen-Werkzeug verwenden, das sich im Flyout-Menü unter dem normalen Freistellen-Werkzeug befindet.

Using the perspecitve crop tool

Mit dem Perspektive Freistellen-Werkzeug verschiebe ich die Ecken des Zuschneide-Rechtecks an die Ecken des Bildmaterials. Ich zoome gerne hinein und stelle sicher, dass die Ecken so eng wie möglich ausgerichtet sind, während unerwünschte Bereiche ferngehalten werden. Drücken Sie dann OK, um zuzuschneiden. Die Software schneidet den Bereich aus, den Sie ihm zugewiesen haben, und berechnet das Bild als Rechteck neu.

Adjusting the crop edges

Die erste Anpassung, die wir vornehmen werden, betrifft die Tonwertkorrektur. Um das Bedienfeld Korrektur zu finden, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Tonwertkorrektur. Dadurch werden die Farbtöne im Bild so angepasst, dass sie eher dem Originalelement ähneln. Die Pegelanpassung zeigt ein Histogramm mit drei Schiebereglern.

Adjsuting the tonal levels in the image

Wir beginnen mit der Anpassung des Schiebereglers für die hellen Bereiche des Bildes. Es befindet sich auf der rechten Seite. Nehmen Sie diesen Schieberegler und schieben Sie ihn nach links, bis er dem Histogrammdiagramm entspricht. Dadurch werden die hellen Bereiche des Bildes aufgehellt. Sie möchten die Helligkeit der Originalvorlage anpassen.

Nehmen Sie als Nächstes den Schieberegler auf der linken Seite und schieben Sie ihn nach rechts, bis er dem Histogrammdiagramm entspricht. Dadurch werden die dunkleren Bereiche des Bildes dunkler. Versuchen Sie, den dunklen Ton an die Originalvorlage anzupassen.

Der dritte Schieberegler befindet sich in der Mitte des Histogramms und passt die Gesamthelligkeit des Bildes an. Wenn Ihr Bild zu hell oder zu dunkel aussieht, stellen Sie den mittleren Schieberegler leicht nach links oder rechts ein. Sie möchten das gesamte Erscheinungsbild der Originalvorlage anpassen

Die zweite Anpassung, die wir vornehmen werden, besteht darin, das Bild mit dem Smart Scharfzeichner-Filter zu schärfen. Vergrößern Sie das Bild auf 100%. Rufen Sie dann in Photoshop das Menü-Filter auf und suchen Sie die Option Scharfzeichnen. Wählen Sie im Untermenü die Option Smart Scharfzeichner.

Adjusting the sharpness of the image

Ich werde den Gesamtbetrag auf etwa 120% einstellen oder darauf, wo die Pinselstriche oder andere Oberflächendetails klarer werden. Ich werde den Radius bei 1 Pixel halten, um die Anpassung minimal zu halten und die Textur nicht zu stark zu verbessern. Das Ziel dieser Einstellung ist es, einige Details wie die Pinselstriche in diesem Gemälde zu verbessern.

Und das ist es! Hier ist ein Blick auf die endgültigen Bilder:

The final photograph of the painting
The final photo of the print

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Product Photography
Photography

How to Photograph Paintings and Prints with Copy Lighting

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Product Photography.
How to Photograph Ceramics and 3-Dimensional Products with One Light

Photographing prints and paintings can be intimidating. You want to accurately record the colors and texture of the piece so that your work is represented at its best, but the the scale, delicateness, and intricacy of the pieces often makes this tricky. In this tutorial, you'll learn two ways to photograph paintings or prints using a tripod and a pair of lights to ensure the lighting is even and the colors accurate. Have no fear: with a little bit of methodology and some good light photographing paintings can be easy, and even fun!

Things you will need

  • Tape measure
  • Tripod
  • Lights
  • Camera
  • Gray card

Photographing Unmounted Artwork

If the work is not mounted or framed, such as loose print, it will be more practical to photograph it lying flat on the floor rather than trying to prop it upright. However, if your piece is too large and you can’t get your camera high enough above the work to fit it entirely into a frame without getting tripod legs in the way, the setup used for the mounted work (described below) will work better.

Set Up a Tripod

Set up a tripod around the piece on the floor. You may want to put the work on a piece of white foamcore or a self-healing cutting mat. The advantage of the mat is that it has grid lines, which you can use to ensure your paper is straight. Once your tripod is over the work area, adjust your tripod so it can face the floor.

Some tripods allow you to take the center column out and mount it upside down and splay the legs out farther than their normal position. This configuration places the camera directly above your work area and allows you to photograph larger pieces without the tripod legs getting in the way. 

Camera on tripod with inverted center column

Prepare and Position the Artwork

Prepare the artwork by making sure it is free of dust and checking to see if it lies flat.

I set up a self-healing cutting mat that has a grid printed on it to help me line up the edges of my subject. This is not entirely necessary but having some tape marks at the very least will help you line up each piece if you are photographing a number of items.

Place the artwork on the surface and line it up so that you can squarely position it in the camera’s frame.

Print lying flat on work surface

Set Up Camera to Squarely Frame Artwork

Position the camera on the tripod and line it up so that it is as squarely situated as you can get it. Ideally the back of the camera will be parallel with the ground. A small level laid on the back of the camera will help. Aligning the camera squarely will help eliminate unwanted lens distortion, which will save lots of post-production time and make the end result look much better.

We want to fill as much of the frame of the camera with the subject as possible. However, most artwork does not conform to the standard aspect ratio of a camera. If that is the case for your work, fill the frame and leave only minimal areas to crop out later.   

Camera directly above print

Position a Pair of Lights to Evenly Illuminate the Surface

Even lighting is key to making a well-exposed image that needs little post-production work. For this set up, we will use a pair of lights positioned at equal distances from the subject. This kind of lighting is called "copy lighting," because we are lighting to make as exact a copy of the subject as possible.

First we will go head and measure out equal distances with a tape measure:

Measure distance from print

The lights should be positioned down at 45 degree angles toward the subject. Once I have them at that angle and equal distances, I will start to check the surface for even illumination. I have an incident light meter to help me take exposure readings. It records how much light is falling on the subject, unlike the meter in a camera which records the light reflected from the subject.

Light positions for photographing flat work

If you don’t have an incident light meter at your disposal, you can use a gray card and record exposure readings using your camera. Just change the metering mode of your camera to the spot meter and record the exposure value as you place the gray card in different areas of the work area. Check the four corners and center. If the reading are equal, the light is perfectly even.

For more information on this method, check out this informative tutorial about using a gray card to set exposure and colour balance

Set Exposure, Focus, and White Balance on the Camera

It is very important for when photographing artwork to have your color balance set accurately. To set custom white balance, select that option in your camera’s menu and use a gray card to adjust the white balance.   

Setting color balance with a gray card

To set exposure for the camera I will use the manual mode (M) and my light meter reading. If you don’t have a light meter use a gray card and your camera’s meter to get a reading.

Checking exposure with light meter

Carefully adjust the focus using manual focus and check with LCD screen on your camera until you can see that the smallest detail is in focus. Then take a test photo and zoom in to make certain that everything is in focus.

Take Your Photo

You are almost ready to take your photo! If you have a cable release, using it will reduce vibration and create a sharper image. If you don't have a cable release, switch your camera to it's timer mode. This mode is called various things on different cameras, sometimes marked as a little stopwatch. It delays the shutter release, letting the camera come to rest and the vibration caused by your finger pressing the shutter button.

Ok, now go ahead and press the shutter release.

If the image looks good on review, great work. If not, check over the setting and repeat the previous steps. Once everything is dialed in, you can photograph pieces of artwork all day long on the same settings.

Ready to take the photo

After you have taken the photos it is time to edit. Find a walk-through after the setup for mounted work.

Photographing Mounted Artwork

If the work is mounted or framed, such as a stretched canvas or framed print it may be more practical to photograph it hung on the wall, especially if it is a very large piece.

Prepare and Position the Artwork

Prepare the artwork by hanging it on a wall. Hang the piece at a comfortable working height and make sure it is level because that will help you line everything up squarely.

Leveling a painting before photographing it

Set Up a Tripod

Set up a tripod so that it faces toward the painting and adjust the tripod head to be level using a level. Many tripods have built-in spirit levels to help. Again, this will help us line everything up squarely.

The spirit levels on a tripod head

Set Up Camera to Squarely Frame the Artwork

Position the camera on the tripod and line it up so that it is as squarely situated as possible to the artwork. Ideally the back of the camera will be parallel with plane of the artwork, though this is sometimes trickier to do with large wall-mounted pieces. If you have the option, moving your camera back and using a longer lens can make positioning your camera easier: the further away from the artwork you are, the shallower an adjustment you have to make to get your camera perpendicular to the artwork. Don't back up too far, thought, you want to keep the piece as large as you can in the frame.

Position a pair of lights to evenly illuminate the surface

Even lighting is key to making a well-exposed image that needs little post-production work. For this set up, we will use a pair of lights positioned at equal distances from the subject. So first I will go head and measure out equal distances with a tape measure. A rule of thumb is that the larger the piece you are photographing, the further away the lights need to be positioned.

Measuring light distance to subject

Again the lights should be positioned at 45 degree angles toward the subject. Once you have them at that angle and equal distances, check the surface for even illumination.

Lighting and camera position

If you don’t have an incident light meter at your disposal, you can again use a gray card and record exposure readings using your camera. Just change the metering mode of your camera to the spot meter and record the exposure value as you place the gray card in different areas of the work area. Check the four corners and center. If the reading are equal, the light is perfectly even.

Set Exposure, Focus, and White Balance on the Camera

It is important to have your color balance set accurately. Again use the camera’s custom white balance. To set custom white balance, select that option in my camera’s menu and use a gray card to adjust the white balance.

Checking white balance before photographing a painting

Watch out for uneven color casts. If one of the walls in the area you are photographing is a strong color, and it catches some of the light from your setup, that colour may "bleed" into your artwork. If you do have this problem, a neutral-colored blanket or a piece card stock can help to block to offending light.

To set exposure for the camera, again use the manual mode (M) and light meter reading. If you don’t have a light meter, use a gray card and your camera’s meter to get a reading.

Checking exposure on a light meter

Carefully adjust the focus using manual focus and checking with LCD screen on your  camera until you can see that the smallest detail is in focus. Take a test photo and zoom in to make certain that everything is in focus.

Take the Photograph!

You are ready to take your photo. So go ahead and press the shutter release. If the image looks good on review, great job. If not, check over the setting and repeat the previous steps. Once everything is dialed in, you can photograph pieces of artwork all day long.

Ready to take the photo

Image Processing: Crop, Levels, and Sharpness

Once you have the photo on your computer, we can perform a few edits to enhance the quality of the image. I will demonstrate the most essential edits in Adobe Photoshop.  

While we were working with the camera, we tried to get as close to the edges of the print as possible. However, since the aspect ratio was different, we need to cut out anything that is not the image area on the print. So the first step is to crop the image. For this task, I want to use the Perspective Crop tool which is found in the flyout menu under the normal Crop tool.

Using the perspecitve crop tool

Using the Perspective Crop tool, I will move the corners of the crop rectangle to the corners of the artwork. I like to zoom in and make certain that the corners are as closely lined up as I can get them while keeping out unwanted areas. Then, press OK to crop. The software will cut out the area you told it to and re-calculate the image to be a rectangle.

Adjusting the crop edges

The first adjustment we will make is to the Levels. To find the Adjustments panel and click on the Levels button. This will adjust the tones in the image to look more like the original item. The levels adjustment shows a histogram that has three sliders under it.

Adjsuting the tonal levels in the image

We will begin by adjusting the slider for the light areas of the image. It is found on the right side. Take that slider and slide it to the left until it meets the histogram graph. This will brighten the light areas of the image. You want match the brightness of the original artwork.

Next, take the slider found on the left side and slide it to the right until it meets the histogram graph. This will darken the darker areas of the image try match the dark tone to the original artwork.

The third slider lies under the center of the histogram and adjusts the overall brightness of the image. If your image looks too light or dark, try adjusting the center slider slightly left or right. You want match the overall appearance of the original artwork

The second adjustment we will make is to sharpen the image using the Smart Sharpen filter. Zoom in to 100% on the image. Then, go up the Filter menu in Photoshop and find the Sharpen option. Select the Smart Sharpen option in the sub-menu. 

Adjusting the sharpness of the image

I will set the overall amount to somewhere around 120%, or to where I see the brush strokes or other surface detail becoming clearer. I will keep the radius at 1 pixel to keep the adjustment minimal and not over enhance the texture. The goal with with this adjustment is to enhance some of the detail such as the brush strokes in this painting.

And that's it! Here's a look a the final images:

The final photograph of the painting
The final photo of the print



Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.