Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Digital Asset Management

Das ABC der Fotosortierung: Wie kann mann ein Durcheinander von Bildern in eine organisierte Sammlung verwandeln?

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Digital Asset Management for Photographers (Learning Resource Guide).
What's in a Name? Nomenclature, File Structure, and Saving Digital Images
How to Add Metadata to Archival Images

German (Deutsch) translation by Valentina (you can also view the original English article)

Haben Sie jemals ein notwendiges Projekt gesehen, das so überwältigend erscheint, dass Sie nicht wissen, wo Sie anfangen sollen? Sie verzögern, dann starten Sie nicht und schon bald ist das Projekt ein geistiger Knaller, der für immer an eine To-Do-Liste gebunden ist. Das kann der Stand der Dinge sein, wenn Sie eine Sammlung von Fotos sortieren möchten. Sie können gedruckte oder digitale Fotos sein; Das Problem ist immer noch ein großes Durcheinander ohne einen offensichtlichen Ausgangspunkt.

Collage of photographs
Foto von BepsImage, PhotoDune.

In unserer Reihe zur Verwaltung digitaler Assets haben wir Vorschläge zur Einrichtung und Verwendung eines Bildverwaltungssystems unterbreitet. Wenn Ihre vorhandene Fotosammlung jedoch groß und chaotisch ist oder Sie mit der Sortierung einer vorhandenen, unorganisierten Sammlung beauftragt sind, benötigen Sie wahrscheinlich einige So organisieren Sie diese Sammlung, bevor Sie überhaupt über die Verwaltung vorhandener und neuer Bilder nachdenken können. In diesem Tutorial werden einige Techniken vorgestellt, mit denen Sie Ihre durcheinandergebrachten Stapel und überfüllten Schuhkartons mit Fotos zähmen können. Es spielt keine Rolle, ob Ihre Fotos gedruckt oder digital sind. Die gleichen Techniken funktionieren für beide.

1. Sammeln Sie alles an einem Ort

Obwohl Sie mit Ihren Fotos in überschaubaren Abschnitten arbeiten möchten, wissen Sie erst, womit Sie arbeiten, wenn Sie alles zusammen gesammelt haben. Wenn Sie alle Ihre Fotos an einem Ort sammeln, bevor Sie beginnen, können Sie vermeiden, dass Sie Fotos während des Projekts verfolgen oder die Arbeit später wiederholen müssen, da eine neue Entdeckung die Art und Weise ändert, wie Sie zuvor gearbeitet haben.

Wenn Sie mit digitalen Fotos arbeiten, sammeln Sie diese alle auf einer externen Festplatte. Wenn Sie mit gedruckten Fotos arbeiten, sammeln Sie sie alle an einem physischen Ort. Behalten Sie vorhandene Organisationen wie digitale Ordner, Papierumschläge, Schachteln oder Alben bei. Häufig liefern diese Organisationsstrukturen Informationen über eine Gruppe von Fotos und nach Assoziation einzelne Fotos innerhalb der Gruppe.

2. Machen Sie die Fotos sicher

Ihre unorganisierten Fotos waren immer dem Risiko von Beschädigung oder Verlust ausgesetzt. Nachdem Sie jedoch alle zusammen gesammelt haben, können Sie erste Schritte unternehmen, um Ihre Bilder zu schützen. Wenn Sie mit digitalen Bildern arbeiten, erstellen Sie eine Kopie aller gesammelten Daten und bewahren Sie diese Kopie an einem sicheren Ort auf, vorzugsweise an einem anderen Ort.

Wenn Sie mit gedruckten Fotos arbeiten, haben Sie nicht die Möglichkeit, einfach Duplikate zu erstellen. Sie können jedoch Ihr Bestes tun, um das zu schützen, was Sie haben. Legen Sie Ihre Fotos in saubere, trockene Kartons mit Deckel. Wasserdichte Aufbewahrungsboxen sind ideal, wenn Sie welche zur Verfügung haben. Wenn Sie keine solchen Container haben, verwenden Sie alles, worauf Sie leicht zugreifen können. Halten Sie die Kartons so klein, dass Sie den Inhalt einer Karton in einer Sortiersitzung bearbeiten können, und lagern Sie alle Kartons mit Ausnahme des Kartons, an dem Sie arbeiten, an einem sauberen, trockenen und kühlen Ort, der hoch genug ist, um Schäden zu vermeiden Überschwemmung.

Box of photographs
Schuhkartons und Geschenkboxen eignen sich hervorragend zum Sortieren von Fotos. Seien Sie jedoch vorsichtig, wenn Sie sie für die Langzeitlagerung verwenden, es sei denn, die Fotos werden in Archivhüllen gelegt, bevor sie in eine Nicht-Archivbox gelegt werden.

3. Wählen Sie Ihre Organisationsmethode

Nun beginnt die eigentliche Sortierarbeit. Menschen in verschiedenen Branchen empfehlen unterschiedliche Sortiermethoden. Mein Vorschlag ist, dass Sie das verwenden, was für Sie am besten funktioniert, was bedeutet, dass Sie sich über Ihren Endzweck im Klaren sind. Wenn Sie eine Fotosammlung zusammenstellen, um den Geburtstag eines anderen zu feiern, möchten Sie wahrscheinlich Fotos nach Personen sortieren. Wenn Sie dagegen Fotos sammeln, um ein Familienjahrbuch zusammenzustellen, möchten Sie die Fotos nach Datum oder Ereignis sortieren. Ziehen Sie auch in Betracht, Sortiermethoden zu kombinieren. Eine Methode kann Ihnen den Einstieg erleichtern, hinterlässt aber dennoch einen großen (etwas weniger) chaotischen Stapel Fotos.

Nach Person oder Betreff sortieren

Diese Methode ist ideal, wenn Sie Fotos von Personen durchgehen, um nur die Fotos zu identifizieren, die eine Person enthalten. Dies könnte das Szenario sein, wenn Ihnen beispielsweise ein Verwandter eine Schachtel mit historischen Familienfotos gibt. Möglicherweise möchten Sie nur Bilder Ihrer Mutter als Kind, während Ihre Cousine Bilder ihres Vaters möchte. Offensichtlich besteht die Herausforderung bei dieser Methode darin, zu entscheiden, wie Gruppenfotos sortiert werden sollen.

Wenn Sie digitale Bilder sortieren, überprüfen Sie die in Ihrer Fotoverwaltungssoftware verfügbaren Funktionen. Viele Programme bieten jetzt Gesichtserkennung an. Es ist nicht perfekt, aber es ist ein Anfang.

Diese Organisationsmethode funktioniert auch, wenn Sie beispielsweise alle Fotos von Pflanzen oder alle Fotos eines von Ihrer Familie gebauten Hauses zusammenfassen möchten. Wenn Sie sich eine Sammlung künstlerischer Fotos ansehen, möchten Sie diese möglicherweise nach Stil sortieren: beispielsweise nach Dokumentarfilmen, Abstracts oder Landschaften. Wie beim Sortieren nach Personen besteht die Herausforderung darin, zu entscheiden, wie Fotos sortiert werden sollen, die in mehr als eine Kategorie fallen. Diese breite Methode der Gruppierung kann jedoch ein Ausgangspunkt sein.

Nach Ereignis sortieren

Wenn sich Fotos in einer lockeren Organisation befinden, kann diese Organisationsmethode einfach sein. Menschen neigen dazu, Fotos nach einem Ereignis oder Urlaub zu verarbeiten oder zu drucken, daher werden verwandte Fotos häufig zu Gruppen zusammengefasst. Wenn Sie mit gedruckten Fotos arbeiten, suchen Sie nach Ausdrucken, die sich noch in Umschlägen von kommerziellen Druckern befinden oder in einer Box zusammengefasst sind. Fotos in Alben sind häufig miteinander verbunden, häufig nach Ereignissen. Digitale Fotos desselben Ereignisses können ein gemeinsames Benennungssystem haben - beispielsweise "Harry-6th_birthday" - oder fortlaufend nummeriert oder in einem digitalen Ordner zusammengefasst werden. Das ist der Fall, wenn sich die Beibehaltung einer bestehenden Organisation auszahlt.

Außerdem enthält ein Foto häufig Hinweise, die das Foto mit einem Ereignis verknüpfen. Suchen Sie beispielsweise auf mehreren Fotos nach Personen, die dieselbe Kleidung tragen, oder suchen Sie nach derselben Umgebung, Beleuchtung, Dekoration, Stilen oder Gebäuden. Urlaubsfotos sind oft einfach zu gruppieren, wenn das Reiseziel nicht jedes Jahr zur gleichen Zeit besucht wurde.

Two women standing together and a woman and man standing together
Die beiden Fotos wurden an verschiedenen Orten aufgenommen, aber die Person, die auf beiden Fotos zu sehen ist, trägt in beiden das gleiche Outfit, was darauf hindeutet, dass die Fotos bei derselben Veranstaltung aufgenommen wurden.

Nach Datum sortieren

Wenn Sie digitale Fotos sortieren, kann das Sortieren nach Datum der einfachste Startpunkt sein, da Digitalkameras normalerweise das Datum und die Uhrzeit der Aufnahme des Fotos in den Metadaten speichern. Ich sage "normalerweise", weil die Uhr in der Kamera möglicherweise nicht richtig eingestellt ist oder die Metadaten möglicherweise vom Foto entfernt oder während der Bildverarbeitung geändert wurden. Außerdem können einige Verwaltungssoftware die Metadaten eines Bildes besser lesen als andere. Zum Beispiel können Adobe Lightroom und Apple Photos Metadaten hervorragend lesen, wenn sie intakt sind, aber Picassa, Lyn und das Umbenennen von Apps sind nicht so zuverlässig. Sie scheinen sich von Änderungen täuschen zu lassen, die während der Verarbeitung an einer Datei vorgenommen wurden.

Suchen Sie in jedem Fall in Ihrer Fotoverwaltungssoftware oder sogar im Dateimanager Ihres Betriebssystems nach einer Option, um nach dem Erstellungsdatum zu sortieren. Das ist ein guter Anfang. Wenn Sie einige Fotos finden, die nicht in chronologischer Reihenfolge zu sein scheinen, suchen Sie nach Mustern, die Ihnen möglicherweise Hinweise auf eine falsche Kamerauhr oder geänderte Daten geben.

Das Sortieren nach Datum kann bei der Arbeit mit gedruckten Fotos eine Herausforderung sein, aber einige Hinweise können hilfreich sein. Suchen Sie erneut nach Fotos, die in Umschlägen, Schachteln oder Alben von Druckern zusammengefasst sind. Fotos, die in den letzten zehn bis zwanzig Jahren gedruckt wurden, haben möglicherweise das Datum auf der Rückseite. Suchen Sie das Datum in einer längeren Codierungsfolge, die Informationen zu den Geräteeinstellungen des Druckers enthält. Und suchen Sie erneut nach Hinweisen auf den Fotos. Fotos von Harry, der sechs Kerzen auf einer Geburtstagstorte ausblies, wurden wahrscheinlich an Harrys sechstem Geburtstag aufgenommen. Wenn Sie Harrys Geburtsdatum kennen, können Sie das Jahr und vielleicht sogar das genaue Datum herausfinden. Andere Hinweise können Zeichen sein, die auf ein politisches Ereignis oder eine politische Ursache hinweisen, Hinweise auf Bauarbeiten in einem Ihnen bekannten Gebiet oder Aufkleber auf Nummernschildern. Suchen Sie nach Details, die wir oft nicht bemerken.

A pile of photographs loose and in envelopes
Fotos, die in Umschlägen zusammengefasst sind, stammen wahrscheinlich aus derselben Zeit, demselben Ereignis oder demselben Thema.

4. Kehren Sie die Fotos aus

Nach dem Organisieren Ihrer Fotos haben Sie sicher mehr Fotos, als Sie möchten oder verwenden können. Wenn Sie die sortierten Fotos methodisch bewerten, können Sie Ihre sortierten Stapel in Sammlungen aufteilen, die Sie archivieren möchten. Sie können Ihre Fotos vor dem Sortieren aussortieren, wenn Sie den Stapel von Fotos reduzieren möchten, die Sie organisieren müssen, oder sie verwenden, nachdem Sie die Fotos mit einer anderen Methode sortiert haben, um zu bestimmen, welche der sortierten und verwandten Fotos Sie behalten möchten.

Wenn Sie die Qualität von Fotos noch nie bewertet haben oder mit digitalen Fotos arbeiten, lesen Sie zwei unserer Artikel: Wie können Sie Ihre Fotos bewerten und bearbeiten? und Nutzen Sie die Möglichkeiten von Bewertungen und Subjektivität in Ihrem Fotobearbeitungs-Arbeitsablauf. Selbst wenn Ihre Fotosammlung nur aus gedruckten Fotos besteht, gibt es in diesen Artikeln Techniken, die Sie anpassen können, um Ihre Sammlung auszusortieren.

Eine andere Methode zum Ausmerzen von Fotos basiert auf einem leicht zu merkenden Akronym - den ABCs. Cathi Nelson, die Gründerin der Association of Personal Photo Organizers (APPO), hat dieses System entwickelt, das entweder für digitale oder gedruckte Fotos verwendet werden kann.

A steht für Album - Diese Fotos sind die Besten der Besten - diejenigen, die zu einem Album gehören, und diejenigen, um die Sie trauern würden, wenn Sie sie verlieren würden. Dies bedeutet nicht, dass Sie alle diese Fotos verwenden. es bedeutet nur, dass die Fotos ein Album wert sind. Dies sind die Fotos, die Sie hauptsächlich zum Erstellen von Sammlungen und thematischen Alben verwenden.

B steht für Box - Diese Fotos sind die Extras, die Ihr Bestes geben. Dies sind die Fotos, von denen Sie sich nicht trennen möchten und auf die Sie möglicherweise zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zugreifen möchten. Diese Fotos werden zur sicheren Aufbewahrung archiviert.

C steht für Can - Ja, Sie können diese Fotos löschen. Alle Fotosammlungen sind mit Doppel-, Dreifach- und wirklich schlechten Fotos gefüllt. Wenn Ihr Foto nicht in eine der anderen Kategorien fällt, handelt es sich um ein C-Foto. Ich empfehle jedoch, die C-Fotos nicht sofort zu verwerfen. Legen Sie sie beiseite und markieren Sie Ihren Kalender, um die Auswahl in drei Monaten erneut zu überprüfen. Wenn Sie immer noch sicher sind, dass es sich um C-Fotos handelt, legen Sie sie in den Papierkorb.

S steht für Story - Erzählt das Foto eine Geschichte? Diese Fotos spielen eine wichtige Rolle, da das Foto etwas Illustratives enthält, auch wenn es möglicherweise nicht das Beste für Sie ist. Zum Beispiel ist das folgende Foto kein sehr gutes Foto des Hundes, aber es erzählt eine Geschichte über die Beziehung zwischen dem Hund und dem Schwimmtherapeuten.

Woman massaging a dogs foot in the swimming pool

Wenn Sie Sammlungen und Alben erstellen, um sie mit anderen zu teilen, arbeiten Sie mit den Fotos in Ihren A- und S-Sammlungen und zeichnen Fotos aus der B-Sammlung, wenn Sie sie zum Vervollständigen einer Geschichte benötigen.

5. Erzählen Sie Ihre Geschichte

Fotografien dokumentieren unser Leben. Sie verbinden uns mit anderen, bieten die Möglichkeit, Geschichten auszutauschen, unsere Rollen im Leben zu beanspruchen und Ereignisse, Regionen, Politik, Gesellschaften und mehr zu dokumentieren. Sobald Sie Ihre Fotos sortiert haben, interagieren Sie mit ihnen.

Um uns zu erinnern, müssen wir auf die Fotos zugreifen und mit ihnen interagieren, anstatt sie nur anzuhäufen. - Linda Henkel, "Point-and-Shoot Memories", Psychological Science (2013)

Es gibt viele, viele Möglichkeiten, Fotos in aussagekräftigen Geschichten zu sammeln. Betrachten Sie digitale Sammlungen, Online-Alben, Fotoaufsätze, Fotoalben, Sammelalben oder gedruckte Bücher, um nur einige Optionen zu nennen. Schlüsselfotos rahmen und aufhängen. Collagenartige Bilderrahmen, die mehrere Fotos enthalten, können eine großartige Möglichkeit sein, mit kleinen Sammlungen von Fotos zu interagieren. Verwerfen Sie die Fotos nur nicht in einen staubigen Speicherraum, um nie wieder gesehen zu werden!

6. Bewahren Sie Ihre Sammlung auf

Fotografien sind wichtige Vermögenswerte und bedürfen der Pflege. Wenn Sie mit gedruckten Fotos arbeiten, bewahren Sie diese mindestens in Aufbewahrungsboxen für Fotos auf. Handwerksläden bieten in der Scrapbooking-Abteilung häufig Foto-Aufbewahrungsboxen zum Verkauf an. Sie sind normalerweise kostengünstig, aber achten Sie darauf, Schachteln aus säurefreien Materialien auszuwählen.

Wenn Sie in der Lage sind, digitalisieren Sie Negative und gedruckte Fotos. Früher mussten wir darauf vertrauen, dass wir unsere Negative und Fotos nicht durch Feuer, Überschwemmungen oder andere Schäden verlieren, aber jetzt können wir die Fotos in digitale Dateien scannen. Diese digitalen Dateien können auf eine Weise geschützt werden, die analoge Fotos nicht können.

Wenn Sie mit digitalen Assets arbeiten und Ihre Sammlung von Drucken und Negativen digitalisiert haben, nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um Ihre digitalen Bilder zu archivieren. Wir haben eine ganze Reihe von Artikeln zum Thema Digital Asset Management. Wenn Sie jedoch nach etwas Einfachem suchen, erfahren Sie in unserem Artikel The Digital Shoebox, was Sie für ein minimales, funktionsfähiges und sicheres digitales Speichersystem benötigen.

Einige finale Gedanken

Ich finde, das Organisieren von Fotos ist vergleichbar mit dem Reinigen meines Hauses: Ich beginne mit der besten Absicht, systematisch, gründlich und schnell zu sein, aber etwas, das ich entdecke, schickt mich von der Aufgabe ab. Mir wurde gesagt, dass bezahlte Fachkräfte bei diesen Projekten effizienter sind, weil sie während der Aufgabe nicht so leicht abgelenkt werden. Vielleicht, und es gibt professionelle Foto-Organisatoren zu mieten, wenn Sie diesen Weg gehen möchten. Wenn Sie Ihre eigenen Fotos organisieren, habe ich nur zwei abschließende Vorschläge:

  1. Seien Sie geduldig mit Ihr. Es hat Jahre gedauert, bis die Fotos gesammelt waren, und es wird mehr als ein paar Tage dauern, bis sie aussortiert sind. Arbeiten Sie in kleinen Mengen, damit Sie sehen können, was Sie erreichen. Dies hilft Ihnen, motiviert zu bleiben und mit der Aufgabe fortzufahren, bis sie erledigt ist.

  2. Wissen, was für Ihre Sammlung gut genug ist. Perfektion ist schwer zu erreichen, insbesondere wenn ein gemischter Stapel von Fotos sortiert wird. Legen Sie Ihre Ziele fest, bevor Sie beginnen, damit Sie wissen, wie viel Organisation ausreicht. Beabsichtigen Sie, eine Diashow für die Hochzeit Ihres Bruders zu erstellen? Organisieren Sie die Fotos für Ihre Kinder oder Enkelkinder? Verwenden Sie die Fotos als Medien für ein anderes Kunstprojekt? Sobald Sie in der Lage sind, das zu erreichen, was Sie beabsichtigen, haben Sie genug organisiert. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre organisierte Sammlung sicher und erhalten ist, und fahren Sie fort.

Lernen und organisieren Sie weiter

Das Organisieren Ihrer Fotos ist eine lebenslange Reise! Im Folgenden finden Sie die Artikel und Tutorials, die in diesem Tutorial erwähnt werden:


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Photo & Video
  2. Digital Asset Management
Photography

The ABCs of Photo Sorting: How to Turn a Mess of Pictures into an Organized Collection

This post is part of a series called Digital Asset Management: Photography Workflows.
What's in a Name? Nomenclature, File Structure, and Saving Digital Images

Have you ever faced a necessary project that seems so overwhelming you don’t know where to begin? You delay, then you don’t start, and soon enough the project is a mental barnacle, forever attached to a to-do list. That can be the state of affairs when your intent is to sort a collection of photos. They could be printed or digital photos; the problem is still a large mess without an obvious place to start.

Collage of photographs
Photo by BepsImage, PhotoDune.

In our digital asset management series, we’ve offered suggestions for establishing and using an image management system, but if your existing collection of photos is large and chaotic or you find yourself tasked with sorting out an existing, disorganized collection, you probably need some way of getting that collection organized before you can even begin to think about managing existing and new images. In this tutorial, we’ll look at a few techniques to tame your jumbled piles and overflowing shoe boxes of photographs. It doesn’t matter whether your photos are printed or digital; the same techniques will work for both.

1. Collect It All Into One Place

Although you will want to work with your photos in manageable chunks, you won’t know what you’re working with until you’ve collected it all up together. Also, collecting all of your photos in one place before you begin will help you avoid chasing down photos mid-project or having to repeat work later because a new discovery changes how you did previous work.

If you’re working with digital photos, collect them all onto one external hard drive. If you’re working with printed photos, collect them all into one physical place. Keep any existing organization such as digital folders, paper envelopes, boxes, or albums. Often, those organizing structures will provide information about a group of photographs and, by association, individual photographs within the group.

2. Make the Photos Safe

Your unorganized photos have always been at risk of damage or loss, but now that you’ve collected all of them together, you can take initial steps to protect your images. If you’re working with digital images, make a duplicate copy of everything you’ve gathered together and store that copy in a safe place, preferably in a different location.

If you’re working with printed photos, you don’t have the option of easily making duplicates. However, you can do your best to protect what you have. Place your photos in clean, dry boxes with lids. Watertight storage boxes are ideal if you have some available. If you don’t have such containers, use whatever you can easily access. Keep the boxes small enough that you can deal with the contents of a box in one sorting session, and store all of the boxes except the one you’re working on in a clean, dry, cool space that is high enough to prevent damage from flooding.

Box of photographs
Shoeboxes and gift boxes are great for sorting photographs. Be careful about using them for long-term storage though unless the photos are placed into archival sleeves before being placed in a non-archival box.

3. Choose Your Method of Organization

Now the real work of sorting begins. Different sorting methods are recommended by people in different industries. My suggestion is that you use whatever works best for you, which means being clear about your end purpose. If you’re putting together a collection of photos to celebrate someone’s milestone birthday, you’ll likely want to sort photos by person. On the other hand, if you’re gathering photos to put together a family yearbook, you’ll want to sort photos by date or event. Also consider combining sorting methods. One method may get you started but still leave you with a large, (somewhat less) chaotic pile of photos.

Sort by Person or Subject

This method is ideal if you’re going through photographs of people with the intent of identifying only the photos that contain one individual. This could be the scenario if, for example, a relative gives you a box of historical family photos. You may want only pictures of your mother as a child while your cousin wants pictures of her father. Obviously, the challenge with this method is deciding how to sort group photos.

If you’re sorting digital images, check the features available in your photo management software. Many programs now offer face recognition. It’s not perfect, but it is a place to start.

This method of organization will also work if you’re interested in grouping together, for example, all of the photographs of plants or all of the photos taken of a house your family built. If you’re looking at a collection of artistic photos, you might want to sort them by style: documentary, abstract, or landscapes, for example. As with sorting by person, the challenge will be deciding how to sort photos that fall into more than one category; however, this broad method of grouping can be a place to start.

Sort by Event

If photos are in some kind of loose organization this method of organization can be easy. People tend to process or print photos after an event or vacation, so related photos are often grouped together. If working with printed photos, look for prints that are still in commercial printers’ envelopes or are grouped together in one box. Photos in albums also tend to be related, often by event. Digital photos from the same event may have a shared naming system—”Harry-6th_birthday,” for example—or be sequentially numbered or grouped together in a digital folder. This is when keeping any kind of existing organization pays dividends.

As well, there are often clues within a photograph that will link the photo to an event. For example, look for people wearing the same clothing in several photos, or look for the same setting, lighting, decorations, styles, or buildings. Vacation photos are often easy to group if the travel destination was not one visited the same time each year.

Two women standing together and a woman and man standing together
The two photographs are taken in different places, but the person who is in both photographs is wearing the same outfit in both, suggesting the photographs were taken at the same event.

Sort by Date

If you’re sorting digital photos, sorting by date can be the easiest place to start because digital cameras usually store the date and time the photograph was taken in the metadata. I say “usually” because the clock may not be set correctly in the camera, or the metadata may have been stripped from the photo or may have been changed when the image was processed. Also, some management software is better than others at reading an image’s metadata. For example, Adobe Lightroom and Apple Photos are excellent at reading metadata when it’s intact, but Picassa, Lyn, and renaming apps are not as reliable. They seem to be fooled by changes made to a file during processing.

In any event, look for an option within your photo management software or even within the file manager of your operating system to sort by date created. That’s a decent place to start. If you find some photos that seem to be out of chronological order, look for patterns that might provide you with clues about an incorrect camera clock or changed dates.

Sorting by date can be a challenge when working with printed photos, but some clues can help. Again, look for photos that are grouped together in printers’ envelopes, boxes, or albums. Photos printed within the last ten to twenty years may have the date printed on the backside. Look for the date within a longer string of coding that provides information about the printer’s machine settings. And again look for clues within the photographs themselves. Photos of Harry blowing out six candles on a birthday cake were probably taken at Harry’s sixth birthday. If you know Harry’s birthdate, you can figure out the year and perhaps even the precise date. Other clues could include signs that reference a political event or cause, evidence of construction in an area known to you, or stickers on licence plates. Look for the details that we often don’t notice.

A pile of photographs loose and in envelopes
Photos grouped together in envelopes are likely from the same time, event, or subject.

4. Cull the Photos

After organizing your photos, you are sure to have more photos than you want or can use. Being methodical in evaluating the sorted photos will help you whittle down your sorted piles into collections you want to archive. You can cull your photos before sorting if you want to reduce the pile of photos that you need to organize, or use it after you’ve used another method to sort the photos to determine which of the sorted and related photos you want to keep.

If you’ve never evaluated the quality of photographs or you’re working with digital photos, have a look at two of our related articles: How to Assess and Edit Your Photographs and Unlock the Power of Ratings and Subjectivity in Your Photo Editing Workflow. Even if your photo collection consists only of printed photos, there are techniques in those articles that you can adapt for culling your collection.

Another method for culling photos is based on an an easy to remember acronym—the ABCs. Cathi Nelson, the founder of the Association of Personal Photo Organizers (APPO), developed this system, which can be used for either digital or printed photographs.

A is for Album—These photos are the best of the best—the ones that belong in an album and the ones that you would mourn if you lost them. It doesn’t mean that you will use all of these photos; it just means the photos are album worthy. These are the photos you will primarily use to build collections and thematic albums.

B is for Box—These photos are the extras that support your best. They are the photos you aren’t ready to part with and may want to access at some point in the future. These photos will be archived for safekeeping.

C is for Can—Yes, you can delete these photos. All photo collections are filled with doubles, triples, and really bad photos. If your photo doesn’t fall into one of the other categories, then it’s a C photo. I recommend not discarding the C photos immediately though. Set them aside and mark your calendar to review the selection again in three months. If you’re still certain they are C photos, put them in the trash can then.

S is for Story—Does the photo tell a story? These photos play a major role because there is something illustrative about the photo even though it may not be your best. For example, the following photo is not a very good photo of the dog but it tells a story about the relationship between the dog and swimming therapist.

Woman massaging a dogs foot in the swimming pool

When you are creating collections and albums to share with others, you will work with the photos in your A and S collections, drawing photos from the B collection if you need them to complete a story.

5. Tell Your Story

Photographs document our lives. They link us to others, providing a means of sharing stories, claiming our roles in life, and documenting events, geographies, politics, societies, and more. Once you’ve sorted your photos, interact with them.

In order to remember, we have to access and interact with the photos, rather than just amass them. —Linda Henkel, “Point-and-Shoot Memories,” Psychological Science (2013)

There are many, many options for collecting photographs into meaningful stories. Consider digital collections, online albums, photo essays, photo albums, scrapbooks, or printed books, just to name a few options. Frame and hang key photos. Collage-type picture frames that hold several photos can be a great way to interact with small collections of photographs. Just don’t relegate the photos to a dusty storage space, never to be seen again!

6. Preserve Your Collection

Photographs are important assets and need care. If you’re dealing with printed photographs, at minimum store them in photo storage boxes. Craft stores often have photo storage boxes for sale in the scrapbooking department. They are usually inexpensive, but be careful to choose boxes made from acid-free materials.

If you’re able, digitize negatives and printed photographs. In the past, we had to trust that we wouldn’t lose our negatives and photos to fire, floods, or some other damage but now we have the ability to scan the photos into digital files. Those digital files can be safeguarded in ways that analogue photos cannot.

If you’re working with digital assets—and once you’ve digitized your collection of prints and negatives—take the time to archive your digital images. We have a whole series of articles devoted to digital asset management. If, however, you’re looking for something simple, our article The Digital Shoebox will tell you what you need for a minimum, viable, safe digital storage system.

Some Final Thoughts

I find organizing photos is akin to cleaning my house: I start with the best intent to be systematic, thorough, and quick but without fail, something I discover sends me off task. I’ve been told that paid professionals are more efficient at these projects because they are not as easily distracted mid-task. Perhaps so, and there are professional photo organizers for hire if you wish to go that route. If you do organize your own photos, I have just two final suggestions:

  1. Be patient with yourself. It took years to accumulate the photos and it’ll take more than a few days to sort them out. Work in small batches so you can see what you’re accomplishing. That will help you to stay motivated and keep on with the task until it’s done.

  2. Know what is good enough for your collection. Perfection is difficult to achieve, especially when sorting a mixed pile of photographs. Set your goals before you start so you know how much organizing is enough. Do you intend to create a slideshow for your brother’s wedding? Organize the photographs for your children or grandchildren? Use the photos as media for another art project? Once you’re able to accomplish what you intend, you have organized enough. Ensure your organized collection is safe and preserved, and move on. 

Keep On Learning and Organizing

Organizing your photos is a life-long journey! To help you keep learning, here are the articles and tutorials mentioned in this tutorial:


Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.